We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views with beautiful food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

It has been a long time since I have been somewhere as peaceful and relaxing as this hotel.

Food:
We arrived late due to work commitments and headed straight to the restaurant to meet the rest of our party. As we were travelling we had ordered ahead and ordered the steak burger while the others opted for the lamb with mother in law picking the risotto. The burger was full of flavour and the chips very tasty. I also stole a bit of lamb from others plates which was delicious.

Room:
We had an upstairs room which was cosy and comfortable. It was quiet and had everything we needed. The television was small but we didnt use it. A bigger tv would have looked ridiculous and I cant imagine many use this service.

Breakfast:
We had missed the fantastic views of the lake the previous night due to the dark but it was a beautiful sight to wake up to and eat the delicious breakfast. Plenty to offer and very filling!

Overall a fantastic place to stay and the people are lovely and welcoming. We will be returning!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank 1108mt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at The Lake of Menteith Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Thank you for your kind words and delighted you enjoyed your first visit to our Hotel. We do our best to provide our customers with all the services they could need, without detracting from our magnificant location and the views, whatever the weather. We look forward to your return.
Regards
Jamie & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (676)
There are newer reviews for The Lake of Menteith Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 676 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed here some four years ago when attending the Nick Nairns Cookery School so we booked again when going for our second class. This is a beautiful hotel set on the lakeside with gcommanding views of the lake through the large windows in the dinning room. We checked in at aound fiveand were shown to our room. We had booked a Heritage room but were pleasently surprised to find we had been given a Lake Classic on the ground floor. In the morning we found this also had a great view. The dinner menu looks very good but we were only able to sample a light meal. Breakfast is excellent and well presented. The staff are always pleasent and efficient. We plan to go to the cookery school again but may try it in the summer as both visits so far have been in November.

Room Tip: Not all room have a lakeside view. Book early.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbarous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at The Lake of Menteith Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review our Hotel following your visit to the Cook School and ourselves. Delighted you enjoyed both and we do look forward to welcoming you back when perhaps you can try more of our cuisine.
Regards

Jamie & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We arrived at 3.05 p.m. to be advised that we could not have anything from the blackboard because it was after 3 p.m. This despite the bar area not being very busy. We then asked if we could sit in the restaurant area which was almost deserted but were told that they needed to change the tables for dinner that evening. Not a great start.....

There was a small selection of soup and bread and scones etc... which we had and they were excellent. However the whole experience was spoiled for us because of the lack of interest in our request.

We left about an hour later and none of the tables had been re-set for dinner. We had friends with us so a bit embarrassing.

All in all, has put us off a bit but the food was fine. In my opinion diners want to be able to sit wherever they want and this is a small hotel so do not see what the problem was.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FionaJLinlithgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at The Lake of Menteith Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear Fiona,
We are very long established and always serve lunch to 2.30pm. You arrived at 3.10pm and lunch service was finished, which is why it was not busy.
Our staff then went that extra mile by providing you soup, rolls and scones so that you would not go hungry and are now confused that their efforts are now being critisized by you.
Regards
Jamie & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Had dinner in the Port Bar of this Hotel, recommended by Creag-Ard House in Aberfoyle [restaurant was fully booked but the Port Bar does not take reservations and we were fortunate to be given a table on a very busy evening in the lively Port Bar (menu is the same)]. Dinner of courgette and thyme soup, Lake of Menteith trout, very good house white wine, and coffee was excellent, well served by pleasant attentive staff. Dinner was relaxed and enjoyable despite the staff being extremely busy and we had a great evening, with lovely views over the Lake. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Tunku41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at The Lake of Menteith Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Many thanks for your kind words and generous comments. We appreciate you visiting our Hotel and sharing your experience with fellow travellers. Between ourelves and your B&B you certainly had the best views available in the Trossachs. So pleased you enjoyed your meal and our staff join us in thanking you, they read these views eagerly too.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Trossachs.
Jamie & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This was our first visit to the lake hotel to eat, despite this being our 10th yr visiting nearby lochend chalets, and overall the food was excellent and good value for money.The only disappointment was my starter mussels. I have been having mussels in Scotland for many years and I have never had any so small ( too small to have any taste). When questioning the waitress about this she was very knowledgeable about the problems they have had getting them and the harvesting of them. I appreciate the chef will not know the quality of these until they are cooked but I think for now they need to come of the menu. The redeeming factor was the lovely sauce they were served I and the nice bread.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank BOBSouthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at The Lake of Menteith Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Hi Bob
Many thanks for your kind comments and I do hope we see you back a bit sooner than ten years. The problems with the Scottish Mussel beds have been well publisized this summer and we had to take them off the menus for a while. All is well now with the colder waters returning but there has been some inconsistency recently while everything settles back down. If we took them off again we would have riots on our hands, so as you experienced we are happy to assist on the odd occasion we have a small batch.
Regards
Jamie & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed at the Lake of Menteith as we were attending the Nick Nairn cook school. Contacted hotel prior to arrival to arrange taxi to the cook school which was done easily. Arrived back after the cook school and were met with a welcoming smile and checked in quickly. We were shown up to the room which is a nice touch and given a quick introduction to the hotel and its features. The room was lovely, nicely furnished, large king size bed and spacious. Bathroom was clean and had a nice big bath which I enjoy! Very nice tea and coffee facilities.

Went down to the bar for a drink, stocked Hendricks Gin which we were very happy to see! Having been at the cook school we just had a light meal but it was fantastic. I had the chorizo and goats cheese salad which was gorgeous and my partner had the pate which she also enjoyed. They had my favorite desert on the menu, sticky toffee pudding, and I am glad to say it did not disappoint, light yet gooey - just the way it should be! We sat in the bar until after midnight and although we were the only people there and clearly keeping the poor barman from his bed we felt no pressure to leave.

Breakfast in the morning was delicious - I had the full breakfast - love stornaway black pudding so happy that on my plate - and partner had poached eggs which were cooked perfectly. We were also lucky it was a nice day and we had beautiful views from the breakfast room.

The great thing about this hotel is the staff, it's all very well having a nice hotel in a nice location but its the staff that make it special!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MWS89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at The Lake of Menteith Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Thank you for visiting our hotel and sharing your experience with fellow travellers. We really appreciate your comments and the staff join us in thanking you. The cook school is a great experience with high standards throughout. So pleased the hotel lived up to those standards and you enjoyed the food in particular.
Regards
Jamie & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This beautiful, child friendly little hotel set on The Lake of Menteith is worth a visit even just for a meal. The excellent food was served with a smile from the charming waitress. The ingredients were fresh and cooked to perfection. We can't wait to return and next time stay for a while.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank HethEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at The Lake of Menteith Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Many thanks for visiting our Hotel and delighted you enjoyed it. Check out our web site for some great Leisure Breaks that include dinner, room, breakfast and afternoon tea. Our Sunday Soother is the best value we have.
Regards
Jamie & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port of Menteith
7.5 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
17.0 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
22.2 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
426 reviews
14.6 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
22.4 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake of Menteith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake of Menteith Hotel

Address: Port of Menteith, Port of Menteith, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3RA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Port of Menteith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port of Menteith
Price Range: £94 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lake of Menteith Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In The Trossachs National Park yet easily accessible, being an hour from Glasgow and Edinburgh and twenty minutes from both Loch Lomond and the ancient City of Stirling. You drive through some remarkable Scottish scenery and upon reaching Port of Menteith, the Lake unfolds before you with the hotel nestling lakeside. Inside you will find a delightful house, much enlarged from the original 19th Century Manse, fully refurbished in recent years. Our inspiration has been the unique Lakeside setting and natural habitat for seasonal and permanent residents such as Osprey, Otter, Geese, Swans our duck family and more. Decorated in the warm and welcoming style of a classic New England waterfront hotel with muted tones and the extensive use of local timber and stone, perfectly complimenting this special waterfront setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lake of Menteith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Of Menteith Port
Lake Of Menteith Hotel
Hotel Lake Menteith
Lake Menteith Hotel
The Lake Of Menteith Hotel Port Of Menteith, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing