We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Culag Lochside Guest House
Ranked #1 of 7 Luss B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“brilliant!”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Patrick and his staff go out of their way to make you feel at home and he even took time out of his day to drop us into the village on a number of occasions.
We stayed in one of the cottages which was extremely comfortable and had everything we needed. It was over 2 floors with a lounge and bathroom on the ground floor and the bedroom on the top. The bedroom had a large french window over looking the loch - waking up in the morning with that view was wonderful, even if it was raining!
Breakfast was a delight, full Scottish, cereals, fruit & yoghurts
The location is stunning, being a short walk from the village of Luss which has a couple of shops, a pub, a tea room and a very good restaurant.
I would highly recommend this guest house....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    73
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
97
225
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oving, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2013

we stayed at culag lochside for one night and found it to be fantastic , next time we will stay longer, it was all as described set in beautifull surroundings. the room and all facilities were great with a fantastic breakfast to set you up for the day. our host Patrick couldn't do enough for you and made you welcome from the start all in all a lovely place to stay. Brian & Caroline

Room Tip: overlooking the loch if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We weren't sure what to expect as we made our way towards the small village of Luss on the western shore of Loch Lomond. No one we met on our trip seemed to know much about the place so we were curious what we would discover. What we found was a wee bit of heaven (the words of Patrick, the proprietor of Culag Lochside Guest House.

The B&B sits right on the edge of the loch, with steep tree-covered hills behind you and the loch spread out beforehand you. Patrick provided a warm welcome. He is an instantly likable person, usually humming or singing a song. We stayed in one of converted barns with a view over the loch. Quite comfortable and cozy.

Breakfast was superb. Then a short trip into Luss, not more than three minutes in the car. It is a well-kept secret. We were informed that the local vicar spearheaded a revival of the village over the last twenty years and it shows. Quaint cottages, a church dating to 1875, and a very fine restaurant named the Village Rest.

If in the Loch Lomond area a stop in Luss and a stay with Patrick should add to your holiday.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickbunch53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived Patrick made us feel like we were at home. The man could teach alot of people about customer service. He constantly goes out of his way to make sure you have everything you need. The guest house itself is set in a fantastic location on the loch and i can fully understand why couples come to get married here. The rooms are spacious and clean with a choice of being inside the house or in self contained little cottages. Breakfast was vast and Patrick even got us the morning papers. Stay here if you want great hospitality, beautiful views and value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mancmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed here in June 2013 on the first night of our Scotland tour. Was a lovely place, we stayed in a separate building which overlooked the Loch. Was fantastic location and our room was really private and had an upstairs and downstairs, including a fridge so really useful. Breakfast was lovely and plenty of choice and the couple were friendly. My only concern was that when asked how much to pay he asked for £10 more than he'd emailed. sure it was an oversight, but worth checking what they quote. Would recommend staying here, and nice walk into the town for an evening meal (allow about half an hour).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Me and my wife stayed at Culag Lochside on 19.09.13 at the end of an 8 day tour of the Highlands. It was a wonderful end to a great week. The setting of Culag is unbeatable, right on the shores of loch Lomond with Ben Lomond behind it. Patrick and Anne looked after us exteremely well, and breakfast was fit for a king. We ate at the village rest in Luss and the meal was fantastic, and we recommend this to all. We hope to return one day to Culag in the non too distant future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking loch Lomond. You will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My wife, 3 kids, mum and brother all stayed at Culag on Saturday 14th September to celebrate my mum's 70th birthday. This must be the 6th or 7th time me and my wife have stayed over and every time we go it never fails to impress me. Not only the surrounding area or the Loch, but the welcome and hospitality you receive from Patrick and staff is second to none. The breakfast is superb with a really good selection. We booked 3 rooms and all were very clean and comfortable, but when you go to Loch Lomond you don't spend much time in your room apart from sleeping and getting changed.

For my mum and brother, this was the 1st time they had ever been to Culag and loved the full experience and have vowed to go back.

Thanks to Patrick and all the staff for making my mum's 70th birthday a day to remember for all.

Stuart

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luss
1.3 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
1.5 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
7.7 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
470 reviews
11.1 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
8.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culag Lochside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culag Lochside Guest House

Property: Culag Lochside Guest House
Address: Loch Lomond | Argyll & Stirling, Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8PD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Luss
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Luss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picturesque guest house on the Bonnie Banks of Loch Lomond. Stunning views of Ben Lomond .Ideal for walking,cycling & boating Full breakfast served in the conservatory Free wi-fi & car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Culag Lochside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culag Lochside Guest House Hotel Luss
Culag Lochside Guest House Luss, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing