We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Culag Lochside Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Culag Lochside Guest House
Ranked #1 of 8 Luss B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great location, great hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Arrived late without a booking (two couples) and nothing was too much trouble for Patrick. Two nice clean rooms, outstanding location by Loch Lomond and the breakfast was one of the best in five weeks of travelling around UK and Ireland. This place would be worth the money just for the location but the great all round accommodation is a bonus. A great stay!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    66
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
87
198
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Venue = Beautiful Scotland at its best
Accomdation = 5*, clean and fresh, staff friendly, proprietor very friendly and helpful.
Food = More than you would expect from Guest House. Fresh and filling.
I attended and stayed for two nights for a friends wedding. I was overwhelmed with the location and facilities. The hospitality is second to none. Thank You.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

In brief: Really weird apartment setup, positively stupid design of the shower, cheap plastic and polyester furnishings everywhere, and no wifi at all; however, a decent breakfast, a beautiful view of Loch Lomond, and a nice comfortable bed made our stay here enjoyable enough.

The host Patrick was a delightful Irish gent full of silly jokes and quips. He was a memorable character and a pleasant conversationalist. He seemed very sincere in providing for his patrons.

The room, or really apartment, that we were given had a very odd design. The bedroom was upstairs and separate from a downstairs living room unit and bathroom. We had a very nice view of Loch Lomond, with ducks quacking around and boats rising and falling on the gentle swells. The setting was ideal. The bed was comfortable, and standard double with a thick duvet. The furnishings were pretty cheap though, with things like polyester cushions everywhere and curtain rod ends that would fall off when you moved the curtains. Incidentally, our place did have a really nice Danish-style leather recliner that was quite comfortable.

The real drag was the bathroom. When you shower, the entire bathroom becomes drenched in water because: A) there was not shower curtain or door, just a little 2' wall that protruded from the wall, and B) the seam between the tub and the wall channeled water onto the floor just in front of the door. We had to put all of the spare towels on the floor to keep from making a giant mess, and generally showering there was pretty uncomfortable. The toilet was the same standard British number that flushes poorly, splashes you on the butt, and cannot accommodate an adult man sanitarily. But then again, those terribly designed toilets are everywhere in the UK. At least the sink didn't make you choose between scalding or freezing water. They did provide toiletries, but we didn't use them.

The breakfast was standard for a good B&B. Hot french press coffee or tea, juice, or milk, a selection of cereals, and hot meals well-prepared by the hosts. Enough to really get your day off to a good start. I would say that the coffee was pretty weak, but I think that's probably the preference of most of Culag's clientele.

Generally, Culag is in an amazing location of Loch Lomond, and both the 'bed' and 'breakfast' parts were adequate. It was all the other details that failed to impress, and to me 3/5 means average. Culag was just that: fine, but not particularly memorable. It should probably continue to do well as a business, though, because of it's great location on bonnie Loch Lomond.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeHudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We held our wedding at Culag guest house on 14/06/14. We had stayed previously at the guest house for our first overnight trip together when first dating many years ago, and from that very first stay we fell in love with the location, and indeed with Patrick and Anne. Culag has felt like a home from home from the offset, and this is down to the warm welcome and care from owners. When booking our wedding venue our first thoughts were to Culag, and from the moment of booking our wedding date we couldn't of been looked after better. The venue is outstanding with exceptional loch views, rooms and breakfasts are great. Both Anne and Patrick's help, guidance, advice and support has been over and above anything we could've hoped for, and their support and dedication helped us have a magical memorable wedding. We could not recommend more Culag lochside Guest House with Anne and Patrick as a wedding venue or for celebration venue, or for an overnight stay, with or without children. Our experiences with Anne and Patrick and the service they have given us means Culag Lochside Guest House will always hold a special place for us. Recommendation of the highest.

Room Tip: The Garden room (honeymoon suite) is superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jennifer b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed for two nights, as part of a wedding party, and could not fault the place, the people, the accommodation, or the breakfasts!
We would totally recommend the Culag to anyone that asks for advice on wedding locations, or peaceful weekend getaways.
We will definitely be visiting again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TIrving2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornhill, Dumfries
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were up here for the weekend for the marriage of one of our sons and we simply could not have wished for a more pleasant stay. From arriving to departure, Patrick and his wife Ann couldn't do enough for us and the whole wedding day went seamlessly without a hitch because of their hard work, dedication, and exuberance. It was a marvellous stay and could not be faulted at all, from the lovely breakfasts, the stunning scenery, lovely wee cottages and general bonhommie. Fabulous!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Auchinleckian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We loved every minute of our stay here. Our flight into Glasgow arrived a bit early, but Patrick graciously accommodated us with an earlier check-in. He was a delightful, friendly host, making us feel right at home. The room itself was quite comfortable, with excellent views of Loch Lomand. The location was perfect, within walking distance to a couple of good places to eat, but a little north of town so that it was quiet and peaceful to just sit beside the loch with no one else around. There were several different options for breakfast, all of them wonderful and in a pleasant dining room with a view of the loch. We would certainly stay here again if we ever make it back to Loch Lomand – in fact, the opportunity to enjoy Patrick and Anne’s hospitality again is a powerful motivator to return to the area!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luss
1.2 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
1.5 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
7.7 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Inn on Loch Lomond
5.0 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#1 of 3 in Balmaha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culag Lochside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culag Lochside Guest House

Property: Culag Lochside Guest House
Address: Loch Lomond | Argyll & Stirling, Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8PD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Luss
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Luss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picturesque guest house on the Bonnie Banks of Loch Lomond. Stunning views of Ben Lomond .Ideal for walking,cycling & boating Full breakfast served in the conservatory Free wi-fi & car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Culag Lochside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culag Lochside Guest House Hotel Luss
Culag Lochside Guest House Luss, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing