We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utterly fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Luss
Reviewed 4 July 2009

Exceptional views of Loch Lomond, excellent staff, great breakfast, clean, tidy rooms, very good gym facilities, friendly local staff.
also try Mr C's Fish and Whisky restaurant (about 3 miles up the loch, owned by the same family as the lodge) for a meal. Very reasonably priced and great food.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jarob2423415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,349 - 2,355 of 2,628 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2009

Hubby and I spent one night here for our 1st anniversary (spent 3 nights of honeymoon there last year) and it was just as good as before. Check-in quick and pleasant, dinner booked for the evening. We stayed in a Corbett room again and were able to better appreciate the view as the weather was clearer - the movies were also working this time! I thought the bedding had that Youth Hostel texture from too many launders so perhaps time to be replaced but no other complaints about the room. Pool and steam room were deserted again and we sat in the jacuzzi by ourselves watching the snow fall - fantastic.

Dinner and breakfast were superb as before, the restaurant and bar staff eager to please and very accommodating when we were late for dinner and wanted a drink first. When we checked out the recepionist took time to point us to the local shopping centre and was as pleasant as always.

My only complaint is the same as last year - when we ordered room service the tray was not cleared away even when I rang for service and asked them to take it away. It was still there when we checked out as the cleaners had not yet reached our room.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beakysian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2009

We were here for a wedding - but not one at the actual hotel: this was just one of the local hotels that were recommended to us. In some ways the hotel was very good. We were staying in one of the Corbett suites which had a fabulous view over the loch. We also ate in Colquhoun's restaurant on our first night there: £29.95 for a three-course meal. The food was pretty good and, given the place has a couple of AA rosettes, it's pretty much a fine-dining experience although the restaurant's proximity to the bar meant it did get quite noisy: once again you do get the fantastic view over the water.

Breakfast was also excellent: among the best I’ve had in a hotel. A good buffet selection with the option of ordering haggis, square sausage, kippers and other items direct from the kitchen (plus freshly-cooked eggs).

On the minus side, there did only seem to be a choice of the restaurant or a room service menu on the food-front. Luss is not the liveliest of locations (which might well be the reason why you’d choose to stay here) but I was expecting a bar menu or a bit of variety on places to eat.

Also, although the room was generally very clean, we found some pretty meaty looking cobwebs: one big one across a lampshade and another huge one between the top of the wall and the ceiling. Not the end of the world I admit but a bit of a surprise.

Unfortunately, we didn’t get the chance to try the sauna in the room or any of the hotel’s other facilities. The staff were very good and efficient as far as we saw.

At £180 for this room it couldn't be regarded as inexpensive but you are paying for the view. All in all: a pretty good hotel let down by a couple of small irritations.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edwardknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2009

Spent one night here, surprised by how good the food was...given the restaurant did not look that promising. Drinks however expensive...I paid double for a half bottle of average wine than I'd paid the evening before at a five star hotel.
Staff very pleasant and attentive. Rooms have not been touched since the hotel opened in the early nineties....and it shows. Decor is shabby, leather chairs and carpets have seen better days...grounds of the hotel including the small private beach get no attention whatsoever. In fact the public beach next door is much cleaner and tidier.
Good staff...shame about the hotel....

Stayed: June 2009
Thank skelmorlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2009

First of all, a word on the reception staff - the MOST friendly and helpful that we have ever experienced in any hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for any of them. Would also say that if possible you should book a Corbett room rather than a Munroe room. The Munroes ar maybe more modern, but the Corbetts are better situated (directly over the loch), very comfortable and roomy with a balcony. Great spot for a holiday or a few days break. Not many places to eat in the local vicinity - the hotel's own restaurant seemed pricey (breakfasts were superb though). Amber Spa area was empty when we tried it - pool was perfect, as were all the other facilities. All in all - would definitely reccommend The Lodge - wonderful views, brilliant staff, comfy and spacious rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidalthea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2009

We have just retruned from 2 very disappointing days at the Lodge on Loch Lomond. What is apparent immediately is the very neglected front door area - the door itself is in dire need of a coat of paint and there appears to be waste water running along the car park from the back door of the kitchen - not at all a pleasant welcome to a 4* hotel. The grounds/garden areas surrounding the hotel were in a similar rundown/neglected state. Our room was very small and not at all what we would expect for £149 per night, further, when I told staff that there was only 1 bedside light in the room they did nothing to rectify the situation. I visisted the swimming pool on our 1st day and, although the facility was adequate, I found dirty tissues on the floor there - these were still there more than 24hours later on a return visit. We usually try to stay in privately owned hotels, but the standard of accommodation and service received on a recent visit to the Glasgow Hilton was far and away superior to this hotel and for a fraction of the price. The Lodge on the Loch Lomond is not supplying a 4* service and I intend to write to the awarding body to tell them of this. Incidentally this is the 1st time I have ever felt compelled to comment in this manner.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EldersBlackIsle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2009

I surprised my fiance with a trip to the wonderful Lodge on Loch Lomond for his birthday in February. I paid for dinner, bed and breakast in the Corbett Double room.

We arrived early and were allowed to check in early and the manager agreed to let us check out a little later as it was a birthday treat. The check in was quick and we were very happy when we reached our room. A flat screen TV, leather couch, windows facing out onto Loch Lomond and a very comfortable bed. The sauna - oh what a treat to be able to use this in our room. The bath was massive and the shower very powerful.

The dinner for both of us was very good, 3 courses of heaven. My fiance is quite a fussy eater but enjoyed the meal also. The breafast was brilliant too - we ate until we could eat no more!

The village of Luss is very small but lovely - its nice to see the shops and houses which were used in the Scottis TV show Take the High Road which is no longer made.

We loved our stay and would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123wanderlust123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luss
6.4 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
0.3 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
8.5 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
8 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
571 reviews
8.2 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on Loch Lomond

Address: Route A82, Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8PA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Luss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Luss
Price Range: £115 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge on Loch Lomond 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Lodge on Loch Lomond Hotel stands on a quiet sandy cove amid some of Scotland's most stunning scenery. With panoramic views of the Loch and mountains it offers a warm, relaxing atmosphere, delicious modern cuisine from the award winning 2 AA rosette restaurant Colquhoun's, stunning accommodation, including rooms with en-suite saunas and loch view private balconies, and a luxury health suite with sauna, steam room jacuzzi and swimming pool. Perfectly located to explore Scotland, from cities to Highlands ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Lodge on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On Loch Lomond Hotel Luss
Hotel On Loch Lomond
On Loch Lomond Luss
Loch Lomond Lodge
Lodge On Loch Lomond Luss, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing