We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be much better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Luss
London, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Could be much better”
Reviewed 18 August 2008

We stayed in a Munro room in the newest part of the hotel in early July for one night as a stop off point on the way to the Highlands.

Both check-in and check-out were fine and the reception staff were very friendly.

The corridors of the Munro wing smell of musty swimming pool (as the pool is in the same block) which is a shame.

The Munro room was large and comfortable with a king sized bed, a seating area and a good flat screen TV.

The open plan bathroom behind the bed is a rather strange, and would work better as a proper room. The shower is a little annoying because it only has a few temperature settings which were either too hot or too cold for us.

The view from the balcony over the Loch is lovely, but the plastic balcony furniture is cheap and tacky.

We'd booked dinner, bed and breakfast at around £200 for one night. The dinner in the hotel was good with local produce and a fair choice of dishes. The restaurant/bar space is attractive with stunning Loch views, although the service was a little slow and the over-sized wooden menus are very silly.

There is a limit on how much you can spend on the inclusive rate which we only found out about when the hotel tried to charge us extra on checking out. I refused to pay this extra food charge because it was the first we'd heard of any limit. We'd even asked in the restaurant before ordering and had been told "It's 3 courses of your choice excluding drinks." Saying that, it was removed from the bill without much fuss.

Breakfast was ok - the items you can order are the best part if the slightly slow staff manage to get the order right! (They put our two orders on one plate). I always find it odd when the only bread available is toast - a selection of cold meats, cheese, and fresh rolls/bread would be a nice addition.

The village of Luss is gorgeous, especially the little church, as is the shore line walk of the Loch - just a shame that the odd litter lout drops their empty plastic bottles and crisp packets even here...

  • Liked — The view from the room and the quality of the food at dinner in the restaurant.
  • Disliked — The open plan bathroom.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank S_plus_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,160
    638
    385
    173
    103
See reviews for
369
1,538
16
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (649)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2008

Well what a disapointment this hotel is. We stayed in the Cullen
suite from 12/08 until 15/08 and if we hadn't paid in full before we checked in we would not have stayed. The living room area was dirty with spiders/webs and daddy long legs on ceiling and carpet. One of the bedrooms had food crumbs under the bed. The balcony was filthy. But our biggest bug bare were the card keys which deactivated every time we left the room - so had to keep going to reception to get them activated!! (a nightmare in the pouring rain)
Not at all what you expect from a 4* family run hotel.
On the plus side the staff were extremely nice.
We will definately not be going back
.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UnhappyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
569 reviews
247 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2008

Well worth a few nights here if you want excellent accommodation at a reasonable price right on the edge of the loch. Our room, even though standard, had a view of the loch (although not all do) and it was very comfortable indeed. The hotel has style. The bar is a great place to sit and enjoy pre-dinner drinks. It leads out onto a terrace on the loch edge where on a nice summer evening you can enjoy your drinks and the incredible scenery right on the door step. Evening meals are excellent. Make sure you book Dinner, Bed and Breakfast, you get a much better deal than if you book B&B and pay for dinner separately. We will definately be going back to this hotel.

  • Liked — its location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2008

Oke it is a beautifull location but that is all.
We booked the Jimmy Carter suite but this was a rip off !
- the check in was standard
- the balcony was dirty
- you hear every step of the guests above you.
- the waitress in the restaurant served us eating chewinggum.
- there is no management in the hotel ! no leadership.
- they even cannot send a fax to the continent
- etc.;.
We were very unhappy and there are a lot of small and frienly hotels in the region , but not this one !
Koen Bogaert

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the unmannered personel
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kbgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2008

We had our daughter's wedding here and the views, food and staff were excellent, there was nothing that we would have changed for the day, Kirsty our co-ordinator was excellent and knows her job very well. We would like to thank everyone there that made our day extra special.Gordon & Carol Reid

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cargor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk Uk
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2008

The lodge is set on the shores of Loch Lomond, opposite the Loch's islands, about half a mile north of the very pretty village of Luss. The Lodge is of timber construction; we stayed in a Munro room in an outlying accomodation block, which also contained the Spa and a very pleasant indoor pool. The rooms are very spacious with a sitting area and balconies overlooking the Loch. The open plan bathroom is a little odd, and you must read the operators manual to understand how the bath/ shower controls work! We found the beds and pillows slightly lumpy, but overall it was a very comfortable room.

The food in the well reviewed restaurant was quite good: the steak we had at dinner was tasty, but looked nothing like a steak! I think it was a crude offcut from a beef roast. Avoid the buffet breakfast! As is so often the case with hotel buffets the " hot food" was no more than tepid and overcooked- the freshly cooked items off the menu were much better.

Do not miss the village of Luss, particularly the pretty little T shaped church with its gorgeous boat shaped hammer beam roof.

  • Liked — Spacious and practical
  • Disliked — Mastering the bathroom controls.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunnitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2008

I got married at the hotel in 2007 and must say that the setting is absolutely wonderful. We had beautiful weather and the location was stunning, especially for a traditional Scottish Wedding. The food was good and the waiting staff professional and attentive.

However, the hotel is somewhat lacking in several areas. The corridors to the new rooms in the Munro Lodge are positively grubby. I had mentioned the carpeting throughout the lodge at a previous meeting and was assured (in writing) that all carpets would be cleaned prior to our big day. Unfortunately it was clear that this had not been done, and it gave the whole place a dated and unkempt feel.

The honeymoon suite was nice enough, although I was disappointed to find the sink leaking and the floor soaking (luckily I noticed before trailing my white gown into it!). Still, the balcony and living area were comfortable with spectacular views, so we were not entirely disappointed. I would suggest it would be a nice touch though, to offer for the new bride and groom to order breakfast in the room, and not to kick them out of the room at 10am on the dot. Our door was knocked at 9:30am to remind us that we had to vacate by 10am!!!

The service from the Wedding co-ordinators throughout the year was good enough and they always responded to our queries promptly and politely. Unfortunately the attention on the day was not so efficient. On the morning of the Wedding the Manager was utterly rude to my father, assuming that he was an assistant to the florist and not in fact the one settling the bill. The Hotel then mistakenly allocated one of our guests a room in the older part of the hotel, instead of the Munro lodge and so they were left with one spare key for the Munro rooms at the end of the day. Rather than sorting the situation himself, the Manager approached the Groom immediately after the meal and told him to sort it out and that we would be paying for this spare room whether it was used or not. It is only with hindsight that we realise how inappropriate this was.

There was also some accidental damage in the hotel which was handled very poorly. Rather than inform us, the Management simply added the cost of replacing the damaged furniture onto our bill, and claimed that the damage was caused by our drunken guests. Since the Wedding was only close friends and family, none of whom were rowdy or overly intoxicated, I was utterly appalled at this suggestion. Our complaints fell on deaf ears, and any correspondence with the hotel was completely unprofessional. The spelling/ grammatical content of the written correspondence was laughable. How disappointing that the wedding co-ordinator couldn’t even be bothered to read over her letter before sending to guests who had spent several thousands of pounds at the Hotel.

All in all, I would recommend the hotel for a short break, some good food and a taste of the beautiful, Scottish scenery. By all means have your wedding here…just be wary of the staff.

  • Liked — Beautiful scenery
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luss
6.4 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
0.3 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
8.5 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
8.0 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
440 reviews
19.0 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on Loch Lomond

Property: Lodge on Loch Lomond
Address: Route A82, Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8PA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Luss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Luss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge on Loch Lomond 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Lodge on Loch Lomond Hotel stands on a quiet sandy cove amid some of Scotland's most stunning scenery. With panoramic views of the Loch and mountains it offers a warm, relaxing atmosphere, delicious modern cuisine from the award winning 2 AA rosette restaurant Colquhoun's, stunning accommodation, including rooms with en-suite saunas and loch view private balconies, and a luxury health suite with sauna, steam room jacuzzi and swimming pool. Perfectly located to explore Scotland, from cities to Highlands ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lodge on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On Loch Lomond Hotel Luss
Hotel On Loch Lomond
On Loch Lomond Luss
Loch Lomond Lodge
Lodge On Loch Lomond Luss, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing