We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Relaxing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rowardennan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 3 Rowardennan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 August 2014

After 2 days walking the West Highland way this place was great! we spent the night listening to the radio, reading and relazing in the lovely hut. The hut is small but that is part of the charm!Everything you could need was in the hut!

The Breakfast the next day was great!! Definately worth a visit!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nia_rosina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
There are newer reviews for The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

Although we can definitely see how this place gets high ratings, we did not like it as much as others did. I must admit we arrived here with high expectations after our outstanding stay at bramblewood b&b the night before. Still a well run b&b which we do recommend for one night, especially if walking the WHW.

High points:
- dedicated and well organized owner
- very functional cottage, you'll only need to bring yourself
- good breakfast with homemade bread
- free ride from Rowardennan in the evening and back in the morning

Low points:
- very small room (the smallest of our 10 nights in the region)
- the bedroom and bathrom were full of midges despite us not opening the window. The nets, though a great idea, did not seem particularly effective.
- the room was too warm and the air very stuffy despite the heater being turned off (we did open the window during the night but then our sleep was distrubed by loud bird singings)
- strange wifi policy (it states that the originally unsecured wifi can become password-locked and therefore unaccessible to guests at any time for personnal reasons. It did not happen during our stay but to I would have been disappointed if it did)

Overall we did not have a good night's sleep here but may be more lucky next time. If you are a good sleeper and don't mind a tiny room, you'll be perfectly fine here.

Note that there is nothing to eat within less than 1 hour walk from there. If you do the WHW but do not feel like walking all the way to Rowardennan for dinner (from where you can get a free pick up back to the b&b), a good trick is to pack a soup or other light meal from ... Where you'll probably have lunch.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eutectique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for your very detailed comments. In answer to your question, "A bit overrated?", Jenny and I are content to let our guests answer that for us; at time of writing, 45 out of our 50 guest reviews are 5 out of 5 and only three have rated us average since we opened in 2010. Trip Advisor rates us 5 out of 5 overall, and has awarded us the Certificate of Excellence for 2014.

We're glad you appreciated us being organised and providing everything you needed for your stay, including a free lift from the restaurant. We trust you also appreciated the help we gave you in finding the World Cup warm up match you were keen to see, but which was on a channel well buried in the satellite box in your bedroom.

I would like to answer your 'low points' one at a time.

First, it seems odd that you have chosen to review the size of your bedroom while not mentioning any of the rest of the space you booked. You stayed in our en suite apartment, which is a private annexe to the main house. It is on two floors and has its own sitting and dining room downstairs, then up a private staircase to your en suite double bedroom. In all, you had exclusive access to well over 85 sq ft of space to relax and spread out. While there are certainly far larger bedrooms out there, ours is definitely not "tiny" as you described.

Second, while the Scottish midge is legendary, even they can't get in through a window that hasn't been opened. We are well aware of the need to control them and take an extra half hour per room throughout the midge season to ensure there are none present before you check in.

Third - we can't control the birdsong, nor would we wish to. Guests frequently complement us on the excellent sleep they enjoyed while they were here.

Finally, you have clearly read our WiFi policy closely, so it is very disappointing that you have chosen to quote it selectively in your review. Broadband internet is a precarious commodity in remote rural communities. It is slow and unreliable, yet we have to rely on it, foremost to help us run our business, and then for all the usual family requirements of a home internet connection. We make our home broadband available to you free of charge, on the understanding that, occasionally, where our own business or family needs require it, you accept that it may become unavailable to you for a short time. As it happens, this occurs only very rarely. It did not happen on the night you stayed with us, so again, it's disappointing that you have chosen to make a criticism out of an inconvenience you did not suffer.

As an afterthought, I noticed you rated our location as 2 out of 5, while not offering any particular comment on it. I must admit, as I look out of the window at stunning mountain scenery with a glittering loch just through the trees, I find that the most difficult thing to understand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I planned our west highland way trip around our stay here and i wasn't disappointed. The owner kindly picked us up after dinner from the rowardennan hotel and after a short drive we were settled in to the shepherds hut, the underfloor heating meant we were cosy all night. The bed was surprisingly big and very comfy and the beautifully decorated hut contains everything you could require just cleverly consealed. The hot breakfast hamper was excellent and included a wide choice of goodies delivered to your door. I would really like to stay here again in the future. My husband only complaint was that he couldn't take the tunnocks teacakes with him in his rucksack for fear of squashing them he would prefer a more robust tunnocks caramel log!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jillicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for leaving us a review. The debate over Tunnocks caramel logs versus teacakes is age old and will doubtless go on for a long time to come! The only solution to a teacake that's liable to get squashed in your bag is to eat it there and then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 lovely and cosy nights in The Shepherd's Hut which provided a great base to explore Loch Lomond.

Our fab hosts provided a breakfast that set us up nicely for a day in the hills.

The Hut had everything we needed for a weekend getaway.

We shall be recommending to friends!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank H_UK37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We do appreciate it. When we fitted the hut out we spent a long time planning how to fit everything in and it's great to hear guests who stay in it, find that everything they need is there, even though it's a small space.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Sometimes when you look forward to something for a long time and put it on a pedestal, it can only be a disappointment. When it comes to the Shepherd's Hut, this is not the case. I spent a month anticipating our stay, and was still absolutely delighted with it. Comfy, cosy, and absolutely delightful. Chris and Jenny are the perfect hosts. And oh the breakfast... this was definitely one of the best brekkies we had during our WHW adventure! It's a really romantic and special place to stay, we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JemmaEatWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

We try very hard to live up to our guests expectations, so it's great to get reviews like this and find out we're doing ok. Thank you for your very kind comments and we hope we will see you again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We are just back today from a lovely nights stay at The Sheperd's Rest and I can honestly say I didn't want to leave! Everything the reviews led me to believe and more!
Chris and Jenny were so welcoming, the hut was perfect inside, the underfloor heating was a lovely experience, all the little quirks just add to the beauty and the hidden treasures under the bed made our evening very entertaining! The breakfast was fantastic, couldn't have asked for more, porridge reminded me of my granny, left with a warm feeling inside!! Will definitely be back!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SarahM2602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for your comments, especially about our porridge. That's praise indeed! Do come back, we would love to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Just spent 2 nights at Chris and Jenny's Shepherd's Hut, which I booked as a birthday gift for my husband. I expected, going by fellow reviewers' comments and photos, a rather different and unique B&B experience, and we were certainly not disappointed!! We got there after a very cold, wet and windy drive, to be welcomed by Jenny who had already switched on the underfloor heating in the hut. So snug and cosy! They also let us use their crockery for the snacks and drinks we had brought for our first night, and then cleared them up for us next morning. 1st class service!
The breakfast hamper is indeed as good as you can read in all reviews and can put many fancy/expensive hotels' breakfast to shame. Having food of such quality, presented with so much care and attention to detail, delivered right to your doorstep for you to enjoy how and when you fancy it's pure 5 star luxury.

Thanks again Jenny and Chris for a lovely weekend. We're hopingto be back in September/October, this time for my birthday treat. You guys have created a great idea and product, and I'm sure you must be very pround of it. Well done!!!
PS: I described the hut style as "granny chic" on the comments we wrote on the guest book. I hope you realise it's a compliment, of course! :-)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoreaTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

The underfloor heating is one of the things we most love telling our guests about, when they arrive on a cold evening. There's nothing quite like climbing out of bed, or out of the shower, and feeling the lovely warm floor underfoot! We're really glad you enjoyed your stay and would love to see you again, for a birthday treat or any other occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowardennan
2.1 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
2.3 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
7.6 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
2.5 mi away
Rowardennan Hotel
Rowardennan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rowardennan
694 reviews
3.0 mi away
Rowardennan Lodge SYHA
Rowardennan Lodge SYHA
#1 of 3 in Rowardennan
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2 Forestry Cottages | Sallochy, Rowardennan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0AW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Rowardennan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rowardennan
Price Range: £45 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Shepherd’s House, our timber cottage at the heart of Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park. We are on the West Highland Way near Rowardennan, a great location, whether you’re on foot or exploring the Highlands by car. Our en-suite double room offers traditional bed and breakfast with exclusive use of your own private dining/sitting room. Our shepherd's hut, situated just outside the main house, offers bed and breakfast with a difference. It is a double room with en suite. A hearty hot and cold breakfast hamper is served in your accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast Rowardennan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing