We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Rowardennan Hotel(Rowardennan)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
66
6
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
6
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshepherds housethe main housescotch brothb bsspread the wordloch lomondwhw walkersafter a long daypacked lunchchrishutsuppermattressscotlandhiking
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed in the Shepherd's Room for one night. This comprises of a little private dinning room and a bedroom with an en-suite. The location was perfect and only a short walk to the loch. The b&b was charming and decorated with lots of cosy touches of home. The breakfast was tasty and plentiful and the hosts were very friendly. Would recommend this for a peaceful break or to rest weary walkers feet.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anjajetset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

When we arrived we were greeted by our lovely hosts,Chris and Jenny. We stayed in the shepherds rest ,i got all giddy with excitement wirh all the perfect little details ( Kirsty Allsop eat your heart out!). Everything was beautifully clean and there was attention to detail in everything.Careful thought had been given to make sure that everything complimented and perfectly equiped the hut. The bed was very comfy and cosy on a rainy scottish night.
Now the best bit was the mist amazing breakfast, delivered in a huge basket and beautifully and uniquiely wrapped was bountiful amounts of deliciously cooked and prepaired food. We had haggis,porrige, tattie scones, bacon baps..delicious! We had a lovely stroll down to the lock and took in the breath takeing scenery
Please can we return very soon????!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fostermummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thank you for your very kind comments - please return as soon as you like!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Walking the WHW with my husband there is no other place I would consider staying. The Shepherds house is a top quality B&B with all the privacy you will ever need. Chris and Jenny are such a lovely couple, so friendly. I must say it was great to see that the toiletries haven't changed since our last visit......they are absolutely fantastic! Have now purchased my own since coming home. Honestly the breakfast with home baked bread is a delight in the morning and I would recommend a packed lunch as it is by far the best you will get from any B&B. they have a fantastic addition to their accommodation with the Shepherds Rest. It is absolutely gorgeous. Will return again and Jenny Thank You for my chocolates as a returning guest. Both Paddy and I enjoyed them.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuciaRodneyBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

To receive a returning guest is to receive a great compliment. Thank you!

The toiletries in both the Shepherd's Rooms apartment and the Shepherd's Rest hut are environmentally friendly, paraben and SLES-free products by Faith in Nature. They are also vegetarian and vegan friendly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Shepherd's house's hunter's hut is for people of medium height. It is most satisfactory, and Chris is a very courteous host, and even drove us from and to the rowardennan hotel in order for us to not have to stray from the west highland way. Breakfast was vast and comprehensive, and they spared no expense. Speaking of which - the prices were very reasonable and we slept like logs in the hut.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henrythebestdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thank you for your kind feedback. We worked hard to come up with a hearty, yet portable breakfast that we could serve to guests in the shepherd's hut and we're glad to hear it did the trick for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Because we were unable to find accommodation at Rowardennan on the West Highland Way, we were pleased when we managed to obtain a booking at The Shepherds House. On arrival we quickly realised that we had lost a penny and gained a pound - such a lovely place to stay, peaceful, comfortable and all the little extras which made our one night stay such a memorable experience. Everything was perfect for us and we cannot thank our hosts enough for making us feel so welcome and so 'at home'.

Room Tip: The apartment was a joy to stay in.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. The Shepherd's House is a happy family home and we hope a little of that rubs off on our guests, although we do work hard to ensure you get your own peaceful space while you're here.

The east lochside is sparsely populated and this does result in a shortage of accommodation at times, especially during the peak walking season on the West Highland Way. We are just three miles from Rowardennan in a tranquil forest clearing, so we are a practical place to stop at the end of day two of a typical seven-day holiday on the Way, as well as a unique experience for travellers looking for something other than an inn a night during their trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews