We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Luss
Reviewed 26 August 2009

My husband, 9week old daughter and myself recently stayed at the Lodge on the Loch and had a lovely break. On checking in the friendly receptionist was extremely helpful and she had concerns on whether the babies cot would fit in the room type we had booked (standard, Graham room). She liased with housekeeping who was also very helpful and she said they would do their best.
On getting to our room, it was very spacious (and plenty of room for the cot), was modern and nicely decorated with a lovely bathroom and the view of the Loch and Luss was absolutely beautiful.
The staff we encountered throughout our stay were excellent and all really friendly (and Scottish) and we used the leisure facilities each day which are excellent.
The breakfast was beautiful with the majority being buffet with the option of having more speciality requests such as kippers cooked to order.
The only downside I would say was the restaurant prices for lunch/evening meal, we wouldve eaten in the restaurant both evenings if the price had been more reasonable although the location/setting is lovely.
We would definately return to the Lodge on Loch Lomond as we enjoyed every second of our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelandfiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,378 - 2,384 of 2,666 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2009

We booked the hotel en-route to the HighLands for a single night stay on our return. We were impressed with the reception staff who were extremely helpful and friendly. We were also impressed by the room, a Munro room in the new Spa complex, which had a fanastatic balcony and views over Loch Lomond as well as the extra mod cons. Where we did have a slight issue with was the apparent unwillingness of some of the staff to deliver good customer service in the bar and restaurant areas. There only seemed to be one table waitress who was willing to serve afternoon drinks in the bar area which made the wait to get served excessive ie: 20mins plus, even though other members of staff were about but just refused to make eye contact.... We also had an issue with the evening meal, without going in to the detail the hotel waived the cost of the meal. I would only add that the whole restaurant experience for us was a negative.
I'm sure on a different day things might have been totally different but was intrigued that the previous review also experienced poor service in this area.
A nice hotel which we will probably visit again and will give it the benefit of doubt that they were having a bad day.... and hope to get the experience that some of the more positive reviewers received.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BilboBoggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

Good quality service from hotel staff, but restaurant staff did not appear to have grasped the basics of working in a restaurant.
Excellent quality in Munro room with superb facilities (sauna, flat screen tv, bathrobes and balcony). Somewhat unusual design of room with open plan bathroom, but would not be a problem for a couple. Fantastic view over loch from room & hotel.
Excellent peaceful location 2 minutes walk from Luss village.
Overall good quality hotel if a little expensive let down by poor quality restaurant with indifferent service and poor value meal relying on beautiful view over loch rather than providing a decent meal.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wineloverBeverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

Beautiful location. Excellent food. Elegant hotel - we're considering it for our wedding reception because we had such a wonderful stay. Easy to get to - even without a car (we took the bus from Glasgow and got off at the stop for Luss, the hotel is a very short walk from the stop.) I would certainly come here again! The only complaint we had was that the decor in our room was rather dated, but of course that is only a cosmetic thing and it's probably been updated by now anyway. I am relaxing now just thinking about what a peaceful, relaxing time we had then. If you haven't gone, you should - I wholeheartedly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ranu11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we had just one complaint - that we didn't have longer in this wonderful inn.

We booked it in a moment of splurging madness at the top of Ben Nevis (we earned this night of luxury) and it was just gorgeous. We arrived, dirty and smelly but were met with nothing but helpfulness and kindness. Within minutes we were booked into the restaurant for dinner, our bikes were whisked away somewhere safe and we were in our wonderful room with a balcony overlooking the gorgeous loch. The shower was INCREDIBLY strong, perfect for massaging aching shoulders, and the room was just quietly luxurious and elegant. I particularly liked the toiletries and the dressing gowns.

Dinner in the restaurant was a total pleasure, the lamb was heavenly, and we had a wonderful table by the window. Breakfast the next day was fantastic and the staff were friendly and helpful throughout. I've told my husband he can feel free to whisk me back at any time...it was bliss.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

My husband & I originally booked one night at this hotel with the intention of moving on to Fort William, but it was so fantastic that we couldn't bring ourselves to leave so booked another night & gave FW a miss (maybe next time!) We stayed in one of the the Munro rooms & it was amazing, it had a balcony overlooking the Loch and and an incredible bathroom. The hotel itself is right on the shoreline so you eat your breakfst and dinner overlooking the loch. I can honestly say it was one of the best moments in my life: eating an amazing steak by the shore of Loch Lomond. The food is fantastic and they do a great online bed, breakfast & dinner rate! The staff are incredibly friendly and so helpful - we just loved the place (and this was on a tour of the UK so we'd stayed in a variety of hotels). Oh, and there was a free broadband connection in the room so we could research the area, although they had already provided a very useful folder full of info & advice.
I know I'm wittering on but if you ever stay in this hotel you'll see why i think it's so amazing. We'll definitely be going back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

I was told i was going here for one night back in October to check the place out for a wedding venue by my other half, wasn't keen traveling from South Wales. When we arrived in the morning we had a very well deserved breakfast very nice. We arrived early morning and reception was great booking us in early to our room, earlier than expected. We only had to wait an hour, so they secured our bags away in a very nice room with everything you could need and more. Went in the bar to meet wedding co-ordinator, she showed us round and we loved the place that much that it was top of our wedding venue list. After a few drinks relaxing in a very comfy lounge bar by the open fire we then checked out one other hotel then came back to wash and change for the night ahead. Evening meal was FANTASTIC with the right atmosphere with a view to die for, with more drinks inside us we then took a bottle of bubble back to the room. The room was very comfortable and i loved the deep bath and power shower. Staff were very friendly and helpful, reception helped us out with the on-line checking to save us time at the airport and then it was rounded off with one more breakfast and that view of the Loch again.

It was a lovely relaxing break, and we're really looking forward to the next visit which will be our special day.
What a relaxing break with great views of the loch

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianTutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luss
8.5 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
6.4 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
8 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
586 reviews
18.8 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on Loch Lomond

Address: Route A82, Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8PA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Luss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Luss
Price Range: £119 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge on Loch Lomond 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Lodge on Loch Lomond Hotel stands on a quiet sandy cove amid some of Scotland's most stunning scenery. With panoramic views of the Loch and mountains it offers a warm, relaxing atmosphere, delicious modern cuisine from the award winning 2 AA rosette restaurant Colquhoun's, stunning accommodation, including rooms with en-suite saunas and loch view private balconies, and a luxury health suite with sauna, steam room jacuzzi and swimming pool. Perfectly located to explore Scotland, from cities to Highlands ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lodge on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On Loch Lomond Hotel Luss
Hotel On Loch Lomond
On Loch Lomond Luss
Loch Lomond Lodge
Lodge On Loch Lomond Luss, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing