We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service Spoiled the Meal” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loch Lomond Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Luss
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire. England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Service Spoiled the Meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Booked a meal in this hotel whilst visiting the area. The food was of a good standard but the service was very very slow. We had to ask for everything and it all seemed a bit disorganised which really spoiled the occasion. Other diners were experiencing the same problems. Not good when the prices paid were quite expensive to say you are eating in a bar area.
To end on a positive the food as I said was good and well presented. It was clear that the chef aims to provide well thought out meals. The bar itself is well stocked with many draft beers and lagers.
Bit disappointed as this could of been a much better experience however if I am in the area again I probably would give it another try.

Room Tip: Plan plenty of time for your meal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redcote9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    147
    51
    29
    16
See reviews for
126
331
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleator, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We were greeted by the most amazing view of a Rainbow from our bedroom window - a sure sign things were going to be excellent. The hotel staff were all very pleasant and happy to help with our needs. We were there for a family wedding and the venue was wonderful. They gave us a private room for the evening so that we could all eat together and talk through fine details for the big day. James the meeter and greeter was also the piper for the wedding (Well done James)The wedding went beautifully being quietly guided by the staff and we had a fabulous time trying to do Scottish Dancing............

Lets get back to the hotel ...the décor is lovely with traditional flagged floors, old mixed up worn tables and big floppy sofas all make for a cosy bar/dining area the colour scheme is just what I like. There are tables and chairs outside to soak up the Scottish sunshine too (yes we had some).
Our bedroom was in the attic ( I love an attic room) done in William Morris prints with the odd touch of tartan it was very cosy/clean/perfect. Other members of the family were in an annexe block which was equally lovely. Clean and crisp neat tidy and a lovely new, well it seemed to be, lovely furnishings in shabby chic style with soft checked woollen blankets and cushions.

The food was pretty good too all in all a fantastic time was had and we will most definitely return to the bonny bonny banks of Loch Lomond.

Room Tip: the attic room was a bit on the warm side so maybe request the annexe or a lower level room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

i will start by saying I think my experience of this hotel was a one off happening or I would like to think that, I was staying at the nearby lodge on the loch hotel for 4 nights and thought we would change the pattern and dine at this hotel one of the evenings so booked for 7.30 and arrived about 6.50 with the intension of having a drink in the bar area while looking through the menu but was shocked to be told there was no room in there half empty bar and would have to go out to the beer garden so no problem except that it is like a outdoor ice cream joint then after 10 mins with still no waiter i went inside and asked could I sit at a free table in the corner to be told that was not possible due to an electrical fault then I asked was it ok to sit at the bar for to get the biggest shock when told this was not possible, while looking round to see if this was all a wind up I noticed the duty manager hiding behind the waiter who at first had told us there was no room, neither was able to answer any of my questions so my wife and myself left went back to our hotel and had another great dining experience, after our meal I received a call asking why I not turned up for my meal so after telling this person what I thought of his hotel made an appointment with him to speak with the duty manager the next morning, Valeria was sorry for the misunderstanding but could not explain what the misunderstanding was and offered me a free lunch or evening meal which had to be turned down as we were leaving that morning, to make it even more of a joke there is a notice outside the hotel saying it was awarded bar of the year 2014 I would hate to have a drink in the bar which came second (Don Hunt july 2014)

Room Tip: avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Absolutely beautiful accommodation. Luxury touches in the large bedroom. Had the best nights sleep in the comfortable bed. Staff were friendly and informative. The pub had great atmosphere and the food was good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrissieGirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We found this hotel to be excellent. Our room was fantastic, large, clean and comfortable. The bathroom had been modernised with good quality fittings.
The staff were always helpful and friendly.
We ate at the restaurant and found the food good and also good value.
I would recommend this accomodation.

Room Tip: Ask for the king size bed and walk in shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Had a lovely 3 days as part of the commonwealth games. We stayed in the bridal suite which was fantastic. Despite having to be out early in the day and return late, we were always welcomed warmly and looked after. We had dinner on one night which was very good and managed to enjoy quite a selection of the whiskeys.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grahamhp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We were visiting the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow and chose this hotel because the hotels in the city centre were charging ridiculous amounts for their hotel rooms and also thought that it would give us an opportunity to see part of Loch Lomond.We were not disappointed.We were welcomed warmly by the receptionist.As our flight to Glasgow was an early one our room was not ready she arranged that housekeeping would make sure that they sorted our room out as early as possible.We were then encouraged to have a coffee in the bar which is cosy and inviting.The staff could not have been more helpful.Our room was tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean.It faced the main road but noise was minimal and we had a great night's sleep.We had booked dinner in the restaurant and again service was excellent.The food was delicious and both the steak and lamb were cooked to perfection.We were given excellent advice by the staff on travelling to the Games-nothing was too much trouble.On the day we left a wedding was taking place in the hotel but the staff coped admirably with no disruption to the hotel guests.The Citylink and Megabus bus stops are conveniently situated a couple of minutes away.Thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mair552070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luss
0.3 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
6.2 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
10.5 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
8.0 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
19.2 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Lomond Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Lomond Arms Hotel

Property: Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Address: Main Road, Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8NY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Luss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Luss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Lomond Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional inn situated in the heart of one of Scotland's loveliest villages, Luss, just 24 miles from Glasgow within the Loch Lomond National Park. This beautiful Loch Lomond hotel remains true to its tradition as an 18th century village inn but with the comfort and facilities of a modern hotel. The hotel has 14 individually designed bedrooms, a bar and restaurant, as well as a weddings and events suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Loch Lomond Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel Luss, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing