We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's ok - just!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Luss
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Last minute break away so decided to go somewhere local. Have stayed at Cameron House previously and decided to try somewhere else instead. Heard Lodge on Loch Lomond was lovely and thought we'd try it. Have to say we were really disappointed with the standard and decor of the bedroom. The bathroom was lovely and up to date but the actual bedroom was caught in a time warp. If you like pine clad everything you will be in seventh heaven. The mural on the feature wall was missing Hilda's three flying geese/ducks. There really is no need for such a feature as the view out the window is spectacular.
We ate in the restaurant, Colquhouns, and although we had chosen db&b we decided to upgrade to the a la carte menu because the inclusive one wasn't appealing. The meal was nice enough but the combination of glass table top and china plate made for an interesting eating experience!
The lounge area is very comfortable - although cold - the fire should have been on. We ended up taking our drinks out to the reception area where the fire was on.
Service was slow but the staff were friendly.

Overall expensive for what you get.

There is the opportunity to have one of the most amazing hotels in the country given it's location but it needs brought into the 21st century.

Nice but not worth repeating.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElaineM50567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,704 - 1,710 of 2,665 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

Had a very warm welcome from the young man at reception, then we were told we had been upgraded to the Cullin Suite as it was a special birthday celebration. Glasses of champagne & birthday card brought to our room courtesy of the management. This set the tone of the stay. Room extremely comfortable, furnishings very tasteful, with double balcony. Lounge area of the hotel very relaxing with spectacular views of the Loch. Staff very attentive and food good portion size and delicious. Next time we book it will be for a longer stay!!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to appreciate the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moira B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Firstly, I'd like to add that if someone has something to say about a place that they stay in they should firstly speak to the management before writing on here. So I did speak to the management ... to let Nigel know that his comments on here have been very just and in so many ways refrained.

I'm currently staying here for 3 nights with my family and could not have asked for more (other than possibly more nights!). Yes the view is astonishing, but so is the property so please don't let other peoples comments put you off. Any hotel will have it's problems at times as it's run by people not robots!

If you are after the Hilton then the word "Lodge" in the hotel name should give you a clue - it isn't going to be the Hilton, and never pretends to be anything other than a Lodge. But don't get me wrong this place isn't "just" a lodge as it offers so much more - warm, friendly staff; fantastic restaurant; superb scenery; great leisure facilities; comfortable bedrooms.

Having just enjoyed a complimentary Halloween Party, which included hog roast, bouncy castle, kids games, disco, drinks and fireworks, we're now relaxing in the lounge listening to a guitarist. No this isn't the Hilton ... This is personable, surprising, warm, friendly and yes we'll be coming back!

If you want stale corporate look elsewhere (I know having been lucky enough to travel the world with work); if you want warm, comfortable, relaxing, friendly, personable then book now!

Room Tip: Currently in room 32 and room is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We have just stayed at this hotel for two nights. The location of the hotel is stunning but unfortunately the service and cleanliness in the lounge let it down badly. Not a friendly reception when we arrived, it seemed that staff were changing over and we had to wait for a while before we then had to go and ask again if our room was ready rather than the promise that someone would let us know. Fortunately, the room was lovely and very clean. When we went to the lounge bar that night, the seats that we were in were filthy down at the sides with crumbs and the carpet round about was littered with dropped food. The evening meal was very mediocre for a 4 star hotel. We had booked in for bed and breakfast and on our first morning we were not given a menu or advised that we could have eggs cooked to our choice rather than the cold buffet offering ... which was supposed to be hot. We were told on our second morning that we could have eggs cooked so I asked for a poached egg which then failed to turn up ! We had no salt, butter or milk on our table and had to get these off another table. Sadly it seemed that there was no one in charge looking after the guests overall and for £139 a night it most definitely was not value for money and sadly I don't think that we would go back or recommend to any friends or family. Maybe the stunning location has led to a little complacency with the service and attention to detail.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndreaLetford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Visited for Sunday lunch with our daughter who was desperate for a good roast after 2 months in University halls! She wasn't disappointed. The food was very nice, and good value for money. We had a table overlooking the lake, and service was excellent. We will be back.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Alan-J-P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I was at the lodge from 25 to 27 th October for a training weekend with 18 colleagues. The quality of facilities was wonderful. I was in the Deluxe Corbett Room which had its own sauna and balcony. The food was great and the staff were exceptional and very helpful. It was a very busy weekend for us but without the quality of service provided by the hotel staff it would not have been such an enjoyable experience.
All in all I would not hesitate in recommending thus hotel to friends. I loved it soo much that I have booked a return visit fir myself and my husband in November 13 . Can't wait!!

Room Tip: Deluxe Corbett rooms are ideal and have a balcony to watch the beautiful sunrises and sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trailblazer559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Whilst we didn't stay here, we chose this venue for Sunday lunch and overall were not disappointed, having heard that the views over the loch were good. Indeed the restaurant is virtually lochside with a beach walk easy to do to walk off the meal.

We hadn't booked, and before arriving feared we might not get in, but there were only a handful of customers during the time we spent there 12.30-14.30 so no worries getting a window table. I guess Sunday is a frequent changeover day for this property and others locally.

The food was pretty good and plenteous, we chose pate and smoked salmon starter, roast lamb and roast beef main course (think they should also offer a Yorkshire with the lamb as most carveries do), both served on a bed of beautifully flavoured mash (olive with the lamb was well chosen). The extra veg was rather bland and lacking in any colour - nothing green at all.

When it came to desserts, there were three on the menu. The two my wife and I had chosen were not available (guessing they weren't made if they were not expecting enough customers), but the substituted sticky toffee pudding was acceptable after a long wait.

Espresso coffee was good but the accompanied piece of tablet was dry and chalky.

Overall we had a nice meal. The view was fantastic. The staff were attentive. The feel of the restaurant was like a slightly outdated ski chalet. This was made worse by the glass units on top of the white linen tablecloths and then a thin yellow paper napkin. It may save a bit on the linen costs but felt a bit like you were sitting in an old peoples' home canteen.

But, for a £20, 3 course Sunday lunch, and a reasonable wine list, I would still consider returning.

Just to re-emphasise we did not stay here but just chose to eat a Sunday Lunch,

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JCCAMBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luss
8.5 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
6.4 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
8 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
586 reviews
7.8 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on Loch Lomond

Address: Route A82, Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8PA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Luss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Luss
Price Range: £118 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge on Loch Lomond 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Lodge on Loch Lomond Hotel stands on a quiet sandy cove amid some of Scotland's most stunning scenery. With panoramic views of the Loch and mountains it offers a warm, relaxing atmosphere, delicious modern cuisine from the award winning 2 AA rosette restaurant Colquhoun's, stunning accommodation, including rooms with en-suite saunas and loch view private balconies, and a luxury health suite with sauna, steam room jacuzzi and swimming pool. Perfectly located to explore Scotland, from cities to Highlands ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lodge on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On Loch Lomond Hotel Luss
Hotel On Loch Lomond
On Loch Lomond Luss
Loch Lomond Lodge
Lodge On Loch Lomond Luss, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing