We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shower with loch view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Luss
Reviewed 25 November 2009

After reading a previous review regarding pets in rooms we opted for one of the Munro rooms which are kept pet free. These rooms though are in an annex buiding - rather confusing signage to rooms and corridors blocked off.
The room was very spacious with an open plan bathroom area from the bedroom (separate loo only). While this did create a wow factor on arrival it proved to be a bit of a gimmick and slightly annoying eg/ trying to wash hands quietly in the middle of the night, water stopping in the shower mid hairwash and fumbling for the button to turn it back on. Perhaps the owners should stay in one of these rooms to try it for themselves.
The room had a private balcony overlooking the loch (and car park) which we didn't use due to the time of year and weather but would be lovely to sit out on a summer evening - providing the room next door was not occupied.
We dashed across to the main building in the rain to have dinner in the restaurant where we were presented with huge menus - huge as in the size of the actual menu not the number of dishes on it! However the set price menu had a perfectly ample number of choices for each course. We were treated to some interesting, well presented and expertly cooked dishes which we thoroughly enjoyed. Highly recommended.
We found staff friendly and polite and it is obviously a family run hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mytripUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,274 - 2,280 of 2,592 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2009

Originally we booked into the sister hotel, The Inn at Inverbeg, quite deliberately as we wanted a more informal and relaxed visit without the formality of a 4 star hotel and restaurant. We'd also read some poor reviews about the Lodge on Loch Lomond which concerned us.

About 4 days before our trip, we rang to confirm the Inn at Inverbeg and were told that their Beach House was closed for renovation and they had upgraded us to a suite at the Lodge on Loch Lomond. The upgrade balanced our disappointment and we assumed we could still eat at the Inn at Inverbeg.

We arrived for our one night stay to celebrate my wife's 40th birthday and found we had not been upgraded to a suite. However, the staff did sort this out and moved us. We were then extremely disappointed to find that the sister hotel was completely closed for renovation and therefore our only choice for evening meal was the very formal restaurant or room service. Travelling with children and not feeling like the fancy food on offer, we opted for room service - which was pretty average. I was particularly disappointed with the "Chips and a Selection of Dips" which turned out to be chips with 3 jars of Heinz sauces!

The fold awau sofa bed was broken and my daughter had to sleep on the floor. The glass shelves in the bathroom are not fixed in place - we managed to break one as I opened the shower curtain and caught the corner of the shelf.

It was incredibly noisy - both from the upstairs room (you could hear every step) to an intermittent mechanical noise which lasted all night. I mentioned this to reception in the morning and was told yes, that was the boiler!

There was a dirty towel left in the bath of our room when we arrived and one of the wine glasses was dirty and clearly unwashed. Also the mini bar was empty.

The TV remote control had dead batteries (we guess) as it only worked when held a few inches from the screen.

We used the pool, but the jacuzzi was broken and the spa was nothing special.

The staff at breakfast were pleasant and efficient, but breakfast itself was average. The reception staff were efficient and polite, but not especially friendly.

All in all, what was planned to be a special occasion treat for my wife's 40th birthday turned out to be extremely disappointing. The hotel clearly relies on it's stunning location, but has nothing else to recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holdenute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2009

We spent three wonderful nights at this top hotel. Huge room with our own sauna! Plus outstanding views. Very warm, comfortable, friendly, excellent food. What a fabulous way to spend an anniversary, or any special time really. Desperately want to return-so here's hoping we will be back in 2010.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Patty061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2009

Stayed here for one night in the Carter suite for my wife’s birthday, we had heard great reviews of this hotel and we were not disappointed.


The hotel is split into 2 areas, the main hotel, restaurant, reception, etc and the newer part with the leasure facilitates. The hotel is sited on the shores of Loch Lomond, and has the most attractive views. The small village of Luss is a stones throw away for local shop and a nice walk.

After an effortless check in we made our way to the suite. It was lovely, well laid out in a ‘lodge’ style. The bathroom was open plan, with twin sinks a nice big deep bath. There is also a sauna!, which was superb!.

The main living area has some very comfy leather sofas and a nice plasma TV which has sky HD and a blue ray player. There is an ample balcony overlooking the quite stunning scenery of Loch Lomond and the surrounding country side.

Through the big double doors into the bedroom there is a very big double bed, and another plasma TV which you can also watch sky in bed, which was a very nice touch!.

On the bed were 2 gorgeous teddies with Santa hats on, thought about buying one for my daughter, then saw the price tag and thought better of it, still they were great company and a nice touch!

We had dinner in the main restaurant which was superb, well presented and very tasty, certainly lives up to its 4 * rating. Breakfast in the morning was buffet with a wide variety on offer, and was mouth watering one of the best breakfasts I have had in any hotel.

There is spa facilities, but we didn’t use them, as we were enjoying our room so much!. I did pop my head over and had a peek through the window and it looks great!. My only minor quibble(s) with the room, is the big blue double doors ? into the bedroom, I though wasted the look, and the 11 am check out, while we were not rushed, we did have one eye on the clock in the morning.

All in all quite superb, and we will be back next year for another stay!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigdel5412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2009

Stayed for four nights in this quality hotel. Staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. We had a room overlooking the Loch - beautiful view no matter what the weather - We were very grateful for the help received from Tony in reception when he gave us help in getting our car fixed nothing was to much trouble for him many thanks for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kdtrvav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2009

We have just returned from a 2 night break (to attend a wedding). We stayed in one of the Munro rooms which had amazing views over the loch (as did the restaurant/bar area). The rooms are modern and spacious, which is a bonus when you are travelling with kids! Staff were extrememly helpful and friendly, they attended to a minor room request within minutes.
The food was superb and the atmosphere really relaxing. Would highly recommend this hotel !

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny123London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2009

The minute you arrive at the hotel, you are made to feel very welcome. The Staff are very pleasent and friendly. There is also someone available to carry your luggage to your room if required too! The hotel is warming and the relaxed friendly atmosphere is there - a must for chilling out! The rooms are very spacious, comfortable and very clean. You have your own wee fridge and private sauna as well as a balcony overlooking the Loch, what more could you ask for! We come here to get away from the stresses of work - and this can be achieved here very easliy. I would also recommend bringing a good pair of walking shoes and a wooley jumper etc, as you will most certainly want to take a good walk and soak up the beautiful scenery of the area. Why not also have a wee visit to The Amber Spa, which is located within the hotel, here you can enjoy the spa facilities available. Also there is the added oppertunity to visit (chargeable - but very reasonable) The Haven, where the staff here are very nice and I can recommend the back, neck and shoulders massage is an excellent way of rounding off a fantastic stay!.....We'll be back!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romantical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luss
6.4 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
0.3 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
8.5 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
8.0 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
552 reviews
8.2 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on Loch Lomond

Address: Route A82, Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8PA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Luss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Luss
Price Range: £112 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge on Loch Lomond 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Lodge on Loch Lomond Hotel stands on a quiet sandy cove amid some of Scotland's most stunning scenery. With panoramic views of the Loch and mountains it offers a warm, relaxing atmosphere, delicious modern cuisine from the award winning 2 AA rosette restaurant Colquhoun's, stunning accommodation, including rooms with en-suite saunas and loch view private balconies, and a luxury health suite with sauna, steam room jacuzzi and swimming pool. Perfectly located to explore Scotland, from cities to Highlands ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Lodge on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On Loch Lomond Hotel Luss
Hotel On Loch Lomond
On Loch Lomond Luss
Loch Lomond Lodge
Lodge On Loch Lomond Luss, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing