We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Rowardennan Hotel(Rowardennan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveller rating
69
92
57
22
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
92
57
22
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself catering kitchenyouth hostelthe kitchenstayed herecooked breakfastloch lomondwest highland waypacked lunchcommon roomhuge windowsshower facilitieswould stay here againdrying roomlarge loungeamazing locationtwin roomevening meal
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 245 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I have stayed in this hostel before, and have always found a warm welcome, when we got in the reception was very busy and Ashley was manning the front desk, She coped very well with all the customers demands, and got every one booked in. the rest of the staff were very helpful, and friendly. It is still one off the best views and well situated hostels I have visited . very good value for money. The only thing I would say is that the building dose need new windows, the old ones are rotting away.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 824StuartM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Rowardennan Lodge Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

824StuartM

Thanks so much for posting your experience at Rowardennan Youth Hostel, we are always happy to get feedback on how we are doing, so we can do better.

Great to hear that you have stayed with us before, and you are right, the location of Rowardennan Youth Hostel is absolutely superb.

We have invested a lot in Rowardennan Youth Hostel over the past few years, new shower rooms, carpets in public areas, new windows in the lounge and we are continually looking at further improvements.

Rowardennan Youth Hostel is a key site for SYHA and we do have future plans for the site. We are aware that some of the windows do need replacing, we are a charity so we need to prioritise each year which projects and Youth Hostels we are investing in, but be assured we know the issues and we will address them when we have the funds.

Thanks again for your review and hopefully we will see you back again soon.

Lorna Padden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

With no choice other than the hotel on this leg of the west highland way was a bit sceptical about what you'd get for your money. But we were pleasantly surprised. Staff were friendly and location was excellent. Food, although not much choice was excellent value. Only thing that let it down was that the room was quite small. No room to swing a cat and the beds weren't that comfortable. But you can't expect the finest 5star luxuries at 1 star prices. Excellent value for money and I'd recommend it to anyone walking the way.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Mojaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Rowardennan Lodge Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Katemorley2000

Thanks so much for your review, we really appreciate you taking the time to do so. We are glad that you found we were "value for money" and hopefully you saw that Youth Hostels are trying to compete and that our services and facilities were just as good as you would find in a hotel.

We are continually looking at ways we can improve the "Guest Experience" and we have at Rowardennan over the last few years taken beds out of rooms to give our guests more comfort, its a thin line as we don't want to not have enough beds for our guests on the WHW, but each season we do review and if we think its something we can do, we will. So we will take your feedback on board in regards to the room being cramped and see what we can do to enhance our guest comfort.

Thanks again for your post, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Lorna Padden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

stayed here for a night whilst walking the west highland way. was good clean helpful staff great facilities. great welcome. has a handy little shop at the reception with bits and bobs. has wifi but have to pay for it and the signal isn't very strong but still works

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Em92travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I stayed here with friends recently whilst doing the West Highland Way. I've not stayed in a youth hostel for a while so was a little apprehensive but I needn't have worried - the beds were comfy, the place was clean, and they even served hot meals and breakfast too. It was basic but that's what you'd expect from a youth hostel. For the evenings there's a hotel / pub about a km down the road, or the hostel even have beer and wine for sale themselves and a large lounge in which to drink it (or if its good weather, picnic tables by the loch). I'd recommend getting up early to view Loch Lomond in the early morning sun!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Compo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at this hostel on the Saturday of Easter weekend. Girl at check in Kelly I think her name was helpful, cheery and well informed. We asked if we could BBQ and were told yes down at the picnic benches. Later we did just that setting up our BBQ on an area of dirt so as not to damage the land. BBQ we did and were almost finished when a female ( I believe the managers partner) flew through a fire exit screaming and rantingin a most deranged manner. Apparently we had broken all the rules and when she drew breath from her aggressive ranting to explain the above she then ranted again and off she went to see ifwe were telling the truth. We are not silly children we are in our 40' s. SYHA she is a disgrace her aggression knows no bounds. Service and value marked as one due to her behaviour.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jool_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Rowardennan Lodge Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Feedback is important to SYHA and we have already corresponded privately via email with this guest about this matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews