We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous scenery”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Luss
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The staff are very welcoming, efficient and professional. The views are stunning. The food was good. The only issue I had was the shabby, plastic furniture on the balcony. Easy to rectify this as the balcony should be an extension of the room. Clean furniture of a high standard on the balcony would have made our visit just perfect. Would definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Room 67 had lovely view and was very clean but the shabbily repaired balcony and dirty plastic furni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyHamilton2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at Lodge on Loch Lomond, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

What a lovely review and thank you for taking the time to place your comments on Trip Advisor,I have passed your comments on to my team and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Nigel
PS time for new balcony furniture and your comments have been noted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,400 - 1,406 of 2,589 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

4 years since our last visit, and the lodge hasn't change much. Yes, it needs a touch up here and there but still very enjoyable. A new reception desk gives a better feel when entering. Had a Corbett room which has great view of the loch. Staff are great, nice that the manager had time to talk to us. Food was very good, worth having the DBB package

Room Tip: Corbett rooms overlook the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at Lodge on Loch Lomond, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to place your review on Trip Advisor and I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us.I was particularly proud of your comments regarding the staff at the Lodge as they are a new team and your comments will be warmly received by them.I look forward to welcoming you back to the Lodge.
Kind regards
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We come to The Lodge at least once every time we're at Loch Lomond. It's not the cheapest restaurant but neither is it the dearest by a long chalk. It's in an absolutely fab spot, right on the loch edge with fabulous views right across the loch. The dining room is done out in lovely aged wood with tartan style trimmings, it's a lovely, welcoming atmosphere. The food is excellent, well cooked and well presented with a good selection. The staff are friendly and efficient. What more could you want.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LizaDurham999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at Lodge on Loch Lomond, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Delighted to read that you continue to enjoy your regular dining experiences with us at the Lodge.Thank you for taking the time to place your very encouraging review on Trip Advisor and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We've stayed a few times at the lodge over a period of over 20 years and feel its time to update
It is wonderfully located - just off the main road, easy to get to by car or even coach.

Ask for a loch view with balcony or (corbett room) or at least a loch view and its a heavenly outlook with a view of Luss and the Loch and access to a small private beach/jetty

Weddings are done in a separate building now but the lodge can be extremely busy at weekends and in season

One hint; check when you book re privacy of balcony - we had none at all this time and had to wait for quiet times to go out and be very careful as next door neighbours out on their balcony could see into our room!! Upper rooms with balcony seem better in this regard

The rooms are fine and having your own sauna is magic. Detalis matter tho; the lighting was ridiculously dim (see photo - my husband had to hold his lamp to read and put mine on top of our suitcase) and there was no working extractor in the loo which has no other ventilation


The meals are like night and day - dinner is superb with well cooked and presented classic dishes and great service. They did have a lot of trainees on however and the bemused lad who brought our wine forgot to open it!

Breakfast is nowhere near so good. Service was slow - we were halfway thro when toast came ... And tea instead of coffee. The black pud was rubbery the potato scone overdone and burnt at the edges. Some tomatoes were cooked if sloppy and some not cooked at all. The scramblies however were good. There were also beans sausage and mushrooms and the usual cold buffet and juices

If breakfast and breakfast service were improved there would be only small things to quibble about; it seems so odd when the lodge prides itself so much on dinner and guests who only have breakfast would leave with a poor impression

This is a superb place to stay due to view, private saunas and general comfort but don't expect 5 star brekkie and expect a few quibbles here and there.

The pretty villager of luss with shops, pubs and cafes - and regular boat trips on the loch - is a very short walk along the strand

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hfulton32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at Lodge on Loch Lomond, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to place your review on Trip Advisor,I was delighted to read that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us and note the comments regarding breakfast service,for this I would apologise and will look into this.I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Fabulous place with views to die for, hence we just had to stay an extra night.
having toured all over the highlands andislands this has ot be the best place we found.
We are definately going back.
Staff were very helpful especially Hayley - Thanks
and the Owner was always around with a big smile a hello and a genuine desire to ensure all was well.
loved the spa, the food the rooms and the location.
one weeney improvement would be to have a mobile or resident masseur and or beauty therapist so we could have had a massage and or nails done etc.

Room Tip: just need the rooms with a loch view and most have.!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at Lodge on Loch Lomond, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

What an excellent review and thank you for taking the time to place your comments on Trip Advisor.I have passed your encouraging comments on to my team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Hi we have just returned from a 3 night break at lodge on the loch booked this for a 2 night stay originally for our wedding anniversary we had our 8 month old baby with us the girls at the reception were great very friendly and helpful as we're the kitchen & restaurant staff heated the wee ones food up and were very accommodation with having the baby the food was really good I'm quite fussy but really really enjoyed the food both nights we ate in the corbet room we had was great the view was stunning couldn't get any better and seconds from the beach so I decided to book an extra night in a bigger room and get our other 2 boys brought up for my husbands birthday so booked the cullin suite house keeping and reception staff were great and helped us too move rooms which was amazing too very big and great for family's but preferred the first room we stayed in pool and spa was great only thing I would say is I couldn't take my wee one swimming on my own as there was no were to put him while I got changed like a wee seat or chair but apart from that we had an amazing time and didn't want to leave first time we have been but won't be the last can't wait too come back

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharonwalker19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at Lodge on Loch Lomond, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to place such a glowing review on Trip Advisor.I was delighted that you and your family had such an enjoyable stay with us at the Lodge and have passed your encouraging comments on to my team.We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We chose this hotel because of the location, and the views and that is about all it has going for it. The view of the loch from our room was across the carpark but the view from the restaurant is unbeatable. Food served in the restaurant is some of the best we have ever had, but service awful. Given menus and asked within 2 minutes what we would like to order, one waitress coughed over us as she took our order. Asked if our food was okay just after we had put our first mouthful in, although they appeared enthusiastic, it was clear that they lacked training. During one meal we had 3 different waitresses attending us and they did not communicate with each other. Staff at reception asking how your day was whilst staring at the computer, no eye contact at all, robotic. If we didn't answer, they would not have noticed. Ask if there is a wedding on before you book, as the wedding guests walk in a constant stream through the bar to get drinks and the noise from the function room is constant, so you will not be able to have any kind of discussion in the bar and will need to queue up for a drink at the counter. Who designed the bathrooms?Nowhere to put toiletries and have to reach under sink to reach loo paper. No doors in front of wardrobes so we left our stuff in suitcases for 4 days. Ecotaps at sinks, that once you have pushed the button, did not stop running for 2 full minutes! It transpired that if you pressed the button again, that is suppose to turn the tap off, but that only worked in one room, not in the other. The heating in the rooms is set far too high, uncomfortably so and we ended up with the windows and doors open whenever we were in the room, not very environmentally friendly then. We will not be staying here again

Room Tip: Away from main building is quieter, but view from main building is nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annelize l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at Lodge on Loch Lomond, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

I was disappointed to read your comments and that the hotel did not live up to your expectation on this occasion and for this I would apologise for that. I will look into your comments which are not the usual comments we receive regarding our staff as they are normally highly praised for their friendliness and efficiency.
Kind regards
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luss
6.4 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
0.3 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
8.5 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
8.0 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
549 reviews
8.2 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on Loch Lomond

Address: Route A82, Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8PA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Luss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Luss
Price Range: £113 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge on Loch Lomond 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Lodge on Loch Lomond Hotel stands on a quiet sandy cove amid some of Scotland's most stunning scenery. With panoramic views of the Loch and mountains it offers a warm, relaxing atmosphere, delicious modern cuisine from the award winning 2 AA rosette restaurant Colquhoun's, stunning accommodation, including rooms with en-suite saunas and loch view private balconies, and a luxury health suite with sauna, steam room jacuzzi and swimming pool. Perfectly located to explore Scotland, from cities to Highlands ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lodge on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On Loch Lomond Hotel Luss
Hotel On Loch Lomond
On Loch Lomond Luss
Loch Lomond Lodge
Lodge On Loch Lomond Luss, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing