We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Early evening drink”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rowardennan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rowardennan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Rowardennan B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
308 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Early evening drink”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This bar is in a lovely location right on the banks of Loch Lomond at the end of a dead end road. We only had a drink here, the bar man was very friendly and there is a lovely loch view garden. It would be good to come back and have some food here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beeza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    208
    130
    57
    62
See reviews for
87
268
46
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Rowardennan Hotel for 1 night last year whilst walking the West Highland Way. The hotel is in a fantastic location right on the quiet eastern shore of Loch Lomond and immediately at the starting point of the path up Ben Lomond. We decided to return for a 2 night short break and arrived by car last Saturday morning. There is ample free parking in the hotel car park. Checking in was quick by very friendly Ben at reception, and we were given the key to Room No 1 on the first floor. The room was large, clean, and very comfortable with a shower room. One window had a stunning view to Loch Lomond and surrounding mountains including nearby Ben Lomond. There was a large flat screen tv with all Freeview channels, and tea and coffee making facilities. The full Scottish breakfast was served by pleasant staff and was perfectly acceptable. There was a separate Bar area which served food which was of good quality but was a bit expensive. There is a large beer garden going right down to the shore of Loch Lomond. The bar staff worked non-stop and were friendly especially the older bar-man from Glasgow (Celtic supporter) who was particularly entertaining with all customers. Over the 2 nights we slept totally undisturbed with no noises from other guests, although there was noise from the hotel kitchen extractor fan, but it did not cause us a problem and was switched off overnight. Many hotel guests were staying for one night walking the West Highland Way and came from many parts of the world. The weather during our stay was brilliant and we enjoyed a boat trip on Loch Lomond and a walk up the very popular Ben Lomond. Overall a very nice break in a very scenic location in a nice hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a Loch view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobWil62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This hotel is the perfect illustration of the idea that monopolies seldom result in a good outcome. There are no other hotels for several miles and, given that a lot of the clientele are walkers (it lies on the West Highland Way) there is no choice, unless you want to sleep in a bunkhouse.

The decor is tired, the service pretty rubbish (50 minute wait for a bar meal), and the food is decidedly average and certainly overpriced.

It can only be the hotel's location and its monopoly that is keeping it in business.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Random_Person
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rowardennan hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I visited this hotel twice this summer. First experience was OK, a hot day so it was busy. Food wait was long with no apologies. Staff were abrupt. Murray was on the telly, it was the final and the manager guy was reluctant to turn up the tv! Even although most people were there for the match. They ran out of ice cream and had a poor choice for kids. The second time and last was similar but worse, when asking about the childrens menu, the impoliteness received was verging on anger. Children not welcome apparently! Staff outside smoking and felt place was pretty poor all round. Much nicer food found in Balmaha etc.Not a nice place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alison p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed in the Rowardennan Hotel for two nights, thoroughly enjoyed it: lovely room with great view of the Loch that you could never tire of. The menu was a bit restricted but we ate well. The breakfast deserves a special mention as does the Rolled belly pork with celeriac mash. The Staff were all really lovely and couldn't be faulted. We'd definitely stay there again. What really made this holiday was the location it just takes your breath away.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We have just returned from a week's holiday in a lodge next to the hotel, and visited the pub every evening.

We were always greeted by friendly staff and made to feel very welcome. Steve and Tash deserve a special mention for keeping us entertained (Steve with his wit, and Tash with her Beatles playlists).

I would strongly recommend this place to anyone wishing to have a relaxing holiday on the loch, with a great place to spend each evening with a few drinks.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ggjyates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Walking the West Highland Way and decided to stop here in the bunk rooms which I found to be comfortable and good value for money. Check in staff were adequate but we were put off by the sheer ignorance of the bar staff who ignored myself and partner at the bar for about 15 minutes so decided to take our business elsewhere. The following morning we were thrilled by the friendliness of a younger member of staff who went above and beyond to make us feel welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowardennan
3.1 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
9.3 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
1,012 reviews
5.5 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
11.1 mi away
Ardlui Hotel
Ardlui Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardlui
365 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rowardennan Lodge SYHA
Rowardennan Lodge SYHA
#1 of 2 in Rowardennan
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowardennan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowardennan Hotel

Property: Rowardennan Hotel
Address: West Highland Way, Rowardennan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0AR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Rowardennan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rowardennan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rowardennan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rowardennan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowardennan Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing