We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding welcome”
Review of Anchorage Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rowardennan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anchorage Cottage
Ranked #1 of 3 Rowardennan B&B and Inns
Dammarie-les-Lys, France
2 reviews
“outstanding welcome”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

after a long and wet day, we were picked up at the Rowardennan hotel by Ivor, direction to the B&B.
we were super warmly welcomed by Izzi waiting for us at the cottage.
Ivor set up the warm room to dry our gear before we had the tour of the outstanding house.
the rooms were perfect, Izzy and Ivor are superb hosts.
the breakfast, prepared by Izzy, was excellent and abundant.
well, it was a perfect stay for us at the middle of our west highland way...

thanks again Izzy and Ivor from Anne-Felicie, Marion, Loic and Vincent

Room Tip: la chambre du rez de chaussée avec l'immense bow-windows donne une vue sur le Loch Lomond
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vince0274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
57
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Berwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed here on our second night while walking the West Highland Way and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The owners, Izzy and Ivor have thought of everything their guests would need to make their stay comfortable. Spacious bedroom with en-suite shower room and our room had wonderful views over Loch Lomond. An excellent choice for breakfast and all in all we would have no hesitation in recommending Anchorage Cottage to friends.

Room Tip: Thoroughly enjoyable stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritascot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My second B&B during the WHW was the most comfortable of all. The Anchorage cottage is situated on a beautiful spot alongside the lake and the WHW between Balmaha and Rowardennan. You will pass it during the WHW. As most walkers end their second day in Rowardennan the owner will pick guests up at the end of the day. This B&B, with traditional interior and friendly owners, was really spotless; no dust and no broken things and all the facilities you need. The owner even offers socks to keep your feet warm and shower gel and deoderant especially for men and women.
Unfortunately the rooms do not have lake view but there is a cosy guests lounge with a fantastic view over Loch Lomond. Breakfast is good and served on the top floor next to the owner's kitchen. There is one room with a private bathroom. The two other rooms share a bathroom.
Be aware that this B&B is not situated near restaurants. You can have dinner in the Rowardennan Hotel before the owner picks you up. However dinner in this hotel is of a very low quality. I strongly advise walkers to have a good lunch in Balmaha.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aquarius74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stayed here for one night whilst walking the West Highland Way.

We walked past the cottage in the morning, just as we saw our luggage arriving (very reassuring)! Ivor came to fetch us from the Rowardennan Hotel after we had completed the day's walking and had a good meal. He and Izzy made us feel very welcome in their gorgeous home.

The rooms are lovely. Mine had a lovely big window seat and a very comfy bed. The en suite was spacious and everything was spotlessly clean.

I was travelling with my dad, whose room was also furnished to a very high standard. We spent the evening in the guest lounge, watching a dvd and enjoying the view.

I'd highly recommend this b&b, it really is something special!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Izzy has really thought of everything you could possibly need in a B&B and one that caters for walkers on the WHW. We walked past Anchorage Cottage on the WHW and continued to the Clansman Bar at the Rowardennan Hotel where we had something to eat. Ivor came and picked us up from there and took us back to the same point the next morning. Anchorage Cottage has a lovely location on the side of the Loch. If you are walking the WHW or just need somewhere to stay in the area then you will not be disappointed.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Coupera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergkamen, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We had the honour to stay at the Anchorage Cottage after our second day of walking the West Highland Way.
We passed by because we had to walk to the Rowardennan Hotel, and allmost couldn't resist to just stay there. After dinner Ivor picked us up from the hotel and brought us to his wunderfull wife Izzy. The suitcases were allready in our room and we were amazed by the beauty of their house.
The Anchorage has a beautifull view over Loch Lomond.
We used the nice Lounge in the evening with the free of charge beer and whine.
This is, without exaggeration, the best B&B you'll find by far.
Izzy and Ivor are the most lovely hosts we have met in Scotland and we felt sad we had to leave them after one night.
Izzy made us a very good Breakfast and even better packed lunch, wich was very much needed on the third day.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank René V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

"Best B&B ever" is no exaggeration. A lovely house, a really warm welcome, great breakfast but really it was the attention to detail which put Izzy and Ivor's B&B just that little cut above the rest. We would certainly recommend staying with them .............. you can't do better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 173RobG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowardennan
3.9 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
3.6 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
9.8 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
5.0 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rowardennan Hotel
Rowardennan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rowardennan
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Cottage

Property: Anchorage Cottage
Address: Rowardennan Road | East Loch Lomondside, Rowardennan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0AW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Rowardennan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rowardennan
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Anchorage Cottage Rowardennan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing