We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn on Loch Lomond
Ranked #5 of 7 Luss B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Overnight break”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Our daughter bought an overnight stay for my wife and i as a gift.We were not sure what to expect but no worry at this hotel as we were made so welcome at reception.The room we were given was in the new annex was spacious with a terrific view over Loch Lomond,
Dinner and breakfast were most enjoyable as lovely cooked.After dinner we went through to the bar for a few drinks in the most relaxing and friendly atmosphere.
When we got back home i realised i had lost a store card,i phoned the reception at The Inn and the pleasant guy at reception[wished i could remember his name]said he would ask the housekeepers if i left it in the room.I got a call back later on in the day and was told he would post on the card card to our home address.
The great care taken to guest's at the hotel is much appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrAlan07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C, Sales Manager at The Inn on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Many thanks for your fantastic review and delighted your stay was relaxing and friendly, the team will be thoroughly encouraged by your very positive feedback and hope we can welcome you back sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    474
    321
    142
    67
See reviews for
182
998
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St Monans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Went here on a groupon deal with my husband. Staff were amazing - very helpful and chatty and we had an incredible meal with wine while we were there. The entertainment On the Wagon made our stay - the atmosphere was truly great - everybody joining in the singing with this talented duo. Only thing that lets this venue down is the place and the beach house looks unkempt and there were a few issues with the room which I wrote down and spoke to the manager about but because we had such a great time they weren't a big issue.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillbentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C, Sales Manager at The Inn on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thankyou for your review and delighted you found the hotel lovely even in the rain, as you say there is a great atmosphere at the weekends with the entertainment. We do hope to see you back sometime soon and promise some sunshine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My mum and I stayed here as a treat and we started by driving around the first part of Loch Lomond. The car park has some very steep bits so watch your handbrake and hill starts!
The Inn is very easy to find, I would say not to judge by appearances as it looks much more inviting once you walk in. The reception is straight ahead and between the bar and restaurant and we were dealt with quickly.
Our room was in the new annex, number 205... up quite a narrow steep set of stairs, along a maze of corridors and up another set of stairs but worth it. The room was spacious and new, with a huge bed and French doors looking out over the car park to the Loch.
The bathroom was lovely with underfloor heating and heated towel rail, and the shower neatly tucked in the corner.
There was minimal furniture and an inset with a clothes rail (a little high for someone of 5 ft), some basket drawers and tea/coffee facilities with bottled water too. Also an ironing board and iron, fan and full sized hair dryer provided.
Decent sized TV on the wall, just 5 channels but we were there for the view and the peace.
Fire doors slamming a little noisy and folding beds in the hallway not so neat.
We ate in the restaurant and the menu is average price (£9.95 for haddock and chips, £12.95 for swiss burger)... although the fish cakes didn't come with any sides, just a little celeriac coleslaw (for £12.95 expected a side salad and chips maybe?).
I am gluten free and not given much option from the first waiter but the second one who brought our food was much more accommodating. The atmosphere was lovely and the food was of an excellent standard.
Breakfast was the usual continental buffet and Full Scottish on order. Good selection of fruits and cereals. Hot water and coffee in urns, and no small pots provided so needed to make tea in individual cups, and milk in another large dispenser so not so easy making a cup of tea. It was a little strange seeing staff coming through to also get some milk (maybe they had ran out?)
I mentioned to the waitress about not having the sausages etc and asked if there were beans/mushrooms but was told "if it's not on the menu it's not available." Cooked breakfast was ok...one slice of bacon, one sausage, a quarter of a tomato, potato scone, an egg and a slice of haggis.
Staff were very friendly and we were helped down the stairs with our case which was a relief (should have asked going up!)
Lovely place to stay and great to go for a drive around the loch too.

I don't know if they had a lift; if potential guests have problems with stairs I would suggest it's not the place to stay.

Room Tip: The new annex has newer, fresher and possibly larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C4TMKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C, Sales Manager at The Inn on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your review and delighted you found the room lovely with great views and as you say the team are very friendly. We shall work with your feedback and hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed two nights, young Sam checked us in very professionally with a welcoming smile and happy face just perfect to meet and greet, having said that all the staff apparently are hands on from waiting on, reception, cleaning etc. and they are an efficient and friendly team and this ethos obviously works. Our room was spotless, spacious, well appointed, warm and overlooked Loch Lomond and the Arrochar Alps. You are welcomed with an open fire in reception, also there is a modern wallmounted fire in the dining room and in the extended bar/dining room creating a lovely atmosphere. The hotel has been refurbished to high standards and the name has changed (at long last) from the Inn at Inverbeg to now making a clear statement - but please change the signs outside. We had no complaints about the food and the breakfast was excellent, good buffet choice, and the cooked breakfast was served piping hot. We would not hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swim12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C, Sales Manager at The Inn on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review and delighted you would not hestitate to come back for another stay, we have indeed changed the signage and shared your fabulous feedback with the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My Sisters & I purchased Groupon vouchers for this visit & when we couldn't get a Friday night decided to pay the extra £50 for Saturday night. When I arrived at my room there was a folding bed lying just inside the door & it looked as if housekeeping had began to prepare the room but left midway through. There were no toiletries & the little packs of biscuits were left lying on the extra bed. Minor problems which we ignored as we were only staying for one night. We went down for dinner & all four of us thoroughly enjoyed our choice of food. The evening was very pleasant especially since Robert Carmichael was the entertainment. We've stayed before when Robert was playing & as usual enjoyed his variety of music. The staff were pleasant & attentive & we noticed a few changes since our last visit mainly the table service for cooked breakfast. I'm sure we'll be
back with or without Groupon vouchers.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the loch view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C, Sales Manager at The Inn on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you so much for your review and delighted you enjoyed yet another lovely stay. Apologies for the few little niggles on arrival however glad to hear it didn't affect your overall experience. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We have eaten here several times in the last two years while on the long drive from the east coast of Scotland to the west or vice-versa. My comments are about the restaurant only as we have not stayed overnight.

The menu is plain sensible fare, fish and chips, steak pie, macaroni cheese, haggis and the like. Each time we've been, it has been well cooked, nicely presented, and swiftly served. The atmosphere is good and one can eat while sitting in comfortable leather armchairs, provided one can reach one's plate while sunk into their depths.

The portions are large. The other night my wife was given not one but two large fish for her fish and chips. Well, the plural of fish is fish, I suppose, but she had to leave some of it.

This is a quick, comfortable, unpretentious, pleasant place to eat. The prices are too high by international standards but no worse than most places in the UK these days.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nybor666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C, Sales Manager at The Inn on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Many thanks for your recent review on your dining experience, delighted you enjoyed the food, surroundings and service and have shared your positive feedback with the team. We hope to see you back when on your next travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I booked a night at The Inn through Groupon for £39, when booking online it asked if I would like a room with a view of the Loch which I did.We arrived and was quickly checked in. Our room was neat and tidy but the view was terrible. Wait for it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! the view was fine but the rain was so heavy we could see nothing.lol
Hotel was great and very warm and friendly, Dinner was excellent and portions were more than enough, breakfast was great and choice good. No complaints except the weather which I shall take up with the man upstairs. lol
Oh one thing, we were in room 105 next to the fire exit door which squeaks real loud when opened so maybe hotel should fix it as it did waken my wife a few times ( women eh ).

Room Tip: Dont take room 105 it is noisey in morning when guests leave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BONXIEMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C, Sales Manager at The Inn on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Many thanks for your recent review and glad to hear there were no complaints other than the weather, we hope you would come back again in the summer to see Loch Lomond at it's best. We shall look into the feedback on the squeaky door.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luss
3.0 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
3.2 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
9.4 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
440 reviews
7.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
11.9 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Loch Lomond

Property: The Inn on Loch Lomond
Address: Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8PD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Luss
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Luss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn on Loch Lomond 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary Inn offers beautiful, rustic accommodation, a new wave fish restaurant and stunning lounge. The eat-in/take-away restaurant uses only the best of local produce. An impressive bar stocks quality local real ales and over 200 malts selected from the top whiskey regions in Scotland. Set back on the main A82, three miles north of Luss, the Inn is a perfect place to stop for food, drink or a relaxing overnight stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Inn on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Inverbeg Hotel Luss
Inverbeg Inn
Inverbeg Hotel
The Inn On Loch Lomond Luss, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing