We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, dull atmosphere but amazing food and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Luss
Reviewed 12 November 2012

I was in for dinner on Saturday night got a beautiful table by the window, although all i could see was my own reflection :(. After struggling to read the menu to the lighting in the restaurant we settled down to enjoy catch up with friends, the atmosphere in the restaurant was lovely and our waitress Steph was very attentive! Throughout our meal the language and shouting from a chef in the open kitchen, close to guests was extremely outrageous!! I did contemplate approaching the manager but i didnt want to ruin my friends night. The food and service was first class. One thing that needs fixing is the noise levels from the kitchen and the lighting in the restaurant but apart from that it was fantastic, food and service was impecable!!! I will return but hope to see change on my return! also chefs with long hair should wear a net or hat at least!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kathybears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,536)
There are newer reviews for Lodge on Loch Lomond
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,810 - 1,816 of 2,537 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2012 via mobile

Well worth a visit, have stopped twice and would return again.

Lovely atmosphere, fab rooms with great views and great food.

A little pricey but well worth it.

One tip would be to best the pool, thought I was going to get hypothermia but we did visit late in the year.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellinggirl40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed here for one night in a visit to see our Son who lives in Glasgow but wish it had been longer. We got an excellent deal, almost half price for the room, which was a superior one overlooking the lake. There are great views from the hotel and you can walk along the beach in front of the hotel into the small village of Luss nearby. Our room was one of the best we have ever stayed in, absolutely superb, with balcony too, which was a bonus. The bed was large and very comfy. We ate in the restaurant for our evening meal and it was excellent. I have noted one or two comments saying the food was average, which in my opinion is totally wrong as the food was tasty and beautifully presented. The service was excellent too. We did not have breakfast as it was £14 per head and I only like porridge for breakfast and there was no continental option.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debs093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Last minute decision to stay here for one night - seemed to be the best of what was on short term offer, and price was OK, not great value admittedly for season and time of year.

Receptionist at check in was very helpful - Supervisor seemed very unfriendly and cold.... in any case with 2 adults and 5 kids we took 2 rooms in the Munro lodge , right down in a corner, rooms 42 and 43 with access to the car park - very convenient!

Fantastic view, nice quality large rooms, reasonably clean though not perfect - bath lights/bathroom fittings didn't work or were overly complex to use. sink drainage was so slow it nearly overflowed when the kids used it. And the 'Eco' flush was more likely to give you heart failure it was so loud and violent.

Used the Heated Spa complex - was good, though in men's changing rooms the management needs to fix the broken floor near the potted plant, which is very dangerous with sharp protusions! Otherwise all acceptabel and OK to use.

Breakfast was a total let down - very poor quality food, barely edible really, and even worse service, or rather lack of! The staff were not rude, they were just so uninterested.

Overall a nice place, superb location, great views, nice building, OK finishes though they were at the cheaper end of the specification level - and the model village was very nice too. Would come back, but know we know what to expect, and would expect a better deal!

Room Tip: Room 42 with the bunks is very spacious and secluded if you have kids
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ummar69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

dropped in by chance for lunch on a weekday 7 adults 2 children and it was absolutely super. Lovely fire comfortable soft couches helpful staff and wonderful tasty soup and sandwiches. The staff were smiley and helpful and the ambience inside the hotel was so friendly and also rather nicely set out. Add this to the views of the loch outside and the warmth and nice food inside altogether a lovely place to be

Room Tip: didnt spend the night so cannot comment
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ad12_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Booked a table 4 days before and asked for a window table, advised this could not be assured.
Menu was average and although staff said Sunday lunch was a special treat this was not the case.Main course was a reheat and one very small bowl of poor quality vegetables presented to serve three adults.Price of Sunday Lunch did not provide value for money and would not recommend restuarant to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank eileen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

reading reviews on here i was wary of booking....how wrong could i be!!!!! From start to finish the hotel exceeded my expectations. The staff were extermely helpfull and friendly, the housekeeping staff even left a bag of fresh towels and tea and coffee sachets outside my room as i had left the do not disturb sign on my door, they even left a hand written card explaining that because they hadnt beable to come into the room due to me leaving the sign on the door they thought i might need the fresh towels etc.... Which was a lovely touch and very unexpected.
We stayed in the corbett room no34, the sauna in the room was amazing.
They spa was 1st class, immaculately clean and i was surprised that both times i used it it was just myself and my girlfriend in it... So relaxing!
The food was absolutely beautiful, on par with any michelin star restaurant.
I loved it that much that i will be booking to stay on the 27th dec for 2nights (gutted i couldnt get 3 nights but it is full on the 29th)
Turely an excellant hotel and i will be recommending it to everyone.

Room Tip: The corbett room has a sauna in room.... Lovely room
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scottyMullOfKintyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luss
6.4 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
0.3 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
8.5 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
8.0 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
504 reviews
7.8 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on Loch Lomond

Address: Route A82, Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8PA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Luss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Luss
Price Range: £117 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge on Loch Lomond 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Lodge on Loch Lomond Hotel stands on a quiet sandy cove amid some of Scotland's most stunning scenery. With panoramic views of the Loch and mountains it offers a warm, relaxing atmosphere, delicious modern cuisine from the award winning 2 AA rosette restaurant Colquhoun's, stunning accommodation, including rooms with en-suite saunas and loch view private balconies, and a luxury health suite with sauna, steam room jacuzzi and swimming pool. Perfectly located to explore Scotland, from cities to Highlands ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lodge on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On Loch Lomond Hotel Luss
Hotel On Loch Lomond
On Loch Lomond Luss
Loch Lomond Lodge
Lodge On Loch Lomond Luss, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing