We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rowardennan Lodge SYHA
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We spent our second night on the West Highland Way here. The check in process was tedious, especially when you have walked a long way and are desperate to sit down. It was reminiscent of booking a budget airline flight. We paid for,dinner, and it was generally very good, although the soup was a bit too peppery. Our room was very basic, but had a wonderful view over the loch, and the beds were comfortable. A table between the two beds would have been appreciated. The female showers were a long walk, and on a lower floor, and this could be improved on. But the location is phenomenal, and this includes the view from the lounge windows. We ordered the continental breakfast, and it was more than adequate, with a good selection. Overall the hostel is more than adequate for an over night stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nanaadrienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Rowardennan Lodge SYHA, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Hi,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post your feedback on here, we will look at the issues you have raised and see if we can action some of the easy fixes.

Thanks again.

Lorna Padden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

We booked 2 nights here intending to climb Ben Lomond before continuing on the West Highland Way;Our room was 3 bedded and was fairly standard with no view - just a wall! The booking-in process was quite officious and long-winded especially when one has walked all day and is soaked to the skin!Dinner was OK and fairly good value; breakfast was very basic.
I feel that the hostel could be better organised in that the vast lounge with its amazing views could be divided into a quiet area and a TV area - we wanted to watch a programme but the area was taken over by a group chatting.
The weather did not permit our ascent of the Munro but we had to leave our room between 10 and 3 although we could have stayed in the lounge.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank tryfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Rowardennan Lodge SYHA, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Hello,

Thanks for the post, sorry you didn't enjoy your evening meal, we will look into this.

In terms of the lounge and the Youth Hostel itself, we do at some point in the next few years, money dependant, plan a full refurbishment at this Youth Hostel and the views you mention will be key to that.

Thanks

Lorna Padden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed here while doing the west highland way. We had a triple room ensuite for myself hubby and my daughter. By hostel standards this place was brilliant. Very comfy bed, very clean toilet/shower huge almost as big as our room a bit tired but functional.
We had booked breakfast, packed lunches and a 3 course meal.
The food was excellent and as good as any we had during our west highland way adventure. Excellent value and to much we couldn't eat all 3 courses.
Packed lunches were pretty good, again lots of it and good value.
Youth hosteling has improved in the 20 yrs since I last visited. Was great to be able to buy wine to have with dinner. Would recommend a stop here, especially on a sunny day as the Jews are brillant

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Maggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Rowardennan Lodge SYHA, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Maggie C

What a lovely post, thanks so much, we really do appreciate it. We will pass on all your wonderful comments to our team.

Hope we will see you again.

Lorna Padden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed for one night on the West Highland Way. Check in was a relatively smooth process, we had booked a private room and also included all our meals so the arrangements for these were discussed before we were directed to our room. The room itself was fine, enough room for 3 adults, there was only 2 of us so the extra space meant the room was quite spacious for us, we also had the bonus of a loch view that was simply stunning. The food was ok, no better, dinner was a greasy sausage, some very dry mashed potato and a salad, we were so hungry we would have eaten anything, but even then we did leave some on our plate. Breakfast was fine, standard cooked Scottish breakfast, the packed lunch was actually quite good and very welcome during the next days walk. A small gripe I would have is the wifi appeared to be chargeable but also seemed to have a very weak signal, fortunately the local hotel is a short distance away and offers free wifi in the bar.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank alasdairk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Rowardennan Lodge SYHA, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Hello,

Thanks for your post, and yes the views are great. Glad you enjoyed your breakfast, only sorry that dinner was not so successful. We will follow up this with our Chef and be sure to make sure we improve ASAP.

Thanks

Lorna Padden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Arrived and checked in easy. Ordered 3 course meal for roughly £13, the price of a main course at the Rowardennan Hotel. Ordered cooked breakfast too.

Dorms room fine. 4 bunks with wash hand basin. Got a shower, there are 4 and all work great. Very clean. Dinner was fantastic! Soup, lasagne and salad and cheesecake. Soup was lovely. Lasagne was huge and even salad was nice. Cheesecake was homemade and sublime. Restaurant quality.

Good chillout area where a bunch of us watched the footy. Breakfast was great. Slice, sausage, toast, beans, black pudding, haggis, bacon and fried egg! Lovely.

Would highly recommend for service, food and stunning setting

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank steevo123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Rowardennan Lodge SYHA, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Steevo 123456

Thanks so much for a great review, we really appreciate you taking the time to post on your experience at Rowardennan Youth Hostel.

The team are really happy that you have given us 5 stars, that great, really and we will keep on improving, hopefully we will see you again soon.

Lorna Padden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

This place is Ok by hostel standards but nothing special.

Pros:
Great location
Attractive building
A lot cheaper than the hotel
Midge-proof
Good sized and well-equiped self-catering kitchen

Cons:
Poor shower facilities
Primary school children playing a game that involved running up and down corridors screaming whilst trying to get to sleep
Cramped rooms
Overheating in rooms and showers

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Rowardennan Lodge SYHA, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

John B

Thanks for your review, we really do appreciate you taking the time to post it as it allows us to continue to improve.

I am sorry to read that a school group kept you awake, group leaders from the school are allocated to groups to ensure that we don't have this kind of behaviour so our apologies that on this occasion this wasn't so.

Showers are disappointing to read as we refurbished both male and female showers in the last few years so we will look into this. Beds in rooms we are continually reducing each year and we always review at the end of the season, but it is a hard line to ensure we still have sufficient for our guests on the WHW, but we will review again at the end of this season.

Thanks again for the review and be assured that we will look into all the issues you have raised and we will make changes where possible.

Thank You

Lorna Padden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is in a lovely setting, and the beds etc are about what you'd expect from a youth hostel, but it was really let down by its staff. When we arrived - ready to get changed and cleaned up after a day of walking! - we were instead left standing for over half an hour in a steadily growing queue of other walkers and guests. Some gave up and went looking for help elsewhere, we had no choice but to wait to check in. The reason was that the girl at the desk was chewing the ear of a visitor by telling her all about what she should do after heading south. Unfortunately, I used to work in the area she was talking about and therefore knew a good deal of the information was wrong.

I did approach the other guest later to let her know. She apologised for our wait - said she didn't know how to get away from this member of staff without being rude!

The male member of staff on duty later was more helpful, but the first impression we got was just terrible.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moragb908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Rowardennan Lodge SYHA, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Morag B

Thanks for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your stay with us.

To allow us to address your concerns could you please email rowardennanmanager@syha.org.uk

We would like to get further information from you in respect of the comments you have posted that we can use for staff training purposes.

We appreciate all feedback as it helps us to continually improve our guest experience. We would be very grateful if you could email Aaron, the Youth Hostel Manager on the email address above to help us address these issues.

Thank You

Lorna Padden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowardennan
3.7 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
4.9 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,212 reviews
10.1 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
6.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Rowardennan Hotel
Rowardennan Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rowardennan
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowardennan Lodge SYHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowardennan Lodge SYHA

Address: On the Banks of Loch Lomond | By Drymen, Rowardennan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0AR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Rowardennan
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Rowardennan
Price Range: £17 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rowardennan Lodge SYHA 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowardennan Lodge is set on the banks of Loch Lomond at the base of Ben Lomond. The West Highland Way passes directly past its front door making it an ideal stop along the way. The youth hostel is accessible by car and on foot as well as via the Loch Lomond Waterbus which operates direct from the hostel. Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Rowardennan Lodge SYHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowardennan Hotel Rowardennan
Rowardennan Lodge SYHA Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing