We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, relaxing one night break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Luss
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely, relaxing one night break”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Like a lot of reviewers this was a 5pm deal. Upgraded to the deluxe corbett room beforehand for an extra £20 and was well worth it. Room,bathroom & sauna were exceptionally clean & cosy and the view over the loch was to die for! If only it had been a few degrees warmer, we would have made use of the table and chairs on our balcony! Food in the restaurant both for dinner and breakfast was lovely and the selection of drinks and cocktails in the bar really good. Cannot fault any of the staff at all, they were all friendly, attentive and couldn't do enough for us. Well done Lodge on Loch Lomond!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snowballs03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at Lodge on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
So pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything was to your satisfaction.I have passed your encouraging comments on to my team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Lodge.
Kind regards
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,154
    632
    381
    171
    103
See reviews for
364
1,528
16
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

A little late but just wanted to say - As very newly engaged couple we planned a little trip away before christmas to celebrate 22/12/13. Unfortunately the place we were staying was closed down, but to our good fortune we were upgraded to the lodge with an executive suite for the inconvenience. We cannot say how much we loved staying there. It was instantly warm and welcoming, and the staff were so kind and helpful at all times. Our room exceeded all our expectations and more with a sauna IN OUR ROOM and a balcony over the loch, it was just perfection. The food from Colquhouns was so delicious and the cocktails we had in the bar area were spot on! We felt like we were in a wee Scottish Paradise! It will definitely become our anniversary destination for that special romantic weekend away. Thank you so much to everyone who made it perfect! Xx

Room Tip: The executive rooms was perfection - a good sized bath with a power shower, sauna in the bedroom, lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmac62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at Lodge on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Wow!! What a lovely review and I am pleased that the Lodge is now a special place to you.On your anniversary do contact me and I may organise a wee surprise for you.Thank you for taking the time to place your review on Trip Advisor and it is greatly appreciated.
Kind regards
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Myself and my wife stayed at the lodge on Loch Lomond , sat 11th jan, 2014. There were 14 of us staying for my fathers 60th bday. We had a room in the new annex part of the hotel. It faces east across the loch. The sunrise in the morning was amazing .The room was large and very we'll equipped with modern cons including digital bath and shower controls. The food and service in the restaurant was great and all the staff very friendly and helpful. I will certainly stay again and would recommend anyone to stay here.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefbarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at Lodge on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for such a terrific review and for taking the time to place your comments on Trip Advisor.I was delighted that you had such a fantastic stay with us and found everything to your satisfaction.
Kind regards
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

confusion when booking online deal that was eventually sorted after a few calls.
We arrived Thursday after new year. We were upgraded to a executive munro which was in the block set slightly back from the loch with the pool and wedding suites in it.
Still Loch view although over a car-park. No covered walk way to main building, so if its wet talk an umbrella to get to main building.
We would have appreciated a porter to show us our rooms.
Our room was nice, but for 4 stars - our base valance had 3 big rips in it at the front (see pic)
and the pillows were very small and uncomfortable and the wallpaper was peeling in places.
We did have a nice stay-over and enjoyed the meal - we paid the £5 supplement + £2 each to have the steak. The breakfast was a good selection.
The setting of the eaterie and bar is lovely and would like to return in Spring/Summer to really appreciate the setting as the weather was very wet and the Loch swollen so could not go onto the beach.
The pool looked nice although we didn't have time to use it.
for a 4 *hotel there is room for improvement . . . . . .

Room Tip: ask for a front row location
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ch42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at Lodge on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to place your review on Trip Advisor, I would apologise for our shortcomings in certain aspects of your room and have asked our Housekeeper to look into this as I fully agree that it is unacceptable.On a more positive note I was pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience with us and have passed your comments on to my chef.I do appreciate your constructive feedback.
Kind regards
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed on 9th January on 5pm deal. THIS IS NOT THE 4 STAR HOTEL BEING ADVERTISED. The view is great but that's a given, the food was good although the service was not prompt. We had to repeatedly ask for things for the table although the staff were very friendly.

On walking into reception we saw straight away it was not the standard advertised. On walking down the corridor to the rooms we could smell mould/musty smell. The skirting boards are either not clean or they need painted, the railings are all scuffed and the carpets are not current. The TV didn't work in the room and the door didn't close properly to the balcony (or we couldn't figure out how to close it).

I did not go expecting a 1980's 3 star but that is what we got - except for the food.

I will be speaking to the hotel about this but if you are going expecting what is advertised you will be very unhappy! The accommodation needs refurbished!

Not happy and based on this would not recommend it.

Someone may say what do you expect for £X deal - I expect to get what is advertised otherwise they hotel are seriously at fault here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at Lodge on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Please note from all reviews that I always respond to constructive reviews.Not on this occasion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Myself and my partner had a during the week overnight stay from a 5pm deal. Included dinner, use of the spa facilities and breakfast the next morning.
On arriving at the room we got exactly as requested, a Munro room off ground level with a view of the loch. Our robes and slippers were missing from the room but were brought to me straight away when i popped back to reception. Rooms were lovely and very clean as was the Spa. We had the pool and jacuzzi to ourselves most of the time.
The only disappointment was where we were seated at dinner. With it being during the week it was very quiet but most of the tables along the window were taken. I understand people will usually prefer to be seated along the window to see the views however at 8pm there is only darkness as there is no lights outside (which would be a lovely touch to illuminate the loch so we cannot understand why this has not been done). We were still seated by the window but right at the end beside the kitchen. This meant it was very light at our table and unfortunately very loud from the clanging from the kitchen and the loud conversations from the chefs. Because of this the atmosphere for our dinner was ruined but if we had been seated further down the restaurant this would have been completely fine. We would have asked to move but did not realise how bad it was until after we had ordered and sadly our server did not come back near us until bringing our starter. By then we were stuck.
The food was lovely. Slight mix up with my starter when the wrong order came but the waitress that made the mistake came over to apologise herself and brought me a complimentary glass of wine which was lovely. We really enjoyed the food, fish tempura, goats cheese soufflé, duck and salmon. We decided not to order the dessert so we could move away from the table and relax more in the cosy bar.
Tried a few cocktails, made well and then the barman gave us a bucket of ice and glasses for some champers we had already brought to the room.
In the morning we went to breakfast later than planned. Was a little worried there would not be a lot of the hot food left after some previous reviews but there was no need. Breakfast was great! They were still bringing out fresh bacon at 9:30 and all the food was delicious. As was the coffee and earl grey tea. We were also sat at the opposite end from the kitchen with a beautiful view across the loch. Could have looked out at that view all day. I think breakfast was our favourite part of our stay.
In all we had a wonderful stay and with the deals running quite regularly it is definitely worth the money. I have stayed twice before with family and always enjoyed it. I would just make sure to request the right side of the restaurant for dinner next time.

Room Tip: If you request the Munro rooms you do not have to walk across the parking lot in your robe to get to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMFeeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at Lodge on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
I was delighted to read that you had another great stay with us but have noted your comments regarding dinner and would agree that a little more thought by us would not have gone amiss and have passed these comments on to my food and beverage team.Your comments are greatly appreciated and I would like to thank you for taking the time to place your comments on Trip Advisor.I look forward to welcoming you back to the Lodge.
Kind regards
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayr
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Good hotel pool,spa excellent food very good ,mix up regarding 5pm (special price) receptionist not the greatest however other staff were so helpful and kind .Disapointed not to have robes and slippers in room (for a four star) Any way would certainly go again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank elvissAyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at Lodge on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to place your review on Trip Advisor and I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and would use the Lodge again in the future. I would apologise for the absence of the bathrobes and slippers and have passed this on as a concern to our housekeeper. I look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luss
6.4 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
0.3 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
8.5 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
8.0 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Inn on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on Loch Lomond

Property: Lodge on Loch Lomond
Address: Route A82, Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8PA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Luss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Luss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge on Loch Lomond 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Lodge on Loch Lomond Hotel stands on a quiet sandy cove amid some of Scotland's most stunning scenery. With panoramic views of the Loch and mountains it offers a warm, relaxing atmosphere, delicious modern cuisine from the award winning 2 AA rosette restaurant Colquhoun's, stunning accommodation, including rooms with en-suite saunas and loch view private balconies, and a luxury health suite with sauna, steam room jacuzzi and swimming pool. Perfectly located to explore Scotland, from cities to Highlands ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lodge on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On Loch Lomond Hotel Luss
Hotel On Loch Lomond
On Loch Lomond Luss
Loch Lomond Lodge
Lodge On Loch Lomond Luss, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing