We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Show Guys”
Review of Rowardennan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rowardennan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Rowardennan B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor Show Guys”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We left Balmaha early in the morning so we could have some breakfast at the hotel before finishing our west highland way walk....................arrived at 9.15am to be told we are closed for breakfast........asked if we could order a few bacon rolls................answer.........sorry we have nothing left we only order enough for the guests staying at the hotel............why not just tell us the truth.............we don`t want to serve you..............a hotel kitchen with no eggs,bacon,sausage your having a laugh............if it was down to the girl who we asked I think we would have got something...looks like the staff in the kitchen can`t be bothered.................waitress did offer us a coffee and then told us we could get breakfast 10mins away ..........must be great to refuse business when the economy is flying........thanks to the waitress for having to deliver a poor excuse from the kitchen staff..........

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    222
    133
    58
    62
See reviews for
91
277
47
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

like so many others staying here, we were walking the west highland way. The welcome from the staff was good, and the room comfortable. We slept very well and enjoyed an excellent breakfast before setting off again on the Way. The only reason we didn't give 5 stars, was the evening bar service which seemed strangely at odds with the high standards otherwise in the hotel. However we did get food and drink which were adequate. The hotel setting was beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemaryu_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

There did not appear to be any hotel staff. We had to find our way to the bar to check in and the bartender was initially quite rude (one of our group was hurt a mile up the trail and I wanted to just leave my bag and run back up the trail to assist--the waitress said OK, but he said no). The room was at the end of an endless hall with little or no signage that rooms even existed. Another guest had to help me find the room. Once there, the room was reasonably nice and the bartender was much nicer when we were ordering food and drinks. The food was quite good pub food. Breakfast in the morning was chaos. In fairness, most WHW hikers aim to leave around the same time so everyone arrives around the same time. However, the poor guy taking orders looked flummoxed by the request for tea. We eventually got our breakfast, but it was an effort. Get down early for better results!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDXtravelers16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs, UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed here as part of West Highland Way walk and were very lucky to be staying in the lodge rather than the main hotel. The lodge was spacious and very comfortable and it was great to be able to spread out and relax. Having had a glimpse of the rooms in the hotel, I think we definitely had the best deal. We took a bottle of wine from the bar and sat on the decking where it was peaceful and away from it all. We ate in the bar and the food was fine, as was breakfast the next morning. As with many of these isolated hotels, we felt that the owners maybe didn't feel the need to make a big effort and the place needed some refurbishment.

Room Tip: Ask if you can stay in the lodge. Maybe more feasible if you are a group or family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RubyStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The rooms are great, good size, clean, well kitted out and fantastic views of Loch Lomond. The evening meals in the bar was very average, with little thought put into the preparation or presentation. The burgers are good enough quality but is just thrown onto a role with some melted cheese and relish, the macaroni cheese was the worst we have ever had. The bar is also very uncomfortable, a couple of comfy seats couches would be good after a heavy walk through the day. The breakfasts where good enough though.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parsonjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Our second night on the WHW having walked the 14 miles from Drymen. Having paid £96 for a double room we expected a high standard – but we didn’t get it. Our room was tired, torn plastic on the shower screen, bath plug not attached and the toilet leaked when flushed. The food was acceptable but no more, we also did not appreciate the order at bar system. Staff were very friendly but also very busy. It was just a bed for the night and we were pleased to move on the next day.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veryoldcamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

The view was lovely, the food was just okay (and very slow to arrive). When we arrived after walking 14 miles reception was closed so we had to go to the bar to check in, which was okay, but after that we couldn't find our room...I know room 2 should have been easy. When we asked someone for help, they didn't know where it was either, and they worked at the hotel.

Next morning breakfast service was not much better. It is as someone else said relying on location, it could be so much more.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHobkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowardennan
3.1 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
5.5 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
9.3 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
11.1 mi away
Ardlui Hotel
Ardlui Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardlui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rowardennan Lodge SYHA
Rowardennan Lodge SYHA
#1 of 2 in Rowardennan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowardennan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowardennan Hotel

Property: Rowardennan Hotel
Address: West Highland Way, Rowardennan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0AR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Rowardennan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rowardennan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rowardennan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rowardennan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowardennan Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing