We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff”
Review of Ardencaple Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ardencaple Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Rhu B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Arrived for a one night stay en route from the Highlands to Edinburgh. Welcomed by lovely, friendly, helpful staff. Room basic. Could do with updating. However it was clean and warm. Bar very busy but could hear no noise in the room. Ate out in town. Loved the local area. Brigitte was very helpful and sorted us out to stay an extra night. Explored the Lochs and surrounding area. Stunning. On second night ate in the bar. Very good value pub grub. Friendly staff who are exceptionally helpful. All in all a very good value, pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
There are newer reviews for Ardencaple Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

My husband and I were on a 3 week vacation from the U.S without any set schedule. As we were heading north through Scotland and the day was getting late we found ourselves in the town of Rhu. We were able to get accommodations at Ardencaple Hotel much to our relief. What impressed me most of all was the wonderful staff. The woman on the desk was more than helpful. She went the extra mile. I had lost my adapter somewhere along the line which meant I couldn't charge my phone which was my primary source for photos. The woman on the desk went through all of the lost items which had not been reclaimed and found an adapter for me. I was so ecstatic that she took the time to look whereas she could easily have not bothered. The rooms were clean and comfortable and a much needed respite after a long day of traveling.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NormaJ0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Ardencaple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Allegra061

Thank you for providing us with your review.

I can confirm that I have passed on your kind comments to the management team and to the Area Manager of the Ardencaple Hotel who would like to thank you for your positive feedback.

We hope to see you soon at the Ardencaple Hotel
Kind regards,

Chef & Brewer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed for 1 night only while on a short trip.
Our room was basic but had a lovely view.
Bar was busy with food also served, food ok but nothing special just normal pub grub.
Room basic but ok,The window though was filthy and could do with a good clean? you could not help but notice this because every time you admired the view you were looking through dirt. I know its not much, but such a simple task as a wipe with a cloth would have made all the difference.
The staff were all pleasant and helpful.
Breakfast was charged for separately and for the price was a little disappointing.
Overall it was only for 1 night and was ok, If a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alex n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My family recently celebrated the arrival of a new addition to the family - baby Mylo. We had a wonderful time in a private room and were looked after beautifully by Bridgette, Jannette and staff.
As we chatted we realised that the Ardencaple has been helping us celbrate family events for about 20 years! 21st, 40th and 80th Birthday parties and esepecially grand when Mum and Dad renewed their wedding vows after 60 years. Mum now has advanced Alzheimers but the staff always ensure she is looked after and made most welcome
As a family we have travelled a great deal and visitied many hotels of all grades but nowhere beats the Ardencaple for friendliness and warmth - not to mention great value for money. Pamela Brown

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Ardencaple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Pamela B,

Thank you for your review, Thanks for chosing the Ardencaple to celebrate so many family occasions we are pleased to read the experiences you and your family have experienced over the years, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards
Good Night Inns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

WE were recommended to try the Ardencaple for dinner, by the receptionist at Rhu Marina. We had an excellent Sunday roast dinner of roast beef. Cheerful and hard working staff were managing a huge influx of Sunday diners on a busy Bank Holiday Sunday. Extensive menu of pub food items and steaks, which were exceptionally well priced. No complaints. We had a wait for food due to a large number of diners arriving at the same time, but the meal was excellent. We were impressed enough to return for a late breakfast on the Monday morning which was first class. Definitely a place to visit again when we are on the boat in Rhu.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busker0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Ardencaple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Dear busker0,

Thank you for taking the tame to provide your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed visiting us for Sunday lunch and that you rturned for breakfast on the Monday. We hope to see you again next time you're in the area.

Regards
Spirit Pub Company

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We just stayed at the Ardencaple August 10-14, 2013. I booked last minute and they were more than willing to accommodate us. We had the Columbia room on the second floor. We looked right out on to the harbor with lots of sailboats. The room is your typical Scottish Inn, a bit worn, with a small bathroom but extremely comfortable. No issues with the bed and even though the shower is a bit on the small side I had no issues with hot water or pressure. Always a plus in an older facility. The staff was so hopeful especially Bridget, she answered all my questions about where to eat, sights and shopping. They have an excellent pub and restaurant downstairs that serves typical pub fare with cheerful bartenders and staff. Don't be to put off by the sound of traffic if your in your room during the day. There's little to no traffic at night and I had no problems sleeping. Plenty of parking and a lovely close walk to town. Excellent value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natasha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Ardencaple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear gourmetsailor,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and appriciate the time taken to complete your feedback.

Regards
Good Night Inns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We had an enjoyable stay at this hotel. The service was friendly and the food was good. It is a no frills hotel with reasonable prices and it is in a very nice area with lovely views. The only down side of our stay was the busy road outside our room which was quite noisy with no double glazing and the stairs to the second floor are very steep so would not suit everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B_F562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhu
0.8 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Helensburgh Seafront
3.0 mi away
Kilcreggan Hotel
Kilcreggan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilcreggan
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
6.1 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
16.4 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardencaple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardencaple Hotel

Address: Gareloch Road, Rhu, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 8LA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Helensburgh > Rhu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rhu
Price Range: £64 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardencaple Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ardencaple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardencaple Hotel Rhu, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing