We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed one night in this hotel which has an idyllic location by the shore of lake of Menteith. The tranquillity of this serene landscape is really fantastic. Our room, although not facing the lake (rooms with lake view were too pricey) was very pleasant, quiet and modern. The bed was great and the bathroom very spacious. Wifi was free but weak, reception told me that it's only available in the ground floor. Fortunately, our room on the first floor had a weak but stable signal. The breakfast room (same as the restaurant) had great view over the lake and it was a delight to have breakfast there. But at the day of our stay, the chef had an accident and we hadn't the chance to taste its famous hot choices, staying only with the cereals, fruit and some cheese and proschiutto ham (pity, hope he is OK). But, to my surprise, the hotel DIDN'T charge us the whole breakfast for the two of us. It was an act of respect for the customer.
It's a hotel that I would definitely return and surely recommended.
(I didn't put a 5/5 rating only because we hadn't the opportunity to taste the whole breakfast)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nicktrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at The Lake of Menteith Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Nicktrip
Thank you for being so understanding and supportive. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and disapointed we were unable to provide the great breakfast we are famous for. Rare though it is, we can suffer a crises and we really appreciate the understanding and support from everyone when it does. Again our thanks and we do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Jamie & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (676)
There are newer reviews for The Lake of Menteith Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 676 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

We came here as a small group for a lunch to celebrate our quiet wedding - 6 grown ups and a toddler. We'd never been here before but had heard great things.
The staff were very accommodating, the room and views were perfect and the food was delicious. The prices were very reasonable too. We will be back again before long.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheenaKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at The Lake of Menteith Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Sheena
Thank you for entrusting such a great occasion to us. Big our small your wedding is an incredible day and we are grateful to have played a part. We look forward to your return.
Regards and best wishes to you both in your life together.
Jamie & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Took my mum here for lunch today and after a lovely drive through ancient Scottish countryside we reached the hotel to be greeted with majestic views and classy decor!
We were greeted by lovely staff and seated in a wonderful table in the dining room overlooking the lake. We had booked this and were glad we had as the restaurant soon filled up!
The food was excellent and staff extremely attentive.
I also had my little one with me who chose from the kiddies menu and let's just say it's the freshest classiest fish fingers he has ever had.
The bill for lunch was 50 pounds for the three of us with two courses and a soft drink. Now clearly that's not frankie and bennies prices but the venue and the service and the quality of the food absolutely deserved it! Will defo be back!
Would also recommend the afternoon menu with light bites after 3pm if you are looking to just have an inexpensive stop at a beautiful spot!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lainestravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at The Lake of Menteith Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you for your kind words following your visit to our Hotel. Delighted you enjoyed your experience and that you found it very reasonable and we look forward to your return.
Regards
Jamie & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Close to Glasgow and with stunning views and location right on the waterside at Lake of Menteith. Room was comfortable with lovely views and small patio area. Great if you want to fish, bike, or okay golf. All available nearby. Staff were really helpful and friendly led by Jean Bond .. as is the resident dog! Lovely restaurant which gets understandable busy at times with views over the lake and lots of locally sourced dishes.

Would definitely return another time,

Room Tip: Worth trying to get a room with a lake view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dormston30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Just an hours drive from Glasgow, this hotel has the most stunning location. It sits on the lake with views to the nearby hills.
The restaurant area takes full advantage of this view with a beautiful glass conservatory and seating on the lawn outside.
The room we had was comfortable, clean and well appointed.
The food is good, I had fresh trout from the lake, which had been filleted and pinned. Nothing fancy and nothing award winning, but at the same time it was all well presented and fresh.
Next to the hotel is the departure point for the Abbey, which is on an island in the middle of the lake. If you like fishing then you couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Newbury_Chief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Couldn't fault this hotel at all. We had a lovely room and bathroom. Nice little touches with the tea tray. Nice sitting on the patio area with great views across the lake. The food is lovely and the service great and the staff very friendly. Would defo go back

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

In an excellent location by Lake Mentieth we had a superb ground floor room opening onto lawns and the lake. The room was very comfortable with a large bed, two chairs and a small TV. There are lots of complimentary extras - Tunnocks biscuits, cafetiere coffee and a cream tea every day. The bathroom was quite small and the wifi in the room was very poor.

The food was superb at dinner and breakfast, including trout straight out of the lake. Service was informal and very good. All the staff were friendly and helpful.

This is a good base to explore the surrounding area and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stanleeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port of Menteith
7.5 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
17.0 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
22.2 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
426 reviews
14.6 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
22.4 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake of Menteith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake of Menteith Hotel

Address: Port of Menteith, Port of Menteith, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3RA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Port of Menteith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port of Menteith
Price Range: £94 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lake of Menteith Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In The Trossachs National Park yet easily accessible, being an hour from Glasgow and Edinburgh and twenty minutes from both Loch Lomond and the ancient City of Stirling. You drive through some remarkable Scottish scenery and upon reaching Port of Menteith, the Lake unfolds before you with the hotel nestling lakeside. Inside you will find a delightful house, much enlarged from the original 19th Century Manse, fully refurbished in recent years. Our inspiration has been the unique Lakeside setting and natural habitat for seasonal and permanent residents such as Osprey, Otter, Geese, Swans our duck family and more. Decorated in the warm and welcoming style of a classic New England waterfront hotel with muted tones and the extensive use of local timber and stone, perfectly complimenting this special waterfront setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lake of Menteith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Of Menteith Port
Lake Of Menteith Hotel
Hotel Lake Menteith
Lake Menteith Hotel
The Lake Of Menteith Hotel Port Of Menteith, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing