We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely getaway with stunning views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Luss
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely getaway with stunning views”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We booked 2 vouchers on the 5pm deal, did find it a little hard to get a Saturday, so we went with a Sunday and made a long weekend of it. Both parties were staying in the Executive Munro Rooms which were next door to each other. Rooms very nice and warm for December. View of the Loch very nice. Pool and gym area nice and clean. Restaurant and food very good. Service even thought they were busy very attentive.

They only negative point was when we were checking in, the couple in front of us, had an issue - they didn't have a booking but between the receptionist and the couple they got it sorted but the man was very loud and I think the staff, should of dealt with him in another area, or taken him to the seated area as he was seated and shouting across at his wife and the member of staff who was trying to sort it out for them at the reception desk. So we all heard what was going on and there were about 4 couples behind us checking in also.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 884Karen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at Lodge on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to place such a fabulous review on Trip Advisor and I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable experience at the Lodge. You are perfectly right about the vista that the Lodge enjoys and is hard to beat. My apologies for the noise on check in and you are quite right that this could have been taken elsewhere.
Kind regards
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,152
    631
    381
    170
    102
See reviews for
364
1,525
16
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Myself and my husband had stayed here last March in the Corbett room and loved it , this time we had our wee boy with us and we were in the Cullin suite, 2 bedrooms and what a bonus havng a lounge as well, my husband and wee boy appreciated the huge tv with loads of different channels while i enjoyed the wonderful views from our balcony .We made full use of the fantastic spa facilities,especially the pool which we had to ourselves.most of the time we were there. The breakfast was a bit poor i thought but that would certainly not put me off coming again, in fact we are already planning our next break here in the spring when hopefully my wee boy can get to play on the beach as this time it had disappeared beneath the floods ! I must say after reading some of the reviews on here i was quite anxious about going but seems i was worrying for nothing. What`s not to like, clean comfortable rooms, great spa and pool and views to die for .

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theCamerons3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at Lodge on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Delighted that you enjoyed another stay at the Lodge and would apologise for the problem you encountered with our breakfast service. Thank you for placing your review on Trip Advisor.
Kind regards
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed here for 1 night after purchasing a great deal on 5pm for £99 dinner,bed and breakfast. Great value considering the prices of rooms normally and price of a meal in the 2 rosette restaurant. A lot of people seemed to be on this deal,but on a winter Sunday night it meant there were people around and a bit an atmosphere.
We stayed in an executive munro double room In the building separate to the main building.The room was nice and spotlessly clean, even if a little bland. Balcony had a nice loch view although this building is set back with a car park between it and the loch...this let it down a little.....We used the pool in the same building and that was lovely, although it is a narrow pool so if you're wanting to do lengths you need a quiet time. I went at 8am and had the pool to myself which was great.
Dinner was very nice,had 3 courses,good selection on menu.Breakfast was a buffet, food was good,only issue was quite a few things ran out,orange juice,mushrooms,scrambled eggs and no one seemed to be keeping an eye on them so they didn't get topped up.yes we could have asked but didn't really want to wait so just took what was there. Similar issue with used breakfast dishes and plates not being cleared,we had a little stack on our small table by the end of our breakfast.
All staff encounter were polite and friendly.we would definitely return if found another good deal like this one!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ebbistar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at Lodge on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Firstly I would like to thank you for placing your comments on Trip Advisor and was pleased to read that you had enjoyed your recent stay with us.my apologies for our shortcomings at breakfast and the lack of certain items and have noted your comments. I have passed your comments on to my team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Lodge in the future.
Kind regards
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Just spent a night here with a voucher deal. Stayed in a Munro room which was clean, and very comfortable, with a balcony with great views over the loch. Food in the restaurant was very good. Steak cooked perfectly as was the hare. Nice chilled atmosphere in the lounge area with fab views over the loch. Staff were very attentive, particularly Colin who made an extra effort with all guests. A real asset to the hotel. We usually stay at Cameron house, however will stay again here as it is undoubtably better value for money.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank annabanana1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at Lodge on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to place such a fabulous review and I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.i have passed your comments on to my team and in particular to Colin who you highlighted in your review. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Lodge.
Kind regards
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We took advantage of the New Year Package and arrived on Hogmanay to stay for two nights. We received a warm welcome from the outset and I'm pleased to say that all the staff throughout our stay were friendly and helpful.

Our room was in the Corbett Wing and the view from the balcony is tremendous. The room itself was spacious and comfortable and also met the approval of our dog who was allowed to come.

The food we had on both nights was excellent as were the breakfasts. The additional offer of soup and sandwiches in new year's afternoon was most welcome after walking the dog. It was noticeable that during breakfast the food was getting replenished in plenty of time to prevent anything from running out. It was also reassuring to see that the General Manager, Nigel, was frequently there to support his team and make sure that everything was as it should be.

We enjoyed meeting some other guests at our shared table on Hogmanay and they all appeared happy with the hotel.

We did not make use of the Spa Facilities on this occasion.

Nigel, not surprisingly, was at reception when we left and we were pleased to be able to compliment him and his staff on their hard work. We plan to be back again next Hogmanay, if not before.

Room Tip: Only certain rooms can accommodate dogs and a fee of £10 per night is charged.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at Lodge on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Great to hear that you had a good time with us and plan to return.It is always very gratifying to receive such positive feedback on our service.Thank you for taking the time to place your review on Trip Advisor.
Kind regards
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renfrew, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Fantastic hotel with very attentive friendly staff no score for spa as we never used it,however it looked fine.
Food at dinner was outstanding and the buffet style breakfast was also very good.
Overall we enjoyed a very good stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at Lodge on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable break with us and found everything to your satisfaction.I have passed your comments on to my team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Lodge.
Kind regards
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed in a Munro room in the separate accommodation block which housed the spa and swimming pool. The 1st problem we had was trying to find the entry door, this wasn't marked at all. We had dinner early, service was good, and the food was good but not extraordinary, On returning to the room found that bed had a cheap waterproof mattress cover fitted,- plastic and a thin layer of terry towelling - this creaked and made me uncomfortable during the night. Breakfast was fun…not, shown to our table, ordered the toast, Tea and coffee, we had finished our bacon, and requesting 3 times by the time the items finally arrived on the table. At one point we we were informed that the printer had broken down and housekeeping had been called to assist. At least while we waited it gave me a good chance to look at the decor, in particular I noticed the mass of cobwebs hanging on the tartan material, this suggests that the hotel requires a good deep clean.
I have read some of the other reviews since being at home and can agree with the lack of hand washing facilities in the room toilet
This hotel is resting on past laurels and will have to up its game to stay on top.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at Lodge on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to place your review on Trip Advisor and I do appreciate your constructive comments.I would apologise for our shortcomings and have discussed these with my management team with a view to resolving the problems you have highlighted.I hope that this will not deter you from using us in the future.
Kind regards
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luss
6.4 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
0.3 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
8.5 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
8.0 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Inn on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on Loch Lomond

Property: Lodge on Loch Lomond
Address: Route A82, Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8PA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Luss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Luss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge on Loch Lomond 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Lodge on Loch Lomond Hotel stands on a quiet sandy cove amid some of Scotland's most stunning scenery. With panoramic views of the Loch and mountains it offers a warm, relaxing atmosphere, delicious modern cuisine from the award winning 2 AA rosette restaurant Colquhoun's, stunning accommodation, including rooms with en-suite saunas and loch view private balconies, and a luxury health suite with sauna, steam room jacuzzi and swimming pool. Perfectly located to explore Scotland, from cities to Highlands ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lodge on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On Loch Lomond Hotel Luss
Hotel On Loch Lomond
On Loch Lomond Luss
Loch Lomond Lodge
Lodge On Loch Lomond Luss, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing