We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - Lodge 20”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rowardennan Lodge SYHA
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

6 of us stayed in lodge 20 which slept 8.
The lodge was meticulously clean, spacious and had all the facilities of a normal house - kitchen, dishwasher, showers, living room, big TV, music system, DVD player etc.. In fact, it was more like a house than a log cabin!
The location is perfect - right on the loch with a perfect, unobstructed view of the water.
There are loads of nice outdoor activities to do nearby and the landscape is stunning. You can also see Ben Lomond from the back of the lodge.
We went to the Oaktree Inn about 15 minutes away (we also got a discount card along with the lodge) and it was perfect for a nice wholesome
Meal after a long day of walking.
We are looking to go back again here at some point in the summer as I just couldn't fault it (especially the lying in front of the fire in the evening!).

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank StuGla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
There are newer reviews for Rowardennan Lodge SYHA
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

Lodge booked to accommodate a herd for a birthday party. The rooms, while basic, were very comfortable, clean and quiet. All in all, a very pleasant weekend in a stunning area. The team managed to provide an excellent meal on the Saturday night for about 60 people and managed to keep everyone happy with the quality and quantity of food presented! Well done all.

Room Tip: Rooms are hostel standard, so although basic, are clean and the beds are comfy ( just remember if yo...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

As far as hostels go, this one is far from the crowds. It seems unlikely that you would ever need to worry about a loud or unruly set of teenage roommates as I suspect the majority of people staying here are hikers and are pretty mellow after their day on the trail.

The twin room was pretty small with just a bunk and sink, but the idea is to be social and meet some of your fellow hikers. The common spaces were very large and clean, with what I'm sure are spectacular lake views when it isn't raining. The dining room was clean, the dinner and breakfast were filling. If you are hiking and don't have food packed to prepare in the kitchen I would def. recommend that you plan on taking your meals here as there is very little else around. Otherwise, beer and snacks were available at reception.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snizort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I stayed here as a lone female traveller making my way around Scotland.

I got there quite late and it was dark and i struggled to find the entrance as there are no lights on the country lane (it cant be called a road!) so this could be improved, maybe adequate lighting?

However, i was impressed by the location on the shores of the Loch and the rooms and facilities were exactly what i would expect for a hostel.

I slept well and the breakfast was very nice. Not sure if i would find it different if i had been there more than one night, but it was fine for a stop-off and i would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emb1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I was lucky enough to get married at this youth hostel on the 14th September. We invited all our friends and family to stay in the hostel for the weekend. Suffice to say we had an incredible weekend. Aaron (manager) and his staff were fantastic. This is a very special place to stay for any occasion.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank kyla84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed here while walking the West Highland Way. It was the perfect location, right on the way and with a nice view over the loch.
All rooms were clean, including the shared shower room/toilet and kitchen.
The drying room was good and also the secure storage of our bags (that were transported for us). We only used the kitchen to make tea but it was nice and clean. Breakfast was busy (because all walkers left at the same time) but good.
We were in a six bedroom dorm which was clean but a bit cramped due to everybody having big bags. It was quiet and we got a goo nights sleep. Would recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea1426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Although it's a youth hostel there was a variety of ages and groups. Everyone was really respectful to each other, the kitchen is fairly big to allow room to cook your meals and plenty of storage space. The location was beautiful and you can do some nice walks from the hostel. The beds were comfortable and there wasn't any noise after 10:30pm.
The only negative thing I can say is that it's location is not very well advertised. It's really out of the way, although it's well worth the drive up to it. Advisable to have a car.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ledarby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowardennan
3.7 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
3.9 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
10.1 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rowardennan Hotel
Rowardennan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rowardennan
694 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Inn on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowardennan Lodge SYHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowardennan Lodge SYHA

Address: On the Banks of Loch Lomond | By Drymen, Rowardennan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0AR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Rowardennan
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Rowardennan
Price Range: £21 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rowardennan Lodge SYHA 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowardennan Lodge is set on the banks of Loch Lomond at the base of Ben Lomond. The West Highland Way passes directly past its front door making it an ideal stop along the way. The youth hostel is accessible by car and on foot as well as via the Loch Lomond Waterbus which operates direct from the hostel. Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Rowardennan Lodge SYHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowardennan Hotel Rowardennan
Rowardennan Lodge SYHA Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing