We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rhu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I have stayed here on at least 3 trips and had excellant service each time. The scottish breakfast is very good especially with haggis. Just one example of the excellent staff they have there. On the last night I stayed, there was a wedding reseption going on down stair and my room was just above the garden room were it was being held. The thoughtful staff offered to move me to a different room without me having to ask. My first choice when I am in the area

Room Tip: All the good are good but book well in advance as it very popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alfiered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D M, General Manager at Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your very kind words and for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted that you had a pleasurable experience at Rosslea and I will make sure the rest of the team are aware of your comments.

Kind Regards

Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Been here on several visits, I find the hotel disorganised, over priced and dirty.
Some staff are rude and just stand there doing nothing, floor needed a good hovering. The forint entrance is full of cigarette ends you would think that someone would lift them up after each day but no.

I would not recommend this place ever.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
5  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D M, General Manager at Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Oh Dear, what can I say?????
I suppose the question I must ask is why do you keep coming back? you quite clearly state you would not recommend the Rosslea yet you also state you have been here on several occassions. And why wait for 3 months before posting your review.

I am sorry however that we have upset someone to the extent that they would be compelled to write such a poor review. Dare I ask on what capacity were you at Rosslea as we can't trace you. Was it an overnight stay or a meeting or lunch?

Fortunately the vast majority of our visitors have a positive experience.

Kind Regards

Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed last night at Rosslea Hall, an overnight stay with my elderly parents, we both were in disabled rooms, which were excellent. The Staff could not have been nicer and very considerate of my 85 year old very frail father. The food at dinner was fantastic and breakfast this morning was also very tasty and cooked fresh for you. Will certainly return for another visit soon. Only one thing wrong the church bells chime all night but that's not the hotels fault.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heather2401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D M, General Manager at Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your experience on Tripadvisor.
Your opinion matters a great deal to us and be assured I will pass your comments onto the relevant team members.

Thanks Again

Kind Regards

Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Had afternoon tea here recently. Food was just average and a better selection could have been offered. staff did not seem to know who we were although I had previously booked, and kept coming and asking us questions; rather disconcerting. for what was paid (and this was a present for us) it was not worth the money. Would not return or recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D M, General Manager at Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor. I am so disappointed to note your comments, simply because its the first time we have received negative feedback about our afternoon teas.
I'm sorry but cant accept your comment of it being poor value as we charge £14.95 for two which is almost half the price charged anywhere else. I do apologise that you did not like the experience and have spoken to the staff members who were serving the restaurant on Saturday afternoon. It was a particularly busy service which could have caused the staff to be asking questions regarding bookings but this should have been done in a way that did not upset you.
I note that you won't be back and that you would not recommend.
I would much rather you reconsidered and accept my invite to return for an afternoon tea on me, thus giving you the opportunity to experience our very popular afternoon tea as it should be and give me the opportunity to redeem our reputation.

Kind Regards

Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I had my wedding on the 8th November at the hotel and I can not praise the staff enough!
They bent over backwards to make sure myself and my guests were happy. The rooms are a great size, the beds were comfy and the food was fab! The meal for my wedding was amazing hats off to the cooks! And to Dom and lynn I thank you for all you help on my big day and to Jennifer for making sure everything was how I wanted it. The decorations for my winter wonderland wedding were perfect! all the little details finished it off! I had a fantastic time and would certainly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D M, General Manager at Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Clare

Thank you so much for your excellent review on tripadvisor. I am delighted that we achieved our goal which was to make sure your dreams all came true on your special day. It was our pleasure and I am extremely greatful for your positive feedback. I hope you will both come back to visit us at Rosslea Hall in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

On the 12th of November having been to a funeral,on our way home we decided to go into the Rosslea for a meal as we just live nearby.Having sat for 10-15mins,with three members of staff standing behind the bar talking ,we walked out in disgust.One being the on duty manageress,no one asked us if we would like a drink or if we were in for a meal.Its a lovely place but the staff need to get there act together and make customers feel welcome,we will not be back in a hurry.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D M, General Manager at Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking th time to post your review on Tripadvisor,

Please accept my sincere apologies for our shortfall in customer / guest service. I am very disappointed in the staff members involved and will not try to defend or make lame excuses for your bad experience. In my view it is unacceptable that any guest should leave feeing like this.
I can assure you I will be speaking to the three members of staff who were on duty and the appropriate action will be taken to avoid a re-occurence. I am proud of what we are achieving at Rosslea our reputation is getting better and better and I will not allow any staff member to tarnish this or treat guests in this fashion.

Please dont let this instance cloud your judgement as the vast majority of our visitors comment on how good the service was and what you received was not the norm. Please contact me directly to discuss further as I would like to try and redeem our reputation.

Kind Regards

Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

just spent a lovely one night stay at rosslea hall rhu for our wedding anniversary, had the cream tea for lunch which was lovely the room was clean with a fantastic view, had a meal at the bar in the evening which was first class, a nice touch was a lovely anniversary card from the staff which was in our room on arrival . The breakfast was again first class . looking forward to our next stay
already Thanks to all staff

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank 157baker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D M, General Manager at Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your very kind words and for taking the time to post a review of your experience on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit it is always reasuring and a pleasure to read comments such as yours.

Kind Regards

Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhu
6.8 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
16.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
3.1 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
8.2 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
2.7 mi away
Kilcreggan Hotel
Kilcreggan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilcreggan
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel

Address: Ferry Road | If Travelling by Car Please Use a Neighbouring Post Code of G84 8RL, Rhu, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 8NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Helensburgh > Rhu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rhu
Price Range: £62 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque village of Rhu overlooking the Firth of Clyde, near Loch Lomond. The Rosslea Hall offers you a choice of traditional elegance and modern facilities. Our award winning Restaurant and wedding venue are famed for the quality of food and service. Built in 1849 by Architect Daniel Walkinshaw, who was so enamoured by Italy in general, decided his house should be italian in style and built on the shores that most resembled his loved Bay of Naples. To this day, with its bell tower clearly visible from the peninsula in Rhu Rosslea still has the Italianate flavour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosslea Hall Country Hotel
Rosslea Hall Country Rhu
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel Rhu, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing