We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
66
6
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
6
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshepherds housethe main housescotch brothb bsspread the wordloch lomondwhw walkersafter a long daypacked lunchchrishutsuppermattressscotlandhiking
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 lovely and cosy nights in The Shepherd's Hut which provided a great base to explore Loch Lomond.

Our fab hosts provided a breakfast that set us up nicely for a day in the hills.

The Hut had everything we needed for a weekend getaway.

We shall be recommending to friends!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank H_UK37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We do appreciate it. When we fitted the hut out we spent a long time planning how to fit everything in and it's great to hear guests who stay in it, find that everything they need is there, even though it's a small space.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Sometimes when you look forward to something for a long time and put it on a pedestal, it can only be a disappointment. When it comes to the Shepherd's Hut, this is not the case. I spent a month anticipating our stay, and was still absolutely delighted with it. Comfy, cosy, and absolutely delightful. Chris and Jenny are the perfect hosts. And oh the breakfast... this was definitely one of the best brekkies we had during our WHW adventure! It's a really romantic and special place to stay, we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JemmaEatWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

We try very hard to live up to our guests expectations, so it's great to get reviews like this and find out we're doing ok. Thank you for your very kind comments and we hope we will see you again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We are just back today from a lovely nights stay at The Sheperd's Rest and I can honestly say I didn't want to leave! Everything the reviews led me to believe and more!
Chris and Jenny were so welcoming, the hut was perfect inside, the underfloor heating was a lovely experience, all the little quirks just add to the beauty and the hidden treasures under the bed made our evening very entertaining! The breakfast was fantastic, couldn't have asked for more, porridge reminded me of my granny, left with a warm feeling inside!! Will definitely be back!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SarahM2602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for your comments, especially about our porridge. That's praise indeed! Do come back, we would love to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Just spent 2 nights at Chris and Jenny's Shepherd's Hut, which I booked as a birthday gift for my husband. I expected, going by fellow reviewers' comments and photos, a rather different and unique B&B experience, and we were certainly not disappointed!! We got there after a very cold, wet and windy drive, to be welcomed by Jenny who had already switched on the underfloor heating in the hut. So snug and cosy! They also let us use their crockery for the snacks and drinks we had brought for our first night, and then cleared them up for us next morning. 1st class service!
The breakfast hamper is indeed as good as you can read in all reviews and can put many fancy/expensive hotels' breakfast to shame. Having food of such quality, presented with so much care and attention to detail, delivered right to your doorstep for you to enjoy how and when you fancy it's pure 5 star luxury.

Thanks again Jenny and Chris for a lovely weekend. We're hopingto be back in September/October, this time for my birthday treat. You guys have created a great idea and product, and I'm sure you must be very pround of it. Well done!!!
PS: I described the hut style as "granny chic" on the comments we wrote on the guest book. I hope you realise it's a compliment, of course! :-)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoreaTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

The underfloor heating is one of the things we most love telling our guests about, when they arrive on a cold evening. There's nothing quite like climbing out of bed, or out of the shower, and feeling the lovely warm floor underfoot! We're really glad you enjoyed your stay and would love to see you again, for a birthday treat or any other occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We were really grateful that the lovely hosts at The Shepherd's House opened a week early for us so we could stay in the Shepherds hut. It was a delightful place to stay and something different from the run of the mill. The hut makes the best use of all of the available space and it was interesting to explore all the ingenious touches. It is decorated in a whimsical style that makes it feel really pretty and cosy.

The hostess met us with a friendly welcome and fetched us some crockery, cutlery and wine glasses so we could eat our picnic of bread, cheeses and nibbles on the fold out table (from the farm shop at Tebay M6 services - thoroughly recommended if you are travelling up here). It was nice that they were so relaxed and we could do this.

In the morning we were really impressed by the hamper of food delivered to our door (always nice to be able to have breakfast in PJs). We had a huge crock pot of the best made porridge I have had in a long time and scottish filled breakfast buns. All in all that set us up for the day nicely.

The location is fab, we arrived fairly late in the afternoon after a 4 hour drive from down south but as the hut is a stones throw from the loch itself we easily managed to get to the banks of the loch, enjoy the view and have a wander before it got dark. We would love to go back to Loch Lomond, a beautiful place!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 83blonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

It's always a pleasure to welcome people to the hut who "get it" - delivering breakfast to guests in PJs is always a good sign, it tells us you've relaxed and given in to the immense peace of the east Lochside. Thank you for your visit, we would be delighted to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews