We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful home!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Strone Luss
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Strone Luss
Large dining room with seating for 12 inside and opens to outdoor dining area Extensive Gardens
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
The Strone Luss
Large dining room with seating for 12 inside and opens to outdoor dining area
Extensive Gardens
The Strone Luss Loch Lomond Welcome
The Strone Loch Lomond Bathroom 1, Victorian style and en suite to bedroom 1
Loch Lomond national park
The Strone Loch Lomond Entrance
The Strone Holiday Let Loch Lomond
Holiday Cottage Loch Lomond kitchen
Holiday Cottage Loch Lomond master bathroom
The Strone 5 star holiday let
The Strone Twin Room
The Strone Master Bedroom
The Strone En Suite
The Strone King Room
The Strone Lounge
The Strone King Room
The Strone En Suite
The Strone Dining Room
The Strone Kitchen
Lounge
The Strone Twin Bedroom
Exterior
Family Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LyndsM0
Strathaven, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A beautiful home!”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have just returned from a few nights at The Strone. What a beautiful home with everything you could ask for. It was ideal for a young baby and all our needs were catered for. Ideally located in the middle of Luss and only a short walk to the wonderful scenery of the loch. Highly recommend for young families! We loved it and look forward to another visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It felt like a home away from home!
Liked least: Going home!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james m
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The most amazing holiday rental I've ever stayed in.”
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I have hired a great many holiday cottages, cabins, apartments in various places but, undoubtedly, The Strone has been my favourite. It's the sort of place that makes you want to weep when you return to your own home. It's beautifully decorated, unbelievably well equipped and spotlessly clean. A very minor criticism was that the wifi wasn't great everywhere in the house but really that's the only thing I could find any fault with. I'm hoping to be back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful property
Liked least: Wifi signal
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2015
Thanks for the kind words and really happy you had a good time. The war with the wifi and the thick walls goes on but we will win in the end.
Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajwyld
France
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“stunning place for a family weekend”
Reviewed 11 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We were a large family party celebrating my parent's golden wedding (the wine on ice in their bathroom when we arrived was a lovely touch). The location is fantastic, a short walk from Luss pier, and the cottage itself is fantastic, beautifully decorated and comfortable throughout, with high-end fixtures and fittings. Although we were 10 (3 couples, plus 4 teenagers) we never felt crowded as everyone had their own space. The kitchen was wonderful and we were even able to bbq in the garden, despite a light drizzle. HIghly recommended - one of the best vacation rentals I have stayed in.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: En famille élargie
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda C
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 28 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This is luxury well equipped cottage with everything you could possibly need. Spacious clean and has selection of bikes for every family member also canoe and large secluded garden with barbecue and outdoor furniture on sunny patio with short walk to Luss pier for boat trips.Also short walk to pub and local bistro. Super coffee machine and overall excellent holiday accommodation!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mel R
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic place for staying with a group of friends - the best!”
Reviewed 1 May 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed as part of group of 8 people to celebrate a significant birthday. The hosts are absolutely fantastic, with nothing being too much trouble, very welcoming. The house itself is decorated to a very high standard and had loads of space to accomodate everyone. A lovely large dining room was fantastic for sociable meal times, made easy by a fantastic kitchen that has all mod cons. In the evenings, the large sitting room/lounge has a welcoming wood burning stove and is a lovely place to be. The village of Luss is idyllic - the shores of Loch Lomond are just a short walk from the house with some of the best views in the world! There is a Canadian type canoe available at the property for use by guests, I was very keen to try but others in the party not quite so - a little understanding since it was frosty at the time! In the summer it would be great fun though. There are also bicycles available too, though again weather was a bit chilly at the time. There are a couple of local restaurant choices we tried the are very close by - The Village Rest, (excellent) and the Loch Lomond Arms Hotel (also excellent), which has a bar and restaurant. We all really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend The Strone to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, style and comfort
Liked least: Not being able to stay longer!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zara S
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great find, great stay!”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Stayed at the strone for a midweek break, there were 6 of us....cottage more than provided all we needed. The welcome was so lovely, candles lit, log burner lit, a welcome basket and yummy cupcakes....so wonderful to find a holiday home at this level that this lovely family are happy to share the village was so lovely and friendly too...
We will be back, thank you for sharing with us

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from home, so lovely and comfortable
Liked least: no faults
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith W
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic house for a group holiday”
Reviewed 3 April 2015 for a stay in January 2015

I stayed at the Strone as part of a party of 8 adults. The house accommodated us all very comfortably. It is decorated to a high standard and well-equipped with all home comforts, as well as having a number of nice touches such as a coffee machine, wine cooler and X-Box. The layout, with a large centrally-located kitchen and adjacent large dining room, is very sociable. There is a decent-sized, private garden, with parking for 3 or 4 cars. The house is situated on a quiet lane 2 minutes' walk from Luss Pier, and close to several places to eat and drink and a well-stocked shop for provisions. I wouldn't hesitate to go back the next time I stay at Loch Lomond; it's one of the best holiday homes I have stayed at in Scotland.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing