We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Luss
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland , England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Popped in here for a drink on a coach stop
Was great atmosphere
Reasonably priced
Could have stayed for longer but our time ran out as it was just a 45 minute stop
Overall great place
Clean and polite staff eager to please

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    149
    52
    31
    17
See reviews for
127
338
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Loch Lomond Arms Hotel, Luss.

I stayed here for one night in February 2014 with a couple of colleagues on a business visit to nearby Dumbarton. In essence, everything about the hotel was first rate. The decor, the rooms the bed, the furniture were all spotlessly clean, well maintained and comfortable. The walk-in drench shower was a real treat too.

We didn’t have our evening meal here, so can’t comment. However breakfast the next day was absolutely first rate, with full, generous portions perfectly prepared.

The restaurant, bar area has a lovely homely ambience, and I imagine it’s a fab place to send a romantic weekend or just catching up with old friends.

It’s not difficult to see why the Loch Lomond Arms Hotel books up months in advance for the Summer season. Unreservedly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HongKongFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

A listed building that has been upgraded to the highest standard using the best of materials. Our room was delightful and even had a view of the loch. Staff are attentive and helpful without being obtrusive. The food is excellent. Oysters, pan roasted breast of wood pigeon and a wide variety of cheese made a delicious evening meal. Also,do try the catch of the day,you will not be disappointed.
We will certainly return.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EAHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Spent Easter Sunday in the hotel on an overnight break. The hotel looks great from the outside, and Luss is a lovely, quaint wee village - but I don't think I'll be back to the hotel.

Pros
Beautiful location
Clean and well presented throughout (bar/restaurant, communal areas)
Rooms are tastefully decorated and spacious (we were in a standard double but it was good size)

Cons
Check in: guy who showed us to our room was pleasant enough, and checked us in fine. However when he showed us to our room he said something along the lines of "this is no Lodge on the Loch"...which I thought was a bit strange

Dinner: restaurant staff were polite enough, but almost robotic and didn't seem to care about the service they were giving as long as they continued to say please and thank you.

Dinner: The starter, main and dessert I wanted were out of stock, as were two different types of Sauvignon Blanc (ended up drinking vodka with dinner). The main my partner wanted was also out of stock. I appreciate this was a holiday weekend, but the menu isn't huge - they really should have stocked it better.

Dinner: There were dead bugs floating in my coffee (although they waiter did take this off my bill without issue)

Dinner: Restaurant was overcrowded with a small table beneath the fireplace just taking up unnecessary space. Had this been removed, there would have been far more room - and it would have avoided the staff and other diners' stomachs/rear ends dragging along out table when trying to squeeze past.

Room: Just bad luck I guess - but our room was really hot (it was a warm weekend) and there was no air conditioning or fans

Room: Pillows and bed were exceptionally soft, but again - this is just not my preference

Check Out: Both the receptionist serving me and a waitress from the breakfast room stood together talking about iPhones whilst I was in the middle of being served...not great service!


All in - the hotel itself is lovely, but in my opinion a tad pricey for what you get. The experience in the restaurant massively let us down though and the general service we received. We won't be back - and in future I'll pay a bit more to go to Cameron House or something!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FT87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We went here for food and were quite disappointed with the service. The hotel was lovely and the setting was beautiful. We arrived at 16.15 and asked for menus, but were told they were not serving the menu, just soup and sandwiches. We wanted dinner so declined the soup and sandwiches, but ordered drinks. The waiter was friendly and pleasant but not very efficient. He had to return to check what four drinks we had ordered because he forgot. We then waited over twenty minutes for the drinks to arrive. Several members of staff were walking about but no one brought our drinks. We were contemplating leaving when the first waiter came to ask us if we wanted to order anything! At first we thought he was joking, we told him we had ordered drinks. We then received our drinks. By this time it was nearly 17.00 and we were all hungry so we just ordered soup and sandwiches.

These were lovely, but unfortunately my husband's soup never arrived. We only received three of the four soups. There were no staff available to ask as they all seemed to disappear, so my husband just ate his sandwich and decided he didn't want to wait any longer for the soup. We then realised other tables had full menus, we later found out this was available from 17.00. I find it disappointing that the waiter knew we wanted the full menu and told us that this was not available, I would have thought that since it was nearly 17.00 before we got our drinks he could have told us the menu would soon be available.

There was no staff to ask for the bill so we went to the bar to pay. We had to tell the staff what we ordered as they don't seem to use any table number system (twice we had the wrong food brought to us and our drinks were taken to another table). When we told the bar staff that we ordered four soups but only got three she did not seem surprised at all. She didn't apologise, we weren't given a bill, so I had to double check that we had not been charged for the fourth soup.

Lovely hotel, lovely food when we got it, but service let it down and I don't think I would return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marzipan8804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This is a lovely hotel, well worth a visit. The bedrooms are first class,very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was great, plenty of choice and very tasty. It is in the beautiful village of Luss, with the banks of Loch Lomond about 2 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowGirl1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Our second stay, chose to stay again in the four poster bedroom: not cheap, but a very comfortable and well appointed room with a reasonable view. We had dinner and breakfast, and found the standard of food very good with a good range on offer all cooked to a high standard BUT were very unimpressed with the service. Our welcome was over friendly, being given too much personal detail by the receptionist; and mistakes were made by the serving staff and the kitchen staff during both of our meals - items omitted or delivered incorrectly, and by staff who really did not seem too concerned about the poor service. Having gone again because we liked it so much previously, we would think twice about a further visit after this experience.

Room Tip: We had the four poster on both of our visits: it's a large room with an excellent bathroom (free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 321Roger123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luss
0.3 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
6.2 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
10.5 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
8.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
8.0 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Lomond Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Lomond Arms Hotel

Property: Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Address: Main Road, Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8NY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Luss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Luss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Lomond Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional inn situated in the heart of one of Scotland's loveliest villages, Luss, just 24 miles from Glasgow within the Loch Lomond National Park. This beautiful Loch Lomond hotel remains true to its tradition as an 18th century village inn but with the comfort and facilities of a modern hotel. The hotel has 14 individually designed bedrooms, a bar and restaurant, as well as a weddings and events suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Loch Lomond Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel Luss, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing