We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunny Easter at Rowardennan”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rowardennan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ben Lomond Bunkhouse at Ardess Lodge
Reviewed 19 April 2014

One of my friends found this place on a Google search 2 days before our trip. We only needed accommodation for one night at short-notice, because everywhere was booked up for Easter. It is a little gem, and a bargain at £20 per person! Couldn't believe we were the only ones staying on such a busy weekend. Great modern property, 2 rooms, one sleeps 4 and one 6. Shower rooms spacious, bedrooms good-sized and comfortable, linen supplied. Bath towels can be hired for £1. The rangers were very helpful, Alistair welcomed us on our arrival on Good Friday. The other ranger, Fraser was also very friendly, introduced himself and lovely dog Pepe, and gave lots of advice about the area. We were climbing Ben Lomond the next day, and his advice was helpful. Property has a big modern kitchen, with plenty of space to eat and cook, provided you bring your own food. Lounge also very comfortable, and had a cosy wood-burning stove. We had a great night's stay to prepare us for our hill climb the next day. Highly recommend and would come back again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenLomondBunkhouse, Manager at Ben Lomond Bunkhouse at Ardess Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope the climb up Ben Lomond went OK!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

I had a good time here, the house is well maintained and the rangers were very polite bad good to chat to, one thing I would recommend is going a walk up the hills and looking at the trailer,

The rooms were large what is a bonus and the kitchen was well equipped

One tip I would recommend is to sleep with your windows open in the big room

Thanks to alistar and the rangers at lock lomand

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidwX8083TF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

A very comfortable and well equipped lodge, right along the West Highland Way in Rowardennan. They have two bunk rooms (6 and 4 persons) and both are kept very clean. Also, they have two spacious bathrooms which offer a welcome shower after a long day's walk. The staff are very friendly and helpful, offering us tips on getting around to various towns around Loch Lomond.
Bring your own food and you have a fully equipped kitchen for cooking it, but there is no food available at the lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Excellent find. Perfect location. Very comfortable, spacious, well equipped and very clean.
Directly below Ben Lomond, so great place to start second day, after a 2 minute walk to and reasonable cooked breakfast at Rowardennan YH, by walking up Ben Lomond before pushing on to Inversnaid Bunkhouse.

Room Tip: Both rooms equally as good - one with 4 bunkbeds, the other with 3. Two bathroooms on the first floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmcsutube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarounettecoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank eselyn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Claudia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ben Lomond Bunkhouse at Ardess Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Lomond Bunkhouse at Ardess Lodge

Address: Rowardennan, Rowardennan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0AR, Scotland (Formerly Ardess Lodge & Bunkhouse)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Rowardennan
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Rowardennan
Price Range: £19 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ben Lomond Bunkhouse, at Ardess Lodge, Rowardennan, accommodates up to 10 people. The bunkhouse sits at the base of Ben Lomond, only 50m from the West Highland Way, and 10 minutes walk north of the Rowardennan hotel and car park. There is a spacious lounge, large well equipped kitchen, drying facilities, & secure area for bag drop off. Good sized bunkrooms; one sleeping 6, the other 4. Two bathrooms, both with showers, & one with bath. Cost £20pp inc of bed linen and tea and coffee. Ben Lomond Bunkhouse may be guaranteed for group private use for £200 per night. All income from the bunkhouse goes to support the conservation work at Ben Lomond managed by rangers and volunteers of the National Trust for Scotland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ben Lomond Bunkhouse At Ardess Lodge Rowardennan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing