We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room rate” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn on Loch Lomond

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn on Loch Lomond
Ranked #5 of 8 Luss B&B and Inns
Stockport
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Room rate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

I am booked in for October, this will be our second visit to the hotel after we loved it so much last year.
I booked in advance and asked for the best rate and was given a room only rate and told there was no B&B rate. I also had to pay the fully amount there and then! This week I discover that there is in fact a new cheaper B&B rate available the same night !! And in fact their is a DBB rate only £10pp more expensive. I called the hotel and was very surprised to find that they refused to help the rate! I don't expect them to give it me cheaper but as a return ing guest I thought maybe they `d throw in breakfast !!! But no ! They want me to pay the extra for breakfast which would work out around £5 less that the DBB rate, disappointed in the hotel! Would cancel but they have my money already and would keep 25% in a cancellation free !! Pity as its a fantastic hotel with fish and chips to return for .... Oh we are.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaxpck10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at The Inn on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for posting your comments on trip advisor, I would apologise for the confusion regarding the rate and would ask that you contact me at nigel.bird@loch-lomond.co.uk and I will be only too happy to rectify the situation.
I look forward to hearing from you.
Kind regards
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    446
    309
    138
    67
See reviews for
175
952
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Spent an overnight at this inn recently.Superb view of loch Lomond from our room.Room was clean and well appointed.The Staff were attentive and seemed to know their jobs. Dinner was satisfactory without being excellent.The cost of the meal was higher than I would have expected.The entertainer in the bar after dinner (Robert Carmichael) was outstanding.
All in all the location (apart from the view) is rather over priced for what it is in my opinion.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LMBEastKilbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in April for a friends wedding and couldn't fault it. The rooms were reasonable although the 3 couples that stayed all paid different prices which was quite random but overall we all had a great time.

I then returned in September for some lunch with my sister and my 10 month old baby. The service by the young waitress was good but the rest of the staff on duty were not the friendliest bunch. There was a man doing work on his laptop and (as babies do a lot of the time) my daughter was crying. The man got up and left which wasn't the issue, the issue was the other staff member on her break who loudly commented 'can you not concentrate because of that noise', as we were the only customers in I assume that noise was my daughter? Well please let me apologise for giving you my custom on that day and in turn PAYING YOUR WAGES!!!!

I should have left there and then but made the mistake of ordering food which was awful - the Thai penne pasta with a coconut sauce was very misleading. Maybe you should call it penne with a mushroom sauce and peppers thrown in for good measure?

To be honest the food probably wouldn't have been as bad if the whole experience hadn't been ruined by that rude cleaner!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenMcD1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at The Inn on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to place your review on trip advisor and I was most concerned to read your comments following your recent visit to the inn. I would like to apolgise for any embarrassment that was cused and can only assure you that it was not meant to cause offence.The inn is normally extremely family and children friendly and a large part of our custom is indeed family based. I have discussed all your comments with the team to ensure this never happens again. Once again thank you for bringing this matter to my attention.
Kind regards
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We spent 3 nights here and found all the staff (reception, restaurant, bar and housekeepers) very, very welcoming, friendly and helpful. We were travelling with our dog and even he was well looked after (and fussed over). The location is great with the shores of the loch literally a minutes walk away and our room had a decent view of both the loch and Ben Lomond. Even though our dog is rather boisterous they still managed to find us a table in the bar where we could eat without disturbing other guests. The food was excellent as well, real 'chippy' chips and all well prepared with generous portions. Would definately stay there again if travelling that way.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveGill59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at The Inn on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for such a fabulous review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.I have passed your comments on to my team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Very welcoming staff, picturesque location good restaurant a thoroughly pleasant stay and not in any way expensive for the service food and room quality. WI FI service non existent so don't think you can do any on line work on an evening !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John_D186394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at The Inn on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for your kind review and I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us.I have passed your comments on to my team.
Kind regards
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed for 1 night in the beach house all I can say is this place was amazing, Great views peace and tranquillity, Had a meal in the main hotel which was great, sandy the waiter barman manager was also a very nice person, pluses sky hd in the room, wine glasses, great shower and bath with beautiful shower gels, views to die for, very comfy bed, plenty of space, Minuses only booked for 1 night
will definitely be going back loved every minute

Room Tip: Room 303 amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boblfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at The Inn on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Wow!! what a fabulous review and thank you for taking the time to place your comments on trip advisor. With a new management team firmly in place now it is encouraging that our standards of service and hospitality are back where they should be.A great new autumn menu starts this monday and is a guaranteed winner. I look forward to welcoming you back to the inn.
Kind regards
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

My family and I (two kids...10 mon and 2.5 yrs old) stayed here for one night in Aug 2013. The Inn was very easy to find. Right off the main road. The inn is situated right across from loch Lomond. Very beautiful area. The room was nice and they had put a cot in the room at no extra charge (for our 2.5 yr old). The bed was very comfy and quite large for an inn room. The restaurant at the inn was cozy and served a decent menu. They had a good childrens menu and good food and drinks for the adult. Service was good and staff were friendly. Would def stay here again if we are in the area! Only suggestion would be to put a hair dryer in the room as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjdj82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at The Inn on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
I am delighted to read from your review that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found everything to your satisfaction.I have passed your comments on to my team.
Kind regards
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luss
2.9 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
3.2 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
9.4 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
12.0 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
4.9 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Loch Lomond

Property: The Inn on Loch Lomond
Address: Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8PD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Luss
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Luss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn on Loch Lomond 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary Inn offers beautiful, rustic accommodation, a new wave fish restaurant and stunning lounge. The eat-in/take-away restaurant uses only the best of local produce. An impressive bar stocks quality local real ales and over 200 malts selected from the top whiskey regions in Scotland. Set back on the main A82, three miles north of Luss, the Inn is a perfect place to stop for food, drink or a relaxing overnight stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your The Inn on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Inverbeg Hotel Luss
Inverbeg Inn
Inverbeg Hotel
The Inn On Loch Lomond Luss, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing