We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rowardennan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 3 Rowardennan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here during our WHW walk in August 2013. Very nice, clean and comfortable B&B. The house is about 2-3km south of Rowerdennan which I did not fully appreciate when booking. We were warmly welcomed on our arrival. We dropped off our hiking gear, showered and then walked the 2-3km to the Rowerdennan hotel for dinner. The B&B owner (Chris) arranged to collect us from the hotel at 7pm and drove us back to the B&B. Great service. The following mornings breakfast was by far the best breakfast we had during our hike. I would thoroughly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you for your very kind comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay in our little forest clearing. We recognise that we are in an isolated location (actually, we believe this is one of the great things about staying here). We send out a welcome leaflet to all our guests ahead of their stay to make sure they know where we are and what are their options for an evening meal, which is especially important for walkers. As detailed in your leaflet, we normally require lifts between the house and the Rowardennan Hotel to be booked ahead of your holiday but fortunately we were able to help you out on the spot on this occasion.

Our B&B is pinpointed on all the main internet mapping services as well as on our own website and we encourage all our guests, but especially those who are planning to spend a week walking the often remote West Highland Way to Fort William, to know exactly where all their accommodation is located, and the locations of other key services, before they set out on the trail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

I'm a little late in writing this review...but better late than never! My fiance and I stayed in the Shepherd's Rest for 2 nights in April. It is a gorgeous wee place - beautifully decorated and very comfortable. It IS small, but you know that before you book, so it was no problem for us. Personally, I think it just add to it's charm! There is underfloor heating, which feel fabulous on the tootsies after a day walking and the breakfast hamper is unbelievable. Not only is the food tasty, but there is loads of it. To add to the specialness of the weekend, my lovely fiance proposed at the top of Ben Lomond and when we came back to the Shepherd's Rest, Jenny and Chris were waiting for us with a bottle of pink champers (provided by the fiance) and some lovely chocolates (from Jenny and Chris - thank you!!) Our time spent at the Shepherd;s Rest couldn't have been more perfect. The accommodation is adorable (comfortable and functional), the breakfast is plentiful, and the hosts are wonderful - they are really warm and friendly, and won't hesitate to go that extra mile for you. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StarsShiningBright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

We can't wait to welcome you back! Keeping your champagne hidden while your fiance waited to propose to you on Ben Lomond is definitely one of our high points this season. We work hard to create happy memories for our guests but we love it when our guests create happy memories for us too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed in the Shepherd's Room for one night. This comprises of a little private dinning room and a bedroom with an en-suite. The location was perfect and only a short walk to the loch. The b&b was charming and decorated with lots of cosy touches of home. The breakfast was tasty and plentiful and the hosts were very friendly. Would recommend this for a peaceful break or to rest weary walkers feet.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anjajetset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

When we arrived we were greeted by our lovely hosts,Chris and Jenny. We stayed in the shepherds rest ,i got all giddy with excitement wirh all the perfect little details ( Kirsty Allsop eat your heart out!). Everything was beautifully clean and there was attention to detail in everything.Careful thought had been given to make sure that everything complimented and perfectly equiped the hut. The bed was very comfy and cosy on a rainy scottish night.
Now the best bit was the mist amazing breakfast, delivered in a huge basket and beautifully and uniquiely wrapped was bountiful amounts of deliciously cooked and prepaired food. We had haggis,porrige, tattie scones, bacon baps..delicious! We had a lovely stroll down to the lock and took in the breath takeing scenery
Please can we return very soon????!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fostermummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thank you for your very kind comments - please return as soon as you like!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Walking the WHW with my husband there is no other place I would consider staying. The Shepherds house is a top quality B&B with all the privacy you will ever need. Chris and Jenny are such a lovely couple, so friendly. I must say it was great to see that the toiletries haven't changed since our last visit......they are absolutely fantastic! Have now purchased my own since coming home. Honestly the breakfast with home baked bread is a delight in the morning and I would recommend a packed lunch as it is by far the best you will get from any B&B. they have a fantastic addition to their accommodation with the Shepherds Rest. It is absolutely gorgeous. Will return again and Jenny Thank You for my chocolates as a returning guest. Both Paddy and I enjoyed them.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuciaRodneyBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

To receive a returning guest is to receive a great compliment. Thank you!

The toiletries in both the Shepherd's Rooms apartment and the Shepherd's Rest hut are environmentally friendly, paraben and SLES-free products by Faith in Nature. They are also vegetarian and vegan friendly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Shepherd's house's hunter's hut is for people of medium height. It is most satisfactory, and Chris is a very courteous host, and even drove us from and to the rowardennan hotel in order for us to not have to stray from the west highland way. Breakfast was vast and comprehensive, and they spared no expense. Speaking of which - the prices were very reasonable and we slept like logs in the hut.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henrythebestdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thank you for your kind feedback. We worked hard to come up with a hearty, yet portable breakfast that we could serve to guests in the shepherd's hut and we're glad to hear it did the trick for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Because we were unable to find accommodation at Rowardennan on the West Highland Way, we were pleased when we managed to obtain a booking at The Shepherds House. On arrival we quickly realised that we had lost a penny and gained a pound - such a lovely place to stay, peaceful, comfortable and all the little extras which made our one night stay such a memorable experience. Everything was perfect for us and we cannot thank our hosts enough for making us feel so welcome and so 'at home'.

Room Tip: The apartment was a joy to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. The Shepherd's House is a happy family home and we hope a little of that rubs off on our guests, although we do work hard to ensure you get your own peaceful space while you're here.

The east lochside is sparsely populated and this does result in a shortage of accommodation at times, especially during the peak walking season on the West Highland Way. We are just three miles from Rowardennan in a tranquil forest clearing, so we are a practical place to stop at the end of day two of a typical seven-day holiday on the Way, as well as a unique experience for travellers looking for something other than an inn a night during their trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowardennan
7.8 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,270 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rowardennan Hotel
Rowardennan Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rowardennan
714 reviews
9.2 mi away
Garrison of Inversnaid
Garrison of Inversnaid
#2 of 2 in Inversnaid
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Rowardennan Lodge SYHA
Rowardennan Lodge SYHA
#1 of 3 in Rowardennan
218 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2 Forestry Cottages | Sallochy, Rowardennan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0AW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Rowardennan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rowardennan
Price Range: £45 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Shepherd’s House, our timber cottage at the heart of Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park. We are on the West Highland Way near Rowardennan, a great location, whether you’re on foot or exploring the Highlands by car. Our en-suite double room offers traditional bed and breakfast with exclusive use of your own private dining/sitting room. Our shepherd's hut, situated just outside the main house, offers bed and breakfast with a difference. It is a double room with en suite. A hearty hot and cold breakfast hamper is served in your accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast Rowardennan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing