We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Rowardennan Hotel(Rowardennan)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
66
6
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
6
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshepherds housethe main housescotch brothb bsspread the wordloch lomondwhw walkersafter a long daypacked lunchchrishutsuppermattressscotlandhiking
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This is an absolute gem of a place. Great, friendly service. The hut has lovely little touchesto make your stay a little bit more special. Every possible need is taken care of. I would recommend this place as a good place to stay for those travelling the West highland Way and for those who just fancy short walks along the Loch. Although we stayed in November, the hut was lovely and snug.

Room Tip: We stayed in the hut, which was lovely
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eilidh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

It was lovely to welcome you to stay in our shepherd's hut and we're glad you appreciated the little touches as much as we enjoyed putting them there.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Lovely B&B with a great breakfast which we just couldn't do justice to.
If you are walking the West Highland Way make sure that you take advantage of the Rowerdennan collect and drop off offered - those last 3 miles seem a very long 3 miles and we wouldn't have wanted to add them to the 14 miles to Beinglas next day!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogerandwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We enjoy laying on a good breakfast, especially for walkers, as we know you need plenty of fuel for the day ahead!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here during our WHW walk in August 2013. Very nice, clean and comfortable B&B. The house is about 2-3km south of Rowerdennan which I did not fully appreciate when booking. We were warmly welcomed on our arrival. We dropped off our hiking gear, showered and then walked the 2-3km to the Rowerdennan hotel for dinner. The B&B owner (Chris) arranged to collect us from the hotel at 7pm and drove us back to the B&B. Great service. The following mornings breakfast was by far the best breakfast we had during our hike. I would thoroughly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you for your very kind comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay in our little forest clearing. We recognise that we are in an isolated location (actually, we believe this is one of the great things about staying here). We send out a welcome leaflet to all our guests ahead of their stay to make sure they know where we are and what are their options for an evening meal, which is especially important for walkers. As detailed in your leaflet, we normally require lifts between the house and the Rowardennan Hotel to be booked ahead of your holiday but fortunately we were able to help you out on the spot on this occasion.

Our B&B is pinpointed on all the main internet mapping services as well as on our own website and we encourage all our guests, but especially those who are planning to spend a week walking the often remote West Highland Way to Fort William, to know exactly where all their accommodation is located, and the locations of other key services, before they set out on the trail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I'm a little late in writing this review...but better late than never! My fiance and I stayed in the Shepherd's Rest for 2 nights in April. It is a gorgeous wee place - beautifully decorated and very comfortable. It IS small, but you know that before you book, so it was no problem for us. Personally, I think it just add to it's charm! There is underfloor heating, which feel fabulous on the tootsies after a day walking and the breakfast hamper is unbelievable. Not only is the food tasty, but there is loads of it. To add to the specialness of the weekend, my lovely fiance proposed at the top of Ben Lomond and when we came back to the Shepherd's Rest, Jenny and Chris were waiting for us with a bottle of pink champers (provided by the fiance) and some lovely chocolates (from Jenny and Chris - thank you!!) Our time spent at the Shepherd;s Rest couldn't have been more perfect. The accommodation is adorable (comfortable and functional), the breakfast is plentiful, and the hosts are wonderful - they are really warm and friendly, and won't hesitate to go that extra mile for you. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StarsShiningBright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

We can't wait to welcome you back! Keeping your champagne hidden while your fiance waited to propose to you on Ben Lomond is definitely one of our high points this season. We work hard to create happy memories for our guests but we love it when our guests create happy memories for us too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed in the Shepherd's Room for one night. This comprises of a little private dinning room and a bedroom with an en-suite. The location was perfect and only a short walk to the loch. The b&b was charming and decorated with lots of cosy touches of home. The breakfast was tasty and plentiful and the hosts were very friendly. Would recommend this for a peaceful break or to rest weary walkers feet.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anjajetset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews