We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a fantastic place for New Year's Eve” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lodge on Loch Lomond

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Luss
Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a fantastic place for New Year's Eve”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2008

I have one word to describe our stay at the Lodge on Loch Lomond.....PERFECT!

The staff are so friendly - you feel like long lost friends, the management are welcoming and helpful, the service was spot on, the food was excellent, the atmosphere was second to none with views over the loch, the festive activities arranged made our stay special: scottish dancing and fire works on the beach at the turn of new year.

Very relaxing, but fun!!

Would recommend to all..........

  • Liked — Made to feel very welcome
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ALWWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,128
    609
    371
    169
    98
See reviews for
351
1,484
16
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (633)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2008

We stayed here for our 2nd anniversary during the Scottish Open 2007. Amazingly, the weather was beautiful that weekend, having rained the entire summer.

We had a double room in the original part of the hotel. The room was ok, but disappointing compared to our previous stay in the new extension. It's completely covered in pine (hence why it's called a Lodge), however, as the weather was particularly warm it made sleeping at night unbearably hot.

The meal was fabulous. As the Open was on, the original menu had been abandoned and they were serving a Surf and Turf. Initially, I was quite disappointed, but the meal was superb and fellow diners included well-known Golf Commentators.

In summary, the hotel is over priced for the facilities it has on offer. It is a little dated and could do with a make-over. The bar is expensive and it's staff can be a little hit or miss. Although, the Irish Restaurant Manager was lovely.

You really are paying for the view, which is quite breath-taking on a beautiful day. Although, these can be few and far between in Scotland. An enjoyable stay for a romantic get-away and only 45 minutes from Glasgow. It was convenient for us although I would agree with those who said it was over priced. Nonetheless, I am sure those who are NOT Scottish would be most impressed by the hotel's location. We will probably go back.

  • Liked — superb location
  • Disliked — over priced accomodation and some staff were little unfriendly.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darc17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2007

We stayed in the hotel for our anniversary a year or 2 ago. the scenery was breathtaking and sitting on the balcony eating chocolates and drinking champagne was fabulous. the meal was average with tiny portions and a bit over priced. We were not made to feel welcome at the bar and ended up taking our drinks back into our room. the breakfast was average, and again staff were not overly pleasant or welcoming. I found the hotel room a bit tatty and certainly over priced as for what we paid I was expecting a top notch room . would not return unless room prices were dropped dramatically

  • Liked — the views
  • Disliked — Staff and over priced food
  • Stayed October 2005, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank li22le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2007

Been at this hotel several time and each time we really have a lovely experince from start to finish. Fine food, beautiful rooms, excellent staff. And a great location over looking Loch Lomond. Would highly recommond it.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilybell13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2007

My husband and I arrived in Edinburgh from California on the afternoon of 10/21 and were picked up by our friends and off we headed to the Lodge on Loch Lomond. We arrived just after dark and had to wait about 20 minutes to get checked in. We had booked the bed, breakfast and dinner package (at just over $360 USD, the USD doesn't go far these days) and were expecting something quite spectacular for that price. Our room was fair but not dazzling. The sauna did not work and the floor was quite creaky with several tiles loose. The Bed was QUITE comfortable and the shower hot and after 24+ hours travelling that was very important.

Dinner was very good and the restaurant and lounge are very nice.

Due to our later arrival and being tired we did not partake of the pool or other facilities. If we had been able to do that I might have felt we got our money's worth. The view from our room in the morning was quite pretty and breakfast was adequate though self-serve buffet style.

We had to wait for our rental car company to bring us a new van the next day and the hotel did allow us late check out which we appreciated.

Overall not a bad stay but again not as spectacular a visit as some of the previous reviews. Perhaps we were expecting more because of the reviews. I would not stay here again for the price. I'd look for something smaller and less expensive.

  • Liked — The bed and dinner
  • Disliked — The price, the wear and tear of the overall condition of the room
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weedebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2007

Wonderful location, with common areas taking full advantage of the splendid view over Loch Lomond.
Scottish staff excellent throughout the hotel (office, catering and household). Very helpful, friendly, honest and genuinely keen to make one’s stay as pleasant as possible.
Food choice, preparation and presentation were of a high quality, with discreet service to match and a wine list to cater for most tastes.
One would need to experience the various types of bedroom accommodation on offer but I suspect the superior views available from rooms in the main building would make them preferable to the lower floor Munro rooms. However, thanks to Gemma (who organised same without being asked), a move from Munro ground floor to Munro top floor, provided an instant and much appreciated improvement in both view and privacy.
It is evident, the hands-on approach of the proprietors has enabled them to create not only an efficient hotel but also one in which the staff seem to be part of a family, all of whom take pleasure from looking after their guests.
If I return to Loch Lomond, I shall certainly stay at The Lodge and I will remember to stress my desire for the best view!
I thank the proprietors and staff for their genuine hospitality.

  • Liked — the views over Loch Lomond and the pleasantness of the staff
  • Disliked — ground floor room opening onto communal area (overcome by move effected by hotel staff)
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caj916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s lanarkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2007

great place, great food so relaxing.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank cazSLanarkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luss
6.4 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
0.3 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
8.4 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
19.0 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Inn on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on Loch Lomond

Property: Lodge on Loch Lomond
Address: Route A82, Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8PA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Luss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Luss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge on Loch Lomond 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Lodge on Loch Lomond Hotel stands on a quiet sandy cove amid some of Scotland's most stunning scenery. With panoramic views of the Loch and mountains it offers a warm, relaxing atmosphere, delicious modern cuisine from the award winning 2 AA rosette restaurant Colquhoun's, stunning accommodation, including rooms with en-suite saunas and loch view private balconies, and a luxury health suite with sauna, steam room jacuzzi and swimming pool. Perfectly located to explore Scotland, from cities to Highlands ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Lodge on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On Loch Lomond Hotel Luss
Hotel On Loch Lomond
On Loch Lomond Luss
Loch Lomond Lodge
Lodge On Loch Lomond Luss, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing