We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Culag Lochside Guest House
Ranked #1 of 7 Luss B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This is the 7th time that I have stayed at the Culag Lochside. We had 2 rooms as it was my daughter and her 2 children as well as the wife and I. The setting is idyllic and Patrick and Ann make you very welcome. Breakfast is amazing. We stay here on the way up to the Highlands. I have to admit that we do find the rooms a little cramped for a longer stay and with no Wi-Fi and poor mobile phone reception it's not for everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grandadChepstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013

I was ringing around for a place to stay over the bank holiday weekend, on Saturday ... on route... up to Scotland... everywhere was booked except this place.

Immediately I thought that there must be something wrong with the place, especially at only £80 per room.
With no internet connection to investigate on Tripadvisor I went ahead and booked it.

We got there and were amazed at the location - jaw-dropping views across the loch - and the loch literally there, right in front of where you are staying.

The guesthouse is right next to the Loch - amazing views - just simply stunning - couldn't believe our luck...still a little sceptical, I starting thinking that the rooms must be awful...or maybe I didn't hear the lovely gentleman on the end of the phone...he did say £80 right?

We met our host Patrick - lovely man - so friendly and were lead to our rooms.
Loved my room, top floor looking out with gorgeous views over the Loch with a little sofa - loved it.

Breakfast was delicious, we even got veggie sausages as a bonus - Patrick and his helpers were just lovely and for £80 unbelievable value for money.

Will be back again to rent one of the cottages

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LRCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

A picturesque location, right on the banks of Loch Lomond, away from the hustle of the towns, this is a wonderful place to stay in. Breakfast was excellent and the manager was warm and friendly. Good location for someone who'd like to spend time gazing at the waters and in leisure.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krisna Pawan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I attended a friends wedding here and from start to finish felt welcomed. The grounds and views are nothing short of stunning. The room rate was reasonable considering the location and Patrick the host was an absolute star. I honestly cannot fault it.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeeGio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

What a fabulous place we went there on speck what a stroke of luck!!, We could not believe it.The views where to die for we had great rooms, Patrick treated us like long lost friends, he and his wife were very welcoming. We tried to stay three nights but had to just make do with two but we will be back. We stayed at the Loch side one day for a rest after travelling and Patrick came and asked us if we would like a lift to the local village for our lunch, then bought drinks out to us in the gardens. The breakfast was great with a large choice, Patrick waited on us kept us entertained while he was serving us. We asked when we where leaving what coffee he used he went inside and came out with an empty jar to take away so we wouldnt forget it. could not have got better .

Room Tip: They are all great rooms. could not fault them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

this guest house is outstanding. great accommodation,views and the owner Patrick and all the staff are really friendly. Breakfast is also great with a large choice available. I would advise anyone who wants to stay in the area stays there. Fantastic value for money and cant wait to go back there

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spartacus8867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Having just recently attended our friends wedding July 13th we couldn't rate the location any higher such a beautiful spot on loch lomond, the day passed by without a hitch thanks largely to Patrick who done everything but give the bride away himself, gorgeous views over loch and very modern and comfortable rooms.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank louise w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luss
1.5 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
1.3 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
8.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Corries B & B
Corries B & B
#2 of 7 in Luss
112 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Inn on Loch Lomond
1.5 mi away
Alderdale Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culag Lochside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culag Lochside Guest House

Address: Loch Lomond | Argyll & Stirling, Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8PD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Luss
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Luss
Price Range: £88 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picturesque guest house on the Bonnie Banks of Loch Lomond. Stunning views of Ben Lomond .Ideal for walking,cycling & boating Full breakfast served in the conservatory Free wi-fi & car parking Book at Culag.info for best price guarantee ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Culag Lochside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culag Lochside Guest House Hotel Luss
Culag Lochside Guest House Luss, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing