We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A satisfying and perfect stay during west highland way”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rowardennan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 3 Rowardennan B&B and Inns
neilybhoy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A satisfying and perfect stay during west highland way”
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

Myself and my mate stayed here after our first day walking on the West Highland Way. After a long walk from Glasgow we were met by our host who picked us up at the Rowardennan Hotel at 7.30 pm. This was a welcome service as we were both out on our feet. By the time we arrived at the Hut it was dark, however we had no problem In locating everything we required. The Hut has a double bed, and although we were two guys, we managed to have a great night sleep without even looking at each other! Ample room. I got a bit of a ribbing for booking a double bed, however as soon as we lay down we were out for the count. In the morning we were met by our wonderful breakfast which had everything required and set us up for the day. We were returned to our walk in the morning by our host and we honestly couldn't have asked for anything more, our wet clothes were even dried out in the main house. I would definitely return and recommend a stay here.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank neilybhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in the Shepherd's Rest. It is designed with couples in mind but the main thing is that you're happy in each other's company!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    5
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
50
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We stayed in the Sheppard house rest in the wagon last summer as part of our west highland way walking holiday. We loved the wagon and the breakfast was delicious, and the presentation was perfect. The hosts where very nice and very helpful. We found the location a bit of a let down, as I was in the mood for some pub grub and a pint and it does feel a bit isolated, I also hope that the owners are doing something about those miggies.. they where relentless

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cariocacaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Thank you for your comments. We're not off the beaten track as it happens - we're about 50 yards from the West Highland Way path. We are, however, about three miles from the nearest pub, and that's how we like it! Some folk do prefer to have a pub next door and we always recommend the Rowardennan Hotel or the Oak Tree Inn in Balmaha for travellers who prefer to have all the facilities of an inn on site. However, for sheer peace and tranquillity we don't believe it's possible to beat our little forest clearing.

Midges are a force of nature we can't control, nor would we wish to as they are food for several endangered species of bats that inhabit the area. There is always a midge net in place during the season to keep them out of your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

This is a fantastic B&B that is located well for spending a few nights exploring the Loch Lomond area. The hosts are great, very helpful, the rooms (bedroom and lounge area) are lovely and cosy and the breakfasts are fantastic! We spend 2 nights here, and thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahMW05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave comments for us - it was a pleasure to have you here as our first guests of 2013. We made some changes to the sitting/dining room during last winter and are delighted to hear that you found it so cosy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

My fiancé and I stayed at the Shepherds rest ‘hut’ in June and September whilst walking the West highland way, and what a great stay we had on both occasions
Firstly I have to say how friendly and warm our hosts were throughout our stay, they show great pride in what they do and the service they provide and are truly great hosts. Well done and keep up the great work!
The hut is a great alternative style of accommodation that has everything you require, including a very comfy bed and great shower, just perfect after a long hard walk on the WHW.
We both had a great relaxing night at the shepherds rest listening to the radio and playing some of the games available (touring Scotland being our favourite!) it really is a great place to ‘get away from it all’ and take in the beautiful surroundings and peaceful environment that it is set in.
The breakfast is very nice and the Haggis, sausage and egg bap I had with fresh coffee and orange juice was just the start needed for another days hike around Loch Lomond
This place is a real hidden gem and we will definitely be back

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
We were really excited to get your enquiry after a second visit to stay in the Shepherd's Rest. It took us a little over 12 months to get our first repeat guests in the Shepherd's Room, located within the house, so for our wee shepherd's hut to earn itself a return stay after just three months was just fantastic. It has been a very busy season and we have had little time to stop and assess how well the Shepherd's Rest has performed, so the fact you came back for more, and so soon, was very helpful! Thank you for visiting, and for telling everyone about it via TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rural Scotland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

we spent a night in the Shepherd's Rest, the stylish hut situated to the side of the Shepherd's House B&B. Every item in the hut has been well thought through and perfectly placed to give a feeling of space. It is a small space but we never felt cramped. My husband and i brought our 8 year old son as a treat and we all adored it! Thankfully it was a sunny evening and we walked along the west highland way to the Beech Tree Inn, for a lovely meal and having had a few drinks loved that we could walk back. It is quite a walk, not just in length but for the stunning views of the loch and hills. It was a beautifully peaceful sleep, we did brave the windows being open a little bit because it was a warm night and it was very warm with all three of us in there! It would be lovely and cosy in the winter. We had been given a breakfast card to fill out and we had a knock at the door 5 minutes before it arrived so we could make ourselves decent. An absolutely delicious breakfast was brought to us in a huge hamper with excellent ingredients and stylishly presented. The ensuite shower room was great. Lovely, smiley hosts made us feel like we had been on a beautifully relaxing holiday rather than just one night away. Highly recommend for people with a child - our son LOVED the top bunk! Also, the wifi connection was great!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acwRuralScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Thank you for your review. You were one of the first to book a night at the Shepherd's Rest, at the end of 2011 when it was still being built! We're delighted to hear that our promise of a small, unique hideaway on the east lochside lived up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

A mixed review I'm afraid.

Walked the West Highland Way with my brother, two sons and nephew.

The "boys" all adults in their 20's and 30's and 6-footers.

My brother and I were in the main house and the accommodation was good.

The three boys however were housed in the external "wagon" which whilst clean and reasonably well fitted was clearly not adequate for three adults, both in terms of size or comfort i.e. it was not a warm night but excessively warm and stuffy inside with three people resident (I shudder to think of inside temperatues when/if we actually get some summer weather). They were advised midge prescence rendered window opening to be unwise, so a pretty warm, uncomfotable evening.

They were able to join us in the house for most of the evening, but had they been an independent part would have developed genuine "cabin fever".

I think the cabin may be suitable for children/teens, or at best a couple, but not for our party, details of which known at time of booking.

Don't want this review to be deemed too negative, as the house, breakfast and hospitality were all good.

Only other minor niggle...several remoter B & B's have a pick-up on arrival and drop-off in morning service for walkers. The "latest this could be provided was 7.30pm. This is pretty early for such a remote location (unlike others we stayed in) for adults to be confined to quarters (and more so for 3 adults in a wagon). This however can be worked round and not a big issue.

Hope this explains the rating given which reflects an overall average for the two accommodation types.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Unfortunately there seems to have been a communications breakdown between Jim C, who wrote this review, his brother K, who made the booking on 13 January and had all the information about the accommodation, and their sons/nephews who travelled with them. Many of our guests have booked the shepherd's hut in preference to the room this season, while others who stayed in the room have vowed to return so they can stay in the hut. Jenny and I don't accept there is any 'variance' in the quality of our two rooms, though they are certainly very different, a fact we are always ready to explain to potential guests who tell us they don't know what a shepherd's hut is.

We were aware of the party size due to K's initial enquiry through our website, but not that this was an all-male adult family group. We would normally expect our guests to take a common-sense approach to deciding whether our accommodation is suitable for them; we described the Shepherd's Rest to K as a "cabin based on the design of a traditional shepherd's hut" with a "double bed plus single bunk above" - a fair and accurate description of a type of accommodation that has become very popular at B&Bs up and down the UK over the past 10 years and has been widely featured in print and on TV especially in the last 18 months.

We would have been delighted to offer further description and photos at time of booking if asked. We were not asked. We would have suggested the hut was unlikely to to be suitable for three adult males, if asked. Again we were not asked. Furthermore, K did not query the nature of our accommodation when he received our welcome leaflet, which includes interior and exterior photos of the hut and the double room in the house.

At the time he made the booking, and afterwards when he received the welcome leaflet, K was clearly happy to take double beds plus a bunk in a small hut on behalf of his sons/nephews and a double room for himself and his brother.

However, on the first of the two lift runs necessary to transport the whole party to the house that evening I took the three younger men and in conversation it quickly became clear that none of them knew the accommodation booked for them was a shepherd's hut that included a double bed, with a fold-down cabin bunk above it.

Given the content of Jim C's review it appears that he was also unaware of the email exchange between K and myself in the run-up to their stay in which he enquired after a later lift time and I explained that family circumstances made this impossible. We do try to be as flexible as possible however we are a small, family-run B&B without the resources to provide transport on demand. If our complimentary lifts do not suit our guests, we are always happy to recommend our local taxi company, based just down the road in Drymen, which regularly provides transfers for guests walking the West Highland Way. In fact, I provided the Drymen Taxis number to K and suggested they might like to stay later at the bar and travel to the house by cab later in the evening. He then said our lift at 7.30pm would be fine.

Needing to keep the doors and windows shut against the infamous biting Highland midges was unfortunate but as explained to the guests on arrival, the midge population is exceptional this year. It has been widely reported in the Press over the past couple of weeks that the numbers are the worst in decades. Enough of them are able to find their way past our midge screens as to still pose a problem. Sadly this is a force of nature beyond our control. In a more typical year a screened window or door can be left ajar without allowing significant numbers of midges to get in. We have also provided a fan in the hut to help keep things cool however the guests apparently chose not to use this.

This family group had an enjoyable evening in our dining room until quite late in the evening and left here in good spirits the following morning. If Jim C, his brother K or any of the lads were unhappy, they never breathed a word to us about it though they had ample opportunity during breakfast or as I gave them their lift back to the trail. This review is the first we have heard of it.

Jim C says in his review that the shepherd's hut would be more suited to a couple, perhaps with an older child. Jenny and I absolutely agree with this, as do the very many couples and families who have stayed in it this season. Many of them have said so in our guest book; one couple has already booked a second stay and will be with us in September having first stayed in the hut in June, just three weeks before Jim C's party.

Thank you for your comments Jim, and we hope you had an enjoyable holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We have stayed in many a B&B and were very impressed to have our own sitting room as well as a bedroom - highly unusual! It was also lovely to be the only guests in the main house, unable to hear anyone else. This is a very special B&B and Chris and Jenny have taken a lot of time to find bits and pieces to make your stay special - didn't risk the Soor Plums! A lovely trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2010Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. The slightly quirky layout of the Shepherd's House has allowed us to offer guests using the Shepherd's Room exclusive use of the room below as well. This is something we're looking to make much more of ... if you come back in 2013 you should find a small fridge and a microwave in there as well, plus a few more home comforts to help you make best use of all that space!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowardennan
2.1 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
2.3 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
6.9 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
440 reviews
3.0 mi away
Rowardennan Lodge SYHA
Rowardennan Lodge SYHA
#1 of 2 in Rowardennan
192 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rowardennan Hotel
Rowardennan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rowardennan
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2 Forestry Cottages | Sallochy, Rowardennan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0AW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Rowardennan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rowardennan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Shepherd’s House, our timber cottage at the heart of Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park. We are on the West Highland Way near Rowardennan, a great location, whether you’re on foot or exploring the Highlands by car. Our en-suite double room offers traditional bed and breakfast with exclusive use of your own private dining/sitting room. Our shepherd's hut, situated just outside the main house, offers bed and breakfast with a difference. It is a double room with en suite. A hearty hot and cold breakfast hamper is served in your accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast Rowardennan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing