We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luss to the core ...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alderdale Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alderdale Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 8 Luss B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Luss to the core ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 days at Alderdale to attend the Luss Highland Games ... located up the main road from the pier it is in an ideal location ... this is a small cottage but with up to the minute outfitting ... the hard working owners live two doors away and are always available ... the best restaurant in town is right next door and part of the same wonderful family! ... Looking forward to returning again and again ...

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    17
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
72
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Alderdale is a cozy little cottage with just two rooms of good size, spotless clean and comfy. Annelise welcomed us very friendly and was available whenever we needed something. For breakfast, everything is being provided in the room and for entertainment there are a lot of books and DVD's in the room.
Luss is a picturesque little village on the banks of Loch Lomond. Although Luss is a small, quiet place, there are several bars/restaurants for food and drink.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kornelia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
158 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights on the way up to the highlands. The rooms were of good size, immaculately clean and very comfortable. There is a continental style breakfast left in the room which was very generous. We never finished it all! Annelise had thought of everything with books, DVDs and lots of little touches. It's a quaint little house which is perfect for 2 couples. It's just a short walk to Loch Lomond, several hotels/bars, shops and there is a very nice cafe/restaurant next door.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lmlmlmjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

This B&B ticks all the boxes in regards to comfort, amenities, location, great value for money, and friendly, helpful owners. My husband and I stayed here to attend a wedding at a nearby venue. Annelise, the owner, was very accommodating in allowing us to arrive early to get changed in our room prior to the wedding. The room comes equipped with everything a guest might need - hairdryer, straightening irons, sewing kit, books, DVDs and games, and the extensive continental breakfast in the morning was just perfect! We would highly recommend it!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank BAST2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed here very for the weekend of valentines for my birthday and was very lucky that they were not only vacant but extremely reasonably priced! I normally always get hit with extortionate prices because my bday falls at peak time! Anyway we got there and was greeted by Annalise who was very nice explained everything to us and provided us with breakfast in the morning. The room was lovely so cosy in a beautiful cottage very romantic and right in the centre of luss. Went for dinner at the Loch Lomond arms hotel very nice also! All in all had a wonderful time and would defo be back! P.s if your with friends book the other half of the cottage.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kateymac15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Great little cottage in Luss, We booked the 2 rooms for our extended party at the weekend. One of the best sleeps ever from a B & B. Continental breakfast meant you did not have to get up early for a breakfast after a late night out.
Made even better that we had our own space but still shared the property with friends. Very clean and well stocked with games etc. for entertainment.
Next door to the local Village Rest - restaurant & only a few yards from one of the village hotels & bars.
I would recommend this property to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaunbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West, UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed 2 nights in this very nice accommodation. All clean and refurbished with some nice touches such as DVDs, books and games. The furnishings were nice with an occasional touch of luxury. The room being one half of a cottage (with a shared porch - so great for friends who wanted to rent the whole cottage) did feel more than just a room.
The owner lives nearby and was very helpful and friendly, she was available without being intrusive. I had had some reservations about the cold breakfast but I needn't have. The breakfast was great, varied and plentiful and really did set one up for the whole day! It was nice to take your time and sit in the window looking out over the field and trees opposite whilst having breakfast. The owner was very happy to provide for dairy free, and gluten free diets (just give some notice in advance).
Luss is a beautiful (small) place and this cottage is well placed next to the Village Rest (not noisy), and 100 yards from the Loch Lomond Arms in one direction and the pier on the loch in the other.
It’s also an easy walk to the Lodge on Loch Lomond. There is no problem parking your car on the road across from the cottage.
I would happily recommend and I hope to stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: Two separate ensuite rooms in the cottage with a shared porch. Both looked very similar in quality a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCBNorthWest_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luss
0.3 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
0.1 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
6.2 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Culag Lochside Guest House
0.0 mi away
Glenview Luss - Self Catering and Bed & Breakfast
3.2 mi away
The Inn on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alderdale Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alderdale Bed & Breakfast

Property: Alderdale Bed & Breakfast
Address: Alderdale Cottage, Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8NY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Luss
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Luss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Alderdale Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alderdale Bed & Breakfast Luss, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing