We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience during an overnight stay at Rhu Marina”
Review of Ardencaple Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ardencaple Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Rhu B&B and Inns
Rothesay
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Experience during an overnight stay at Rhu Marina”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

WE were recommended to try the Ardencaple for dinner, by the receptionist at Rhu Marina. We had an excellent Sunday roast dinner of roast beef. Cheerful and hard working staff were managing a huge influx of Sunday diners on a busy Bank Holiday Sunday. Extensive menu of pub food items and steaks, which were exceptionally well priced. No complaints. We had a wait for food due to a large number of diners arriving at the same time, but the meal was excellent. We were impressed enough to return for a late breakfast on the Monday morning which was first class. Definitely a place to visit again when we are on the boat in Rhu.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busker0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Ardencaple Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear busker0,

Thank you for taking the tame to provide your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed visiting us for Sunday lunch and that you rturned for breakfast on the Monday. We hope to see you again next time you're in the area.

Regards
Spirit Pub Company
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    69
    28
    12
    11
See reviews for
48
50
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Apollo Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We just stayed at the Ardencaple August 10-14, 2013. I booked last minute and they were more than willing to accommodate us. We had the Columbia room on the second floor. We looked right out on to the harbor with lots of sailboats. The room is your typical Scottish Inn, a bit worn, with a small bathroom but extremely comfortable. No issues with the bed and even though the shower is a bit on the small side I had no issues with hot water or pressure. Always a plus in an older facility. The staff was so hopeful especially Bridget, she answered all my questions about where to eat, sights and shopping. They have an excellent pub and restaurant downstairs that serves typical pub fare with cheerful bartenders and staff. Don't be to put off by the sound of traffic if your in your room during the day. There's little to no traffic at night and I had no problems sleeping. Plenty of parking and a lovely close walk to town. Excellent value.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Ardencaple Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear gourmetsailor,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and appriciate the time taken to complete your feedback.

Regards
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We had an enjoyable stay at this hotel. The service was friendly and the food was good. It is a no frills hotel with reasonable prices and it is in a very nice area with lovely views. The only down side of our stay was the busy road outside our room which was quite noisy with no double glazing and the stairs to the second floor are very steep so would not suit everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B_F562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
142 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This hotel has fantastic views from the front and was a pleasant treat to watch the boats and windsurfers from the comfort of my room.

The room was fairly small for a double but as a loan occupant I found it cozy. The room was clean and well presented. The shower was however very cozy and felt a little cramped.

Two of us ate in the bar and found the food to be good value. I had the mega cod and it was very tasty. Service on the bar was a little slow but for food they were attentive. There was a function on in the other room so to be fair they were very busy.

Overall a nice little hotel with friendly staff.

Room Tip: The front of the building looks onto a very busy road so traffic noise could be an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Sheermadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Ardencaple Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear 1Sheermadness,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review, we are pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with and have shared your feedback with our management team.

Regards
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We have travelled all over Scotland at this stage and have seen the good bad and ugly. This place is somwhere in between, lets say grand for the price!. We forked out alot in March so this time we were looking for cheap and cheerful.This weekend we were looking for accomodation in Loch Lomond and this was the nearest we could find. The place is welcoming, friendly, clean with a lovely view. The rooms are as basic as can be but it was fine and functional. Bathroom is verrry old fashioned with small shower and old style curtains. We stayed for 2 nights and it did the job, just. We had food when we arrived- American style food in a tradtional pub setting, strange combo but food was decnet enough for us. We missed breakfast both mornings so cant comment. A decent place, simple and basic- dont go if you are looking for luxury (or romance, as the walls are paper thin and everything can be heard!)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Royalgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumbarton, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

2nd time we have called here in the last week or so to sample their bar lunches and each time food and service have been very good. Although it was a holiday weekend and the place was very busy we were attended to promptly and the meals were excellent quality and value. Seems to be a popular place for groups with young families and most of the people we spoke to were regular visitors. Friendly staff. We will be back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Overall we had a great time at the hotel whilst visiting Scotland. The staff were always welcoming and attended our every need. A big thanks goes out to all the bar and waiter staff for great service especially Cheryl always a cheerful face. One down side to our visit is that when visiting Scotland and staying in a a local hotel you would expect to have the opportunity to eat and drink the Scottish way IE: Good quality Scottish whiskys, haggis, black pudding and my old fav potato scone. Apart from that an overall good experience.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Feg9688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhu
0.8 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
3.8 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
6.1 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Kilcreggan Hotel
Kilcreggan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilcreggan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Abbotsford Hotel
The Abbotsford Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dumbarton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Anchor Inn
The Anchor Inn
#2 of 4 in Garelochhead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardencaple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardencaple Hotel

Property: Ardencaple Hotel
Address: Gareloch Road, Rhu, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 8LA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Helensburgh > Rhu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rhu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardencaple Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Ardencaple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardencaple Hotel Rhu, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing