We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone downhill rapidly”

Mr. C's Fish and Whiskey Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #7 of 7 Restaurants in Luss
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gone downhill rapidly”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stopped off for a fish and chip meal last week after fond memories of the delicious fish and chips we had last time. What a shock ! The meal was awful, huge piece of fish that tasted of, well nothing actually , dried up chips and a portion of home made coleslaw, the coleslaw portion could have easily fed 4, not convinced it was homemade. All in all a waste of money, this place had so much potential, will not be back. Shame, as we are local and used to enjoy popping in. Staff could be more attentive !

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dtonroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    41
    30
    35
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The place looks tatty from the outside, but when you walk inside it looks nicely decorated and designed. The bar area was popular with families and people enjoying a drink, and there were a few people having dinner in the restaurant area so we joined them and looked at the menu. Having already had a disappointing experience staying at the hotel, we opted for some of the cheapest and safest options on the menu but were disappointed with these too. Service was quick, and the young woman who brought us the meals was polite and nice, however the food was below average. I opted for a burger which was lacking in flavour and accompanied by chips which were greasy and tasteless, my partner opted for fish which was much the same. Disappointing as the surroundings suggest this place could prove so much more.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dotcomfairyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“top night”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

visited on sat 4th may with my family for a family meal the food was delicious and the staff were so friendly and helpful i have already recommended this inn to my family and friends will definately visit again well done

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank patricia a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Great location just off the main road. Food was of a high quality in our opinion and the service was second to none. Staff were helpful and willing to engage in some banter with us, which we loved. Reasonably priced menu and good selection of dishes.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank GeeGeesFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“night away”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

food was great, fish and chips were the best i have had for a while. staff friendly and meal not rushed.
starters and dessert a pleasure. irn bru ice cream, i just had to. malt whiskey or two to finish with. best meal we have had for a while and in a relaxing environment

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mr. C's Fish and Whiskey Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Mr. C's Fish and Whiskey Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing