We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful lunch in stylish surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Luss
Certificate of Excellence
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch in stylish surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Love the new look Loch Lomond Arms Hotel. Took lunch here the other day with my Mum, excellent game terreine and scallops and Black pudding...the sticky toffee pudding with caramel sauce and honey ice cream was to die for!! The service was excellent, with the staff and supervisor so helpful and friendly. We run a Boutique B&B in Helensburgh @ No.20 and will be recommending the LLAH to our guests for lunch, afternoon tea and dinner as well as returning ourselves with other family members. Well done to all the team.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatrionaK64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    152
    52
    30
    17
See reviews for
129
336
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Just spend two wonderful days at this hotel and have nothing but praise for the new set up. It is obvious that they have spent big money on the changes they have made. The restaurant was excellent on both nights. The breakfast filled us up for the day, and the bed was the most comfortable we have ever had the pleasure of sleeping on. The first time we stayed at this establishment was when it was the Colquohoun Arms and we were on honeymoon (49 years ago) the second time was 19 years ago and it had gone down hill. That trend has certainly been reversed and we will definitely be back soon. Well worth the trip from Newcastle.

Room Tip: Try the Colquohoun Room for a quiet and very comfortable nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenock
Level Contributor
149 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

My wife and I visited Luss today and ventured into the newly refurbished Loch Lomond Arms Hotel . We wern,t residents but went in for a coffee and scone and sat at the rear in the beer garden. The hotel has a very homely and friendly feel to it and the bar staff were were welcoming and friendly. Being a smoker I opted for the beer garden under a huge heated parasol. We ordered coffee and scones which, when they arrived, we were delighted with the huge freshly baked monsters with separate dishes for butter, jam and a large dollop of fresh cream. The coffee was very good, large cups and freshly ground. The total price for this afternoon treat was £4 each for a coffee and scone, excellent value. There is also a very varied and reasonably priced menu and the smells coming from the kitchen were particularly appetising, we will be back. The hotel is situated on the main road in Luss and there is ample free parking at both sides of the hotel. I think that this is a hotel that we would like to return to and stay for a night or two

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeeggGreenock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights for a quick break away in Scotland. Luss is a lovely village and this hotel has been wonderfully refurbished. We had a double room with a bath, with a view over towards the loch. The room was spotlessly clean.

The food and service in the restaurant were fantastic. The staff there were very friendly and showed a personal level of service, even remembering what we had had to drink the night before.

Over all our experience here was great, the only thing that spoilt our stay a little was the waitress at breakfast one morning. I don't recall her name, but she was tall, slim and wore glasses. Quite a few guests had arrived for breakfast at the same time and she greeted us all by visibly rolling her eyes and sighing then walked off with no explanation, leaving us all standing there feeling a bit awkward: a few knowing looks were exchanged between the guests while we waited! Thankfully when she came back it was with the manageress who was so lovely and rescued the situation really efficiently, with a great sense of humour and no fuss.

Other than that, it really was a perfect stay. I'd definitely return to this hotel. It's so lovely and in such a beautiful part of the world and so close to Glasgow too. I have already recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C8898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

Had a few drinks in here last night and was most impressed with the manageress and here attitude .We sat in the bar and commented about how much the place had changed since it was revamped and then she showed us around the new rooms .The bar and hotel look great and the staff were great , we did not stay the night but will next time we are in luss .Lovely hotel !

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

Was in the hotel a month or so ago and it was fabulous, done up lovely, loved the log fire made me very cosy, food was one of the best meals a have every had for starters a had fish cake which was very tasty and for mains a had a sea food mixed grill which is the best a have every had loved the place so much that we will be back soon, only thing that a didn't like was we had to wait on our cutlery when our starters were out and the waiters were hanging about the bar laughing and joking.

Room Tip: Room are fab big comfy beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LochLomondArmsHotel, Public Relations Manager at Loch Lomond Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Our seafood mixed grill is very popular so I'm pleased you like this dish, and your other choices. I hope to see you back again soon, and we will do our best to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

Recently had dinner at this hotel and it was super. There were no rooms available but well worth stopping off for dinner. The Manager was very professional and staff in general were very helpful. There is a good choice of food on the menu. .

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Countrybutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LochLomondArmsHotel, Public Relations Manager at Loch Lomond Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and we are pleased you had a good dinner. Next time, don't forget to book ahead if you would like a room too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luss
0.3 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
6.2 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
10.5 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
8.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
8.0 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Lomond Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Lomond Arms Hotel

Property: Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Address: Main Road, Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8NY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Luss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Luss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Lomond Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional inn situated in the heart of one of Scotland's loveliest villages, Luss, just 24 miles from Glasgow within the Loch Lomond National Park. This beautiful Loch Lomond hotel remains true to its tradition as an 18th century village inn but with the comfort and facilities of a modern hotel. The hotel has 14 individually designed bedrooms, a bar and restaurant, as well as a weddings and events suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Loch Lomond Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel Luss, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing