We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place to stay in the Trossachs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay in the Trossachs”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Reception was very personable. Our room was very charming and cozy, with high ceilings. Our room overlooked (in an atmospheric way) the neighbouring churchand graveyard. The bar and restaurant were also cozy and atmospheric. The dinner menu was mediterrean-inspired with very creative and tasty dishes, and the breakfast was amazing, with the best croissants. I don't normally eat or like eggs, but the scrambled eggs were fluffy and delish. The view from the restaurant solarium and terrace were unbelievably serene and picturesque on a sunny day. This place really fulfils almost all stereotypes about a quaint B&B. We stayed for only one night and regreted having to leave.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabalaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at The Lake of Menteith Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear GL
Many thanks for your generous praise. Much appreciated and we are delighted you enjoyed your experience. We are most fortunate to enjoy such a fabulous location but do not take that for granted. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to our beautiful country and thank you for choosing our Hotel.
Regards
Jamie & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    179
    61
    18
    14
See reviews for
80
429
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Took advantage of a one night deal which included afternoon tea/coffee and scones--take care , however , to leave room for dinner . Good menu and great food served in conservatory restaurant with great views across lake. Breakfast also very good .

Room small but comfortable and great location ensures a very relaxing break .Good seating area outside if weather favourable.

Room Tip: Some rooms have better lake views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chasmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at The Lake of Menteith Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Chasmag
Thank you for reviewing our Hotel following your recent visit. Delighted you enjoyed your experience and as we do include so much with breakfast, afternoon tea and Tunnocks goodies in your room, not leaving sufficient space for dinner is a very real danger. A brisk local walk or cycle will soon put an edge back on your appetite.
Regards
Jamie & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We recently stayed at the lake and would recommend it to other visitors. The decor and layout of the hotel is lovely, the staff make your visit seem very laid back and greatly add to the tranquility of the place.

We do have one small complaint however. Whilst being seated at the restaurant for breakfast, we requested to be seated at a table that was in the process of being set up again after a previous guest had had breakfast. The reason that we requested this table is because it offered the most secluded part of the restaurant and offered us the view that we wished to dine to. I believe that it is very bad customer service when a polite request is met with being told " there are plenty of other tables at the other end of the restaurant for us to choose from!"

One of the main features of the hotel is that it offers amazing views and I feel that if a guest requests to be seated in an area that they wish, then that request should be met. I will put this down to a member of staff having a bad morning as all the other staff that we encountered during our stay were first class and couldn't have been more helpful.

All in all, the hotel is lovely to stay in, the views are stunning and the staff are brilliant.....although one member of staff managed to spoil the perfect end to a perfect stay with some very poor customer service.

Room Tip: Request lake facing room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatlegs78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at The Lake of Menteith Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Firemanbaz
Thank you so much for visiting our hotel and that overall you really enjoyed your experience. As you will likely note in other comments, our staff are viewed as one of our greatest and this would have been an isolated member of staff. On any future visit or if you are a reader, please ask for a manager or owner if you are not getting what you want and you will be amazed how far we are willing to go to please.
Thank you and we hope to see you again.
Jamie & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

if looking for a quiet break - look no further ! our room was small but comfortable. The restaurant has great views over the lake and surrounding countryside - watch the fishermen at work and then have fresh trout for dinner cooked to perfection and served by very friendly and helpful staff. Plenty outside seating areas to enjoy a beer or coffee. Yes readers my idea of bliss ! Will we return ? as soon as possible !

Room Tip: a room with a lake view is ideal but other rooms are comfortable and of course the hotel location is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlasgowScottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at The Lake of Menteith Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Glasgow Scottie
Thank you for sharing your experience with fellow travellers and we are delighted you enjoyed your short stay with us. Short or long we do everything we can to unfrazzle and unwind our customers and if the weather is onside, its instantanious. We look forward to your return.
Jamie & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Hotel is very welcoming and friendly. Food is great and would recommend the restaurant for your evening meal. Good menu and plenty of choice. Really enjoyed my overnight stay.

Helpful?
Thank 288Lindyloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at The Lake of Menteith Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Lindyloo
Kind words gratefully appreciated. Delighetd you enjoyed your stay and our fantatsic team enjoying reading those reviews too. Look forwatd to seeing you again soon.
Jamie & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Lovely hotel with restaurant looking on to the lake which is a tranquil experience. Rooms are delightfully decorated and have an en suite which is really luxurious. Service is excellent and staff are attentive and well trained.
The spot is ideal to recharge batteries.
The food in the restaurant was not on par with the first visit. I felt it was am ambitious attempt which did not work. Hot lamb on cold salad platter just was not that good a match. However have eaten here before and found it all excellent so it might have just been a bad choice.
We will return and enjoy another rest soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kundera1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at The Lake of Menteith Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Kundera1
Many thanks for your kind words and generous comments. So pleased that you enjoyed your experience in this uniquely located located hotel, right on the water. We do everything we can to "unfrazzel" our customers, feeding body and soul. We look forward to your return.
Regards and thanks,
Jamie & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Had previously visited this hotel for a meal and was looking forward to a comfortable stay while visiting relatives. Disappointingly we were given a room at thecorner of the hotel overlooking the car park. This meant that most of the time we were in the room we had to keep the curtains closed and sit in the dark for five minutes while the lights slowly came to life. The bathroom window which was large was of plain glass and directly overlooking the car park. There was a dreadful roman blind which had to be kept down at all times. The room contained a very hard double bed with dreadful pillows, two bedside tables, two chairs and a chest of drawers. The built-in wardrobe next to the bathroom contained four hangers and a tea/coffee tray. If we placed the tray on the chest of drawers next to the television (with a terrible signal) and a mirror there was no room to place any of our belongings on it. The final problem with the bedroom was that there was only one socket that the kettle could be plugged into. The lead on the kettle was short so it had to be boiled sitting on the FLOOR. So much for Health & Safety.
The public rooms are quaint and I really liked the look. However the carpet in the dining room was DIRTY. There was the same menu in the dining room and bar and there was not a grill on offer. The menu did not change over the three nights although there were a limited number of specials. The dessert menu got smaller every night and items were deleted. The food was tasty and well cooked apart from the last morning when the bacon was greasy and the scrambled egg was I think reconstituted. During breakfast and dinner the service was very slow and on the second night when we had invited guests, it was just embarrassing. There is a guest lounge which is quite small and the only time my husband went in there, one of the men who were painting the exterior, was stretched out on the settee in front of the television and made no attempt to move. The young staff working at the hotel were friendly at all times.
This hotel is lucky to have the views and position on the lake. It could be something very special. However, for the prices charged, things really have to be improved in a big way for it to gain any sort of reputation. We visit this area quite regularly but we certainly will not be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank apacheSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at The Lake of Menteith Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Our team were more than a little shocked at your review and join me in offering our apologies. Your corner room is indeed large and has views on one side to the church and the other out over the car park to the hills and mountains beyond. It is on the second floor so is not overlooked at all. At this time of year we do embrace the summer season and throw open our dining doors and windows to enjoy the glorious weather, but nature too comes in and the carpet can get dirty, but we do clean it. Our staff all spoke with you throughout every stage of your stay (they are trained to but actually do enjoy it), in the dining room, bar and on checking out and on every occasion you seemed to be enjoying your stay and made no mention of anything negative. I would emplore you and all reading this to please tell us or any other customer service business the moment you are not happy with your experience or service, you will be astonished by just how far we will all go to please you. Every member of our team at all levels, is empowered to take whatever action is necissary to remidy any situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port of Menteith
7.5 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
17.0 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
22.2 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
14.8 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake of Menteith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake of Menteith Hotel

Property: The Lake of Menteith Hotel
Address: Port of Menteith, Port of Menteith, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3RA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Port of Menteith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port of Menteith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lake of Menteith Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In The Trossachs National Park yet easily accessible, being an hour from Glasgow and Edinburgh and twenty minutes from both Loch Lomond and the ancient City of Stirling. You drive through some remarkable Scottish scenery and upon reaching Port of Menteith, the Lake unfolds before you with the hotel nestling lakeside. Inside you will find a delightful house, much enlarged from the original 19th Century Manse, fully refurbished in recent years. Our inspiration has been the unique Lakeside setting and natural habitat for seasonal and permanent residents such as Osprey, Otter, Geese, Swans our duck family and more. Decorated in the warm and welcoming style of a classic New England waterfront hotel with muted tones and the extensive use of local timber and stone, perfectly complimenting this special waterfront setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lake of Menteith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Of Menteith Port
Lake Of Menteith Hotel
Hotel Lake Menteith
Lake Menteith Hotel
The Lake Of Menteith Hotel Port Of Menteith, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing