We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Culag Lochside Guest House
Ranked #1 of 7 Luss B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2007

We were recommended this place by a Scottish colleague; will have to give him thanks for telling us about one of the loveliest places we have stayed in while in Scotland. Patrick, the landlord, and the rest of the staff were friendly and helpful but not overbearing; the breakfast great, and the rooms were clean and well appointed - you could sit on the sofa to look out over the beautiful views of the Loch... everything was really nicely done - there wasn't a downside to any aspect of our stay. We stayed overnight after a night in Glasgow, but the location isnt so far from the city that you couldnt use it as a base for city exploring (if you have a car) before travelling up into the Highlands. We didnt do this, but we were told you could book the seaplane (http://www.lochlomondseaplanes.com/) to pick you up from Glasgow airport and fly you to the B&B - it lands on the Loch and docks at a pier at the guesthouse... seriously considering this for a special occasion!! Even arriving by car, this place is really lovely and fully recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roving_jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2007

This is a little treasure on the shores of loch lomond. i have stayed here 4 times now and you will not find any more perfect setting or accommodation in this area. The rooms are excellent with high quality furnishings. Breakfasts are really nice with a choice of full cooked breakfast and the staff are extremely helpful. Luss village is a 5min drive from here or you can walk which would take approx 40mins. The seaplane also leaves from the culag taking passengers for short sightseeing flights. Cant wait to return next year.

jacqui yorkshire,

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacqui12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2007

This is excelent accomodation for families or couples. The cottages are very well equiped, clean and comfortable. Patrick the landlord will meet your every need. The location is fabulous. The lodge on Loch lomand in a very overpriced nearby hotel. Dont go there stay here and have a much better experience.

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank castlefin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2007

Myself and my husband and friends were staying March 06 in Luss we were out a walk and spotted the Culag Guest house which my husband was very impressed with. As it was his 50th this year in March I decided to book all the courtyard rooms amd one other room in the house for friends and family to stay it was a superb birthday for him.

Ann and Pat were so kind in helping to arrange the birthday boys surprise which I am internally grateful to both of them for making it very special for him.

I have been meaning to post this review since March and just finally getting round to it, my husband and I will certainly be back to stay at Culag Guest House and recommend it to anyone wanting a lovely quiet picturesque place to stay near loch Lommond area.

Tina Walker

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank HighfieldLinlithgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2007

Great location, right on Loch Lomond. Made very welcome on arrival by
Patrick and Ann. Rooms were clean and well appointed. We had one of the family rooms that are seperate from the main house - useful for a family as there is 2 bedrooms over 2 floors.

Patrick and Ann were very helpful with suggestions for dinner - we tried Ben Lomond in Tarbet and La Scarpetta in Balloch, both of which I can recommend.

Breakfast was excellent, good cooked full monty, good selection of cereals, plenty of toast/juice/tea/coffee. Ideal location if you are trying the Loch Lomond seaplane service that departs from the jetty on the grounds. Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllieHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2007

We booked the Culag Lochside Guest House very last minute (literally the night before!) after finding ourselves booked into an absolute dump near Oban. We were recommended to Culag by a B&B up the road, who did not have any available accommodation, and when we arrived were greeted by Patrick, the onwer/host/server/gardener/anything else that needs to be done. He took the time to show us around his beautiful property, and make recommendations for dinner, both of which were wonderful! Patrick renewed our faith in Scottish Guest accommodation after our previous experience in Oban. We would recommend this property to any traveller!!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa_and_Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2007

This is a beautiful property in scenic surroundings. The guest house is easily located on the main road about a mile from Luss.
We received a friendly welcome and any information we needed.
We stayed in a room outside the main hotel. This room had everything you could need. There was a dvd player and a selection of dvds provided, an iron, a toaster, a fridge to name but a few things! Nothing has been forgotten. My only regret is that we were only staying one night! We loved it here. The location, the scenery, the room, the breakfast it's all great! Enjoy your stay and dont forget for the adventurous the seaplane takes off from here so you can book a trip!

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luss
1.5 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
1.3 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
7.7 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
8.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
The Inn on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culag Lochside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culag Lochside Guest House

Address: Loch Lomond | Argyll & Stirling, Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8PD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Luss
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Luss
Price Range: £88 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picturesque guest house on the Bonnie Banks of Loch Lomond. Stunning views of Ben Lomond .Ideal for walking,cycling & boating Full breakfast served in the conservatory Free wi-fi & car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Culag Lochside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culag Lochside Guest House Hotel Luss
Culag Lochside Guest House Luss, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing