We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lodge on Loch Lomond

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Luss
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Well worth a visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

10 out of 10 for this hotel! We only stayed for one night but wished it had been more now! Arrival check in was quick and our room was ready well before the check in time which was great. We decided to venture out to a pub nearby but the only one is the Inn at Inverbeg which the hotel owns and although it's 3miles north, the hotel went out of their way to arrange for the mini bus to take us up and a member of staff up there brought us back which was fantastic! The food up there is fab also. Dinner in the hotel was better than some Michelin star restaurants...really couldnt have asked for better and the staff always made sure they got us a table at the window with the beautiful views which was a lovely touch! Listening to other conversations around the bar area the other guests felt exactly the same in regards to the food and service. Would love to go back and hopefully the weather is better next time!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Amanda2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,128
    611
    371
    169
    100
See reviews for
353
1,486
16
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

This was our 2nd visit 4yrs apart...... The beauty of the views from the rooms here take your breath away.....
Walk along the Loch after a fab meal in the restaurant..... it is so peaceful & the sunset .... sighhhh, you would swear you were on a Paradise Island.
The service, Rooms & facillities are second to none, this really is the place to go for a Romantic break away from all the stresses of life.
We will go back again as we really felt "Rested" after our mini break.
We stayed in the Munro Rooms, The only minor fault is that they dont seem to have been decorated since our last visit 4 yrs ago but that does not defect from the whole peaceful experience of staying here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkGi1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

I was surprised at the little things that seemed to go unattended but could have been easily rectified.we were sitting on the decking enjoying a drink with an amazing view but were surrounded by cigarette ends,disgusting.why are staff not asked to sweep up or customers more to the point kindly asked not to drop their ciggie ends.potted plants full of weeds.Our room was lovely with a private sauna,so book a Corbett room.room service good and gentleman very polite.Cosy surroundings and a lovely breakfast.young staff and a little inexperienced and with the prices sometimes it would have been nice to have felt a little more taken care of.I am not fussy but c'mon guys get these fag doubts cleaned up so we can impress our wedding guests and overseas visitors.I realize sometimes staff shortages can cause havoc but not at these prices it shouldnt be allowed

Room Tip: Corbett rooms great view and large sauna for two
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madeleine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

We recently stayed at the Lodge on Loch Lomond as part of our Mum's 85th birthday celebrations. We stayed in the Corbett rooms which were beautiful. The view of the loch as we entered the rooms was stunning. The restaurant too had amazing views; a perfect setting!
The menu was varied and of a high quality. My husband opted for the T-bone steak; in fact he enjoyed it so much, saying that it was the best he had ever had, so he repeated his choice on the second night! We found the staff very helpful and friendly. The service that they provided was professional and efficient. I hope that we will enjoy another break at the lodge in the future!

Room Tip: The Corbett rooms overlook the loch, but perhaps other rooms do also. It was fun having a private sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mags1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Didnt sleep at the hotel, but arrived for a wedding which was fabulous. The views are breathtaking, and I have fallen in love with the local area, having never been to Scotland before. Food was wonderful and cannot be faulted. Some staff were a little surly, but doesnt affect my review too much.
Some friends were staying at the hotel and they did mention although it took an hour for their room to be cleaned, it was full of cobwebs and some staining on a bottom sheet which they were a bit disappointed about.
Our children loved Star, the hotel dog. She is rather cute so thanks Star for being so patient and keeping the children entertained.
Hope to return and stay at the hotel for a long weekend with hubbie on our own!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stopped here for 1 night in one of the Munro Rooms. These rooms have a separate toilet, but the bath, shower and wash basin and in the same room as the bed and seating area, separated by a dressing area. The room was large; however the decoration was looking a little tired. There were stains on the wall in the toilet and in places the wallpaper was coming off. Most of the lights around the mirror in the dressing area were not working either. The block where these rooms are situated also have a spa area complete with swimming pool and Jacuzzi which also look out towards the Loch.
The receptionist booking us in handled us in a most uninterested way and was more interested in continuing a conversation with the other receptionist. She was quick in a mildly irritating efficient manner – not at all welcoming.
The main advantage to this hotel was the views. Our room looked out onto Loch Lomond which was absolutely fabulous. You can stand in your shower and look out to the Loch. You can also lie in bed and had a fabulous view of the surrounding mountains. Unfortunately the furniture on the balcony was cheap plastic and dirty, so not very inviting to sit out and enjoy the tranquillity of the location.
Breakfast was good and we ordered off the menu – fresh and hot.
Luss is a quaint little village and in the evening we ate in The Village Rest which was open till 8pm. The service and food here were really good and much cheaper than eating in the hotel – I would really recommend this as an option.
Overall we had a really good stay here and we would recommend the hotel, mainly for the fabulous views though.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

This hotel has a lovely location but gives the impression that nobody really cares about the customer. A broken piece of guttering outside our room which dripped all night and overflowed when it rained took four days to be mended despite daily reminders. Drains blocked in the carpark meant the door was barred by a huge puddle. The room balcony was slippery and green. There was an overall air of neglect. At the weekend the hotel was very noisy with guests from wedding parties. Poor sound insulation means that a ground floor room was very noisy indeed, we could hear every footstep in the room above. Staff were friendly but there was far too much reliance on very inexperienced staff, especially in the restaurant so service was poor and forgetful. Dinner was OK but when the website advertised 'local' ingredients I expected that something other than the beef might have been local. I was surprised to be told that 'all our fish is imported'. Nobody could tell me what the cheeses on the cheese platter were: 'chef couldn't say'. I got the impression that nobody cared. We'll go to Cameron House next time.

Room Tip: All rooms have Loch view. Corbett rooms have their own sauna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BRH75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall2801, Owner at Lodge on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
We are often compared with Devere's flagship hotel the 5* Cameron House. I take that as a complement as our prices are 1/2 what they charge before the 10% service charge is added on everything.
We all care very much about the customer athough sometimes I do disagree with them! I remember the week of this stay, it rained lots. The leaves were falling heavily in the gales and downpours. As soon as the gutters / drains were cleared it did not take long for them to be blocked again. I unblocked drains / gutters every day & was thoroughly soaked. The balconies are presently having new decking laid. Hopefully all finished soon.
We do have mixed age range of staff. At this time of year our university kids head back & we start some new trainees. They are inexperienced, but hire them for attitude and friendliness.
All our fish is imported from Aberdeen & Mallaig. Not enough fish are caught on Loch Lomond to keep local restaurants stocked.
We do care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luss
6.4 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
0.3 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
8.4 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
8.0 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Inn on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on Loch Lomond

Property: Lodge on Loch Lomond
Address: Route A82, Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8PA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Luss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Luss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge on Loch Lomond 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Lodge on Loch Lomond Hotel stands on a quiet sandy cove amid some of Scotland's most stunning scenery. With panoramic views of the Loch and mountains it offers a warm, relaxing atmosphere, delicious modern cuisine from the award winning 2 AA rosette restaurant Colquhoun's, stunning accommodation, including rooms with en-suite saunas and loch view private balconies, and a luxury health suite with sauna, steam room jacuzzi and swimming pool. Perfectly located to explore Scotland, from cities to Highlands ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Lodge on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On Loch Lomond Hotel Luss
Hotel On Loch Lomond
On Loch Lomond Luss
Loch Lomond Lodge
Lodge On Loch Lomond Luss, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing