We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rowardennan Lodge SYHA
Nearby Hotels
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Arrochar Hotel(Arrochar)
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Loch Long Hotel(Arrochar)(Great Value!)
US$111
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel(Luss)(Great Value!)
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ardlui Hotel(Ardlui)
US$955
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Winnock Hotel(Drymen)(Great Value!)
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$120
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rob Roy Hotel(Aberfoyle)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveller rating
67
85
52
20
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
85
52
20
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself catering kitchenyouth hostelthe kitchenstayed herepacked lunchcooked breakfastloch lomondwest highland waycommon roomhuge windowswould stay here againdrying roomamazing locationcheck in was easyshared shower facilitieshuge loungewashing machines and dryers
Filter
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 229 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

6 of us stayed in lodge 20 which slept 8.
The lodge was meticulously clean, spacious and had all the facilities of a normal house - kitchen, dishwasher, showers, living room, big TV, music system, DVD player etc.. In fact, it was more like a house than a log cabin!
The location is perfect - right on the loch with a perfect, unobstructed view of the water.
There are loads of nice outdoor activities to do nearby and the landscape is stunning. You can also see Ben Lomond from the back of the lodge.
We went to the Oaktree Inn about 15 minutes away (we also got a discount card along with the lodge) and it was perfect for a nice wholesome
Meal after a long day of walking.
We are looking to go back again here at some point in the summer as I just couldn't fault it (especially the lying in front of the fire in the evening!).

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank StuGla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Lodge booked to accommodate a herd for a birthday party. The rooms, while basic, were very comfortable, clean and quiet. All in all, a very pleasant weekend in a stunning area. The team managed to provide an excellent meal on the Saturday night for about 60 people and managed to keep everyone happy with the quality and quantity of food presented! Well done all.

Room Tip: Rooms are hostel standard, so although basic, are clean and the beds are comfy ( just remember if you are on a top bunk to use the ladder to get down!)
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

As far as hostels go, this one is far from the crowds. It seems unlikely that you would ever need to worry about a loud or unruly set of teenage roommates as I suspect the majority of people staying here are hikers and are pretty mellow after their day on the trail.

The twin room was pretty small with just a bunk and sink, but the idea is to be social and meet some of your fellow hikers. The common spaces were very large and clean, with what I'm sure are spectacular lake views when it isn't raining. The dining room was clean, the dinner and breakfast were filling. If you are hiking and don't have food packed to prepare in the kitchen I would def. recommend that you plan on taking your meals here as there is very little else around. Otherwise, beer and snacks were available at reception.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snizort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I stayed here as a lone female traveller making my way around Scotland.

I got there quite late and it was dark and i struggled to find the entrance as there are no lights on the country lane (it cant be called a road!) so this could be improved, maybe adequate lighting?

However, i was impressed by the location on the shores of the Loch and the rooms and facilities were exactly what i would expect for a hostel.

I slept well and the breakfast was very nice. Not sure if i would find it different if i had been there more than one night, but it was fine for a stop-off and i would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emb1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I was lucky enough to get married at this youth hostel on the 14th September. We invited all our friends and family to stay in the hostel for the weekend. Suffice to say we had an incredible weekend. Aaron (manager) and his staff were fantastic. This is a very special place to stay for any occasion.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank kyla84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews