We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn on Loch Lomond
Ranked #5 of 7 Luss B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We booked for two nights and the first thing that struck me was that the hotel is not in Luss, it's in Inverbag (3 miles away). The room was comportable and clean. The food is more 'Pub' food than restaurant but I enjoyed the steak Pie and the Fish'n Chips. Unfortunately the smell of fish smell permiated the first floor at all times. My biggest dissapointment was the breakfast. Have had large portions for the evening meal I was looking forward to the 'Scottish' breakfast which turned out to be the smallest cooked breakfast I have ever had. How can you serve one quarter of a grilled tomato, one small rasher of bacon and one small sausage and an egg.

Room Tip: Not all the rooms have a view of the Loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anotherbroom38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C, Sales Manager at The Inn on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your recent review however sincere apologies that overall you found aspects of your stay to be disappointing. We have adjusted the address detail on the website to remove the mention of Luss and are currently working on the feedback for breakfast to ensure we get this sorted out asap. We do hope you would give us another opportunity in the future whereby we can demonstrate that our usual high standards are in place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    478
    325
    142
    68
See reviews for
185
1,007
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The location is and the rooms are big. That is the only good thing I found. Service is very much a luck of a draw. In the evening we had drinks before and after the dinner and the service was as good as it was during the dinner. Next morning different story, we had the worst breakfast ever!!! We order the same thing for two but they brought only for one, as we were waiting for nearly 45min to order at the beginning we just share the one. One couple gave up and left without eating. They were to busy opening and closing the windows !!!! By far our worst stay in Scotland.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dgreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C, Sales Manager at The Inn on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your recent review and that location and rooms were good however disappointed and so sorry to hear about the shortcomings during breakfast, we will of course look into the matter and put immediate steps in place to ensure this type of occurance does not happen again in the future. Please accept our sincere apologies and should you be back in the Loch Lomond area in the future please do make contact with me direct and I shall ensure we demonstrate that our usual high standards are back on track.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Just come back from a brilliant weekend at Inn on the loch!! We stayed in the beach house and it was beautiful!!! The rooms are very spacious, lovely views and tastefully decorated. We had 6 rooms and stayed dinner, bed and breakfast both nights. I can't fault the hotel at all. Food was lovely and the staff couldn't do enough for us. Daniel the manager was brilliant, even drove us down to Luss for our boat tour. Sam our waiter was equally lovely. Great value for money, cant recommend it enough. Thanks, we will be back!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouReilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C, Sales Manager at The Inn on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thankyou for your fab review and delighted to hear you had a fantastic hen weekend. Daniel and the team will be encouraged by your very positive feedback and we do indeed hope to see you all back at the hotel sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My Husband and I stayed in the Beach house for two nights in April (11th and 12th), with our Dog Brooke. We had a Fantastic weekend and plan to return very soon. We used to visit Loch Lomond regularly as relatives lived in Drymen, but didn't realise how much we missed the peace and scenery until our recent visit.
Our room over looked the Loch with the breathtaking views of the Mountains, it was clean and very comfortable, a good nights sleep guaranteed. On the Sunday morning we saw an otter on the loch side, what a treat and luckily Brooke kept her distance!
We dined at the 'Inn's' restaurant our first night and couldn't fault the food and service we received, we even tried the 'Scottish' fried Mars bar for the first time, it actually went down very well!
We had a trip down memory Lane and rediscovered Luss and Balloch. The Loch Lommond Stores at Balloch now has a 'Dug Cafe and Canine Boutique', a cafe that caters for you and your dog! Great idea, no more getting wet if it rains and the never ending cup of tea as it refills with the rain! Mind I have to say despite popular belief we hit all right with the weather, it only rained when we were inside not when we were out and about.
On our second night we dined at the Sister Hotel, 'The Lodge on The Loch', this was something special, again service and food excellent, the view out of this world. This hotel is more formal/sophisticated than the 'Inn' but still very relaxed. I had the steak and I can't remember when I have had better, it melted in the mouth.
The new jetty at the Lodge was being well used and apparently if you get married here you can arrive in style via speed boat! The jetty at the Inn was also put to use, we did witness a stag group dressed as 'The Musketeers' being transported by speed boat around the Loch, stopping off for refreshments, how novel!
We returned to the Inn on the second night after our meal as entertainment had been organised, a local singer/guitarist, which rounded the night off very well.
As guests of the Inn you can use the facilities, the swimming pool/spa ect, at the Lodge; which on this visit we didn't have enough time to fit in, but next time it will be the first port of call!

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to family and friends. Hope to be making a return trip soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janet_marley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C, Sales Manager at The Inn on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
What a fabulous review and so delighted to hear your comments and feedback - the teams at both The Inn and The Lodge will be encouraged and enthused and we do hope to welcome you back sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

booked this hotel for a stopover on the way home from holiday on Mull. Chosen for its conveinience of on the main highway from Oban to M6 and also for the peacefull and wonderfull scenery.I was travelling with husband,daughter, son in law and 10 month old grandson and booked two rooms both with views over the loch.On allocation of rooms I found our spacious double room with loch view was actually a narrow dark room at the back with a view of NOTHING except the leaky roof of the kitchen and a steep hill. the bathroom was spacious with separate bath and shower but water was lukewarm.As it was my husbands birthday, we went to the restaurant/bar for a meal.Fish and chips was highly recommended and most of us had this(mushy peas come as an extra). My husband ordered the works burger but when it came it had nothing on it and we had to send it back to have all the extras added. After clearing the table,we asked for a little break before deciding on puddings but no one came back so we retired to our rooms for an early night as we had an early start the next day.Unfortunately sleep was not to come for some time as loud music started up at 9pm and went on until midnight right below our room. It was so loud that our bed was bouncing! Breakfast the next day was ok. continental was good but cooked was poor. On checking out I mentioned the problems and was told that it was a problem with booking.coms room description and not the hotel, but he did offer me a small reduction in my bill as a goodwill gesture. Would probably not stay there again as view of loch is minimal and rooms very average for the price.

Room Tip: rooms at the front of hotel and in the new part of buiding have the view over carpark and loch and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelagh_e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C, Sales Manager at The Inn on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thankyou for your recent review however so sorry to hear of the disappointment with your room allocation, we will certainly look into the descriptions on our 3rd party sites to ensure things are matching up and also to check on whether you have been allocated the correct room type. The other pieces of feedback we can discuss at our weekly meeting to take forward the necessary improvements. Should you be in the Loch Lomond area again in the future please do get in touch with me direct and I will ensure a preferential rate and hopefully we can demonstrate our usual high standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed one night in Inverbeg 11th may. We stayed in the beach house beautiful location. All the staff go out of their way to make sure your stay is memorable. We would recommend this hotel and we will definitely stay here again.
Nikki &Kevin. Glasgow

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkilafferty12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C, Sales Manager at The Inn on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Many thanks for your recent review and so pleased to hear you had a great stay and would definately return again in the future. We are so encouraged by your comments and the team do indeed try to make each guest stay memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the Beach house for one night. Lovely room on the top floor, very comfortable four poster bed, seating area overlooking the loch, spacious bathroom with large bath, too cold to use the balcony but would be wonderful in warmer weather. Lovely staff who were happy to provide us with an ice bucket and Champagne glasses for our room to celebrate a Birthday. Good value dinner and complimentary sparkling wine to further celebrate the occasion! Great atmosphere in the bar with talented musicians providing the entertainment. Excellent stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MikeBGardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C, Sales Manager at The Inn on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thankyou for your fabulous review and we are delighted you had an excellent stay. We have already shared your comments with the team at our recent Head of Department Meeting and all are thouroughly encouraged and motivated. We do hope to see you back again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luss
3.0 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
3.2 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
9.4 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
456 reviews
7.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
11.9 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Loch Lomond

Property: The Inn on Loch Lomond
Address: Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8PD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Luss
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Luss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn on Loch Lomond 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary Inn offers beautiful, rustic accommodation, a new wave fish restaurant and stunning lounge. The eat-in/take-away restaurant uses only the best of local produce. An impressive bar stocks quality local real ales and over 200 malts selected from the top whiskey regions in Scotland. Set back on the main A82, three miles north of Luss, the Inn is a perfect place to stop for food, drink or a relaxing overnight stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Inn on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Inverbeg Hotel Luss
Inverbeg Inn
Inverbeg Hotel
The Inn On Loch Lomond Luss, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing