We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful B&B!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rowardennan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 4 Rowardennan B&B and Inns
Lesmahagow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful B&B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

After a long day of walking, this fantastic B&B was a great place to relax and rest tired legs! We were picked up in Rowardennan (and driven back the next day). A lovely touch for those walking the west highland way! We were given a very warm welcome and were shown to our room. It was delightful! Breakfast was superb, the freshly baked bread was so lovely! Thank you very much! We will spread the word about this excellent B&B.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alibali65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave comments for us. It's always good to hear what our guests think about their stay at the Shepherd's House.

Once again the fresh bread has made an impression ... sometimes the simplest things have the biggest impact! Now we've done a full season of B&B we know that the bread is a big hit with many guests, so we do particularly enjoy placing it on the breakfast table with everything else.

- Chris & Jenny Townsend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    4
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
49
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

It's a bit of a thought taking young kids to B&B's..but the Shepherd's House is superb. The family are so welcoming, the setting beautiful and there are numerous little touches in case you have forgotten anything for little people.
That said, I'd love to go there again too without children and enjoy a bit more of the countryside... Highly recommended!

Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Morag B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Thank you for taking the trouble to leave feedback for us. You would be most welcome to stay again, with or without children! We aim to be a safe and relaxing place to stay for any and all our guests.

- Chris & Jenny Townsend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marsascala, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

What can we say?? "SUPERB" ;-)
A very welcoming couple, very helpful and ready to assist at all times. Impressed with the cleanliness, well organised room and magnificent BREAKFAST. Had all what we needed and definetly recommend it. "WE WILL BE BACK". IN LOVE WITH THIS PLACE.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave comments for us. It means a lot to us to hear that our guests have enjoyed staying here as much as we have enjoyed looking after them.

- Chris & Jenny Townsend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

Service was brilliant: we were picked up after our evening meal and returned to the same spot to start our walk next day. The accommodation is outstanding: beautiful room with amazing facilities, toiletries, towels etc. Quality, range and amount of food at breakfast were all first class and well presented.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArchieD49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
After a busy first full season as B&B hosts we have finally found time to sit down and have a proper read through all the guest comments we have been receiving. Thank you for taking the time to write them - it is very encouraging.

Giving lifts to and from Rowardennan is one of the things Chris really enjoys doing as it offers a few minutes to find out who our guests are, what their plans are and how they are enjoying their holiday.

- Chris & Jenny Townsend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed for one night and it was the first holiday with our little one. A warm welcome when we arrived. Happy to find a nice cosy bedroom and we also had the use of the living space down stairs. All essential items for a baby were provided and even extras, which was a thoughtful touch. Every effort had been made for attention to detail and it made our stay even more comfortable. Breakfast was amazing, so much selection and all freshly prepared.......it was very good, probably the best breakfast we have ever had at a B&B.......the freshly baked bread was delicious! We will be back again as it's a great place to stay with a baby and to go out and explore the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dafya888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. We're delighted you chose us for baby's first holiday. Creating a safe and comfortable space for new families is one of the things we really wanted to get right so your feedback is very valuable to us.

- Chris & Jenny Townsend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konstanz, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

We were at the Shepherd´s House at the 2nd day of our walk at the WestHighlandWay. We had a warm welcome from Jenny and we get a small, but very lovely room with a bathroom. There was everything you need after a long walk- tea and coffee facilities, biscuits and Jenny gave us some cold milk. In the bathroom were shampoo, showergel, soap and so on from a special biologic company. There were also slipper and Bathrobe for the guest, We had a good quiet night there and at the morning there was a great breakfast- we could choose the breakfast at the night before- everything you want! Its the perfekt stay- specially for walker and we can recommend this guesthouse!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Franzi-Konstanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to offer us feedback via Tripadvisor. It has been a busy year and now it's done we are enjoying reading what our guests have had to say about us.

The eco-friendly toiletries are by Faith in Nature and we have started using them in our own bathroom too as we love them so much! We're glad these and the other things in your room helped you to have a relaxing stay.

- Chris & Jenny Townsend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breuberg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

We travelled Scotland for about 12 days and for the end we stayed at Sheperd's house at Loch Lomond. It was a great end to a wonderful trip! The B&B was very clean and the welcome was so friendly! Chris and Jenny really have a wonderful home and the sleeping room is very welcoming as is the bathroom. It was nice that we could use the dining room in the evening to play or just sit and talk and we also liked that we had our own entrance. It just felt like beeing in a self-catering cottage instead of a B&B.
The breakfast, made by Jenny, was gorgeous! It was soooo lovely - the self made toast and the self made hot parts, just awesome!
If we will be going to Scotland again, we really would like to stay again at Loch Lomond and do this at Sheperd's house, if possible!
Thanks again to those two!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LadySvenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for giving us such a great review. We've had a busy first full season as B&B hosts and now we finally have time to reflect on the year just passed it has been very encouraging to receive so many positive comments from our guests.

Giving people space to relax is important to us so we're glad you enjoyed being able to have the dining room to yourselves. Chris wanted to add that he is the chef though! Jenny, on the other hand, is responsible for the bedroom you found so welcoming. We are both very glad you enjoyed what we do as much as we enjoyed doing it.

- Chris & Jenny Townsend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowardennan
6.9 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
2.1 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
8.0 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Rowardennan Lodge SYHA
Rowardennan Lodge SYHA
#1 of 2 in Rowardennan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rowardennan Hotel
Rowardennan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Rowardennan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
3.4 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#1 of 3 in Balmaha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2 Forestry Cottages | Sallochy, Rowardennan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0AW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Rowardennan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rowardennan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Shepherd’s House, our timber cottage at the heart of Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park. We are on the West Highland Way near Rowardennan, a great location, whether you’re on foot or exploring the Highlands by car. Our en-suite double room offers traditional bed and breakfast with exclusive use of your own private dining/sitting room. Our shepherd's hut, situated just outside the main house, offers bed and breakfast with a difference. It is a double room with en suite. A hearty hot and cold breakfast hamper is served in your accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast Rowardennan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing