We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not met expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn on Loch Lomond
Ranked #5 of 7 Luss B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“not met expectations”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

we stayed for 1 night at the inn, with the ''romantic getaway'' package. from the site it seemed to be very luxurious, right on the lake. We were very disappointed because the food was terrible (overcooked fish, cold vegetables, all food seemed to come right from the fridge/freezer through the microwave), the rooms were very spacious but old and not well maintained, the Inn is NOT on the lake (only the more deluxe rooms) and there was live music untill about 23h which we were not informed about (sunday evening).
We did get a discount because of the food and the staff was indeed very friendly and helpfull and felt really bad about the food.
I think the site sets a wrong expectation about this hotel, unfortunately.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C, Sales Manager at The Inn on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your review however so sorry to hear your stay did not meet with your expectations. We have discussed your feedback with the team and do hope it was a temporary lapse in usual high standards especially with regards to the food, we are however glad to hear that the team were able to address the issue with a discount at the time. We do strive to meet and indeed exceed expectations and will put your feedback on the website to good use.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    474
    321
    142
    67
See reviews for
182
998
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Jamie the waiter at Mister C's restaurant was great, the food was fantastic too. We loved the beach house, m really amazed that the room was big enough for the five of us. My kids are 10, 8 and 6 years. Very tidy room with enough toiletries and tea/coffee/milk. They even provided fans, dryers, iron and ironing board. The Sky in the room had full package with sports, movies etc, very impressive.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Arizo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C, Sales Manager at The Inn on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for you recent review and delighted to hear you enjoyed The Beach House, these rooms are indeed perfect for families and offer more space. We shall share your lovely feedback with Jamie and the team who will be encouraged to hear everything was fantastic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night B&B. View of the Loch from the window was a lovely touch. Had evening meal and breakfast and both were fab - good portion sizes, well cooked and nicely presented. Friendly and helpful staff. Room was well appointed and clean. Floorboards creaky but didn't disturb my sleep. One moan - felt the drinks at the bar were overpriced. Would recommend and would definitely go back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DonzandAd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C, Sales Manager at The Inn on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thanks for your fab review and delighted that you found the hotel to be "a gem" - please do keep recommending and hope to see you back sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This place is perfectly situated for Loch Lomond but, if you want to stay connected with the world at large and you are on O2, you may have the same problems we had ie. no service. The hotel wi- fi was also spasmodic but maybe you come to this kind of place to forget all that. Apart from that, good standard of room and friendly service from hotel staff.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C, Sales Manager at The Inn on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Many thanks for your review and delighted you found the hotel perfect for exploring Loch Lomond, and that you enjoyed your room and friendly service. Unfortunately there are parts of the country that are not covered well with regards to mobile phone connection and we do struggle with some networks - that being said we do hope guests use the opportunity to switch off from the world whilst with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel was very welcoming from the start.we asked to bring our small dog and was told that he would be very welcome....and he was! We were brought biscuit doggy bones for him to keep him amused while we had dinner...excellent idea.
our room was more than adequate, spotlessly clean.
breakfast we lovely. Lots of choice of very fresh fruit, cereals, continental, breads, full Scottish or porridge. I had the porridge which was delicious. My husband had the full scottish which he said was excellent.
definitely recommend this hotel..

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Grumlegoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C, Sales Manager at The Inn on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Many thanks for your fantastic review - the team will be encouraged by your very positive feedback. We do indeed hope you will recommend the hotel and that we will see you back sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Took advantage of a two night deal .Allocated a very good room at front of hotel with good views over Loch Lomond and mountains. Pub style menu but dinner on first night was fine --ate out second night .
Breakfast ,however , was a bit chaotic as tea/ coffee / toast not served at table which saw a very crowded breakfast area with people attempting to get their tea/ coffee / toast back to their tables with others at the same time getting their cereals/ fruit etc --both parties trying to use same milk dispenser added to chaos.
Cooked breakfast was ok but overall experience would be much better if tea/ coffee/toast was served to tables along with cooked breakfast as current arrangements , particularly at busy times , does not work well

Room Tip: Try to get room at front of building for view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chasmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C, Sales Manager at The Inn on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your review and great to hear you had an enjoyable stay, we will take your feedback on board with regards to breakfast to make the necessary improvements, it is an area we have been working on. We hope to welcome you back sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The Inn is well placed for a quiet stop by the side of the Loch. Admittedly the impression one gets from the website is misleading but the walk alongside the Loch is easily reached via a tunnel under the road and accessed from the Hotel car park. We stayed on two occasions within a week and the rooms we were allocated were well appointed and comfortable and everything worked. The weakest link is the restaurant which has a very limited and frankly boring menu - it really does need an overhaul. The staff, however, were very helpful and friendly and rate ten out of ten.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C, Sales Manager at The Inn on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Many thanks for your recent review and great to hear overall you had a comfortable stay, we will of course highlight your comments with regards to the menu at our next meeting and see what improvements we can make. Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luss
3.0 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
3.2 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
9.4 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
440 reviews
7.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
11.9 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Loch Lomond

Property: The Inn on Loch Lomond
Address: Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8PD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Luss
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Luss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn on Loch Lomond 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary Inn offers beautiful, rustic accommodation, a new wave fish restaurant and stunning lounge. The eat-in/take-away restaurant uses only the best of local produce. An impressive bar stocks quality local real ales and over 200 malts selected from the top whiskey regions in Scotland. Set back on the main A82, three miles north of Luss, the Inn is a perfect place to stop for food, drink or a relaxing overnight stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Inn on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Inverbeg Hotel Luss
Inverbeg Inn
Inverbeg Hotel
The Inn On Loch Lomond Luss, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing