We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unprofessional and disinterested”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn on Loch Lomond
Ranked #5 of 7 Luss B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights,return visit on 11-13 the July.
Was faced with the rudest and most unprofessional "Receptionist" that I've ever encountered. No niceties or pleasantries, just a curt "Your room won't be ready until 3 p as in terms of your booking!" OK then....
Room was also disappointing. Had booked the nicer Beach

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
3  Thank Queenio20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C, Sales Manager at The Inn on Loch Lomond, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thankyou for your review - we have responded to what I think is your later review posted on 21st July. Sincere apologies you were disappointed with your return stay and if we can do anything further then please do get in touch with the hotel direct.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

865 - 871 of 1,537 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Booked to stay for one night with dinner - which I wouldn't advise you do, food wasn't as great as it had been made out to be in previous reviews. Room was lovely as was the hotel but what we didn't realise and what wasn't made very clear when we booked was that the road seperates you from the Loch! Maybe a fault on our behalf...never mind. Staff were very friendly and let us check in early. Would I stay here again?...No, I will pay the extra to stay at the sister hotel that we know is on the Loch.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TicVic90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C, Sales Manager at The Inn on Loch Lomond, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Many thanks for your recent review however sorry to hear that dinner didn't live up to your expectations - I can only assume it was down to personal choice of dish on the night. We will of course discuss with the team at our next meeting - we are delighted you found the team to be friendly and hope to see you at The Lodge for your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Really enjoyed our week at this hotel, great location, good facilities, nice food and wonderful staff.
Just a few things that can be improved, a cycle rack for bikes, wifi in bedrooms(wifi was only available in public areas), TV in bedrooms needs different brackets so tv can be swivelled to watch from bed( we could have switched those late World Cup matches snuggled up in bed), and Dinner menu needs to change more often to give better choices and should have all choices available( two of the menu choices were unavailable for the entire week we were there). Apart from these items, we had a wonderful stay and were sorry to leave. Loch Lomond.......we love you.

Room Tip: Rooms on 1st floor of main building,with balconies overlooking the Loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wynne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C, Sales Manager at The Inn on Loch Lomond, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

What a super review and delighted to hear you had a lovely week on Loch Lomond. We do appreciate your very valuable feedback and will try to action the few issues mentioned as soon as we can. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Returned from a 2 day trip which we extended for a further nights stay....Lovely location set back from main road 3 miles from Luss. Views that you could never tire of. Had a walkway under the road which took you down to the guest house and a wee harbour area. Very peaceful setting.
A good welcome and check in. Room a good size with thick carpets and huge bed. Hairdryer,Iron and ironing board, kettle with tea and coffee and biscuits provided. Adequate hanging space for a few days worth of clothes. Shower room good size ~ lovely toiletries supplied, Big fluffy towels. Corner shower ~ there had been wall hanging shower soap and shampoo at one point but I suppose the staff got fed up of guests taking souvenirs home! bitty awkward having to bend down to retrieve shower gel ~ a shelf would be handy as would a hook for hanging towels beside shower! Also no loo roll holder!!
The dbl door with false balcony was very welcome as weather was superb and no aircon in room [well you don't really expect it in Scotland] made for a very hot room ~ was able to sleep with the window/doors open tho which helped a bit.
There were road works going on in the evening just beside the hotel ~ went on till near midnight..slight noise from them..But these things must be done.
The food was good and freshly cooked ate in on the 3 nights..Breakfasts were good although I thought the bacon could've been crisper and also sausages good but not of the highest quality. toast seemed a little pale as well. But didn't stop me eating it! Good selection of fruit and cereals. Good Coffee.
We would return here again no problem

Room Tip: always go for a loch view ~ some of the rooms look straight on to hills, which if your just using as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank loveholidaysNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C, Sales Manager at The Inn on Loch Lomond, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Many thanks for your super review and delighted you had an enjoyable stay, we shall share your very positive feedback with the team and hope we do indeed have the opportunity of welcoming you back sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Booked a one night stay here the day before and got a great deal. Lovely room overlooking the loch and Ben Lomond - clean and well-equipped. Room got very hot as it was very sunny but a fan was provided which was a godsend! Bar area nicely laid out and food tasty. Breakfast was a bit of a free-for-all so get down early. Great location, right next to the loch and not far from Luss. Would recommend this place to others and would go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C, Sales Manager at The Inn on Loch Lomond, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thanks for a super review and delighted you found the hotel a great deal - we shall share your feedback with the team who I know will be encouraged and hope to welcome you back sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This was our second trip to this hotel, we enjoyed it when we last visited in 2012 and felt compelled to go back for a couple of days for my Wife's birthday.

The location is superb. Right next to the Loch and devoid of a mobile phone signal, exactly what we need when we go away! The Hotel itself is very traditional but clean and comfortable. The leather seats situated throughout are well worth sitting in, comfort personified!

Rooms are clean and equipped with everything needed. Only small gripe is that they do get very warm in Summer, even with an open window. Still, very comfortable all the same.

Food in the bar area is good and homely. Bit greasy I must confess however, that didn't stop me destroying large volumes of fish and sausage! Chips are excellent and you get a lovely clean pint. I would say though the waiting staff were extremely pleasant but very disorganised. Had to help ourselves more than I would have liked.

Breakfast has really good choices with something for everyone.

On a side note, access is really easy to the Sea Life centre in Balloch. We had a brilliant morning there.

All in all, a very nice, comfortable and traditional hotel in a lovely location. I have no doubt we will be back for a third visit when we just need a couple quiet days away.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C, Sales Manager at The Inn on Loch Lomond, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thankyou for your review and delighted you found the hotel well worth a visit. We shall use your very positive feedback to make the appropriate improvements and do hope we can welcome you back sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This inn was an old coaching inn that has been extensively refurbished and extended. The new rooms are large with a very modern bathroom and great shower. The thoughtful touches include an iron and ironing board as well as hot chocolate or Horlicks for a nightcap. Breakfast was included and there was a varied and substantial buffet as well as a traditional Scottish cooked breakfast. We choose to eat in the restaurant at night and can recommend the fish and chips which are delicious. The sticky toffee pudding however did not live up to its name as it was actually a treacle sponge. The view from our bedroom was magnificent. We were on the first floor and had paid extra for the view of the lake and Ben Lomond. The weather was very hot and sunny and as the hotel faced the sun all day the room was very hot which meant we had to open the mini balcony doors and had a choice between being hot or having to listen to the roar of the traffic outside, the only downside to the hotel. It does ease off a bit at night, thankfully and the hotel does have access to an underpass allowing safe access to the loch and the cycle path which is a great way to cycle or walk along this side of the loch.

Room Tip: The extra money for a view of Loch Lomond is worth it. The ground floor rooms look towards the lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C, Sales Manager at The Inn on Loch Lomond, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thankyou for your review and delighted you enjoyed the great views and great food. We value your very positive feedback and hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luss
3.0 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
3.2 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
9.4 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
5.1 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
548 reviews
11.9 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Loch Lomond

Address: Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8PD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Luss
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Luss
Price Range: £68 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn on Loch Lomond 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary Inn offers beautiful, rustic accommodation, a new wave fish restaurant and stunning lounge. The eat-in/take-away restaurant uses only the best of local produce. An impressive bar stocks quality local real ales and over 200 malts selected from the top whiskey regions in Scotland. Set back on the main A82, three miles north of Luss, the Inn is a perfect place to stop for food, drink or a relaxing overnight stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Inn on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Inverbeg Hotel Luss
Inverbeg Inn
Inverbeg Hotel
The Inn On Loch Lomond Luss, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing