We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rowardennan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rowardennan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Rowardennan B&B and Inns
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

spent a great 2 days at the Rowardennan, the room was excellent and the service was great, the staff all left you with a feeling that they gave that little bit extra, yet not to attentive to be invasive. food great and scenery breath taking.

Room Tip: room 16 has windows on 3 sides and great veiws.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikefraserboris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    205
    129
    57
    62
See reviews for
83
265
46
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

Having spent a great day climbing Ben Lomond (even the thick cloud at the top couldn't spoil it) we decided to eat in the bar at the Rowardenan Hotel. Big mistake! Food was at best OK and at worst raw in the middle (baked fish, only half of it was edible). The service was shockingly slow at the bar (which had an uninspiring range of drinks, this is a bar at the foot of one of the most-climbed Munros, on the banks of the legendary loch and on the West Highland Way - the lack of delicious Scottish beer is astonishing!!) The empty (or half empty) plates sat in front of us for so long that we gave up all thoughts of pudding. Walkers love pudding so that was a first : ( Every table was piled with dirty glasses adding to the general couldn't care less atmosphere. What a shame, great location, surely not that difficult to do it properly?

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Takoronga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rowardennan hotels

Bourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

I stayed here for two nights last week.And had a very nice stay here.the scenery is fantastic..I will be returning here in the summer..rooms are very nice and clean and warm..staff where lovely..and the scottish breakfast was omg massive..I walked ben lomand. and mountain bike 10 miles...fab place

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed here whilst walking the West Highland Way. Room good. Food in Restaurant good. Hotel staff good. Packed lunch rubbish. Almost £7 for two slices of bread with miserable portion of roast beef and no sign of the horse radish that should have accompanied it. Pack of crisps, orange, carton of juice and a pack with 3 digestive biscuits. Wait until you reach Inversnaid Hotel for hot meal is my advice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

This was easily the worst hotel we stayed at while walking the West Highland Way. Room was pretty basic and the service was pretty poor. Food was unimpressive. Nothing to recommend it other than its location.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank scottross10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

After a hard day,s walk with friend met our wives for overnight stay . Beer garden great for some drinks . Our room no. 5 was excellent . Large room , well furnished with large flat screen TV . Bathroom great also and looks recently refurbished . No view from room 5 but not a problem as the view from terrace beer garden makes up for it . Had a meal in bar and my only complaint is the portion I received was very poor though rest of our party had enough . Some entertainment in the bar at night /- singer, so good end to the day . Breakfast was usual fare cereal / juice / fruit / fry up and perfectly good . All in all an enjoyable stay and will return .
£96 per room for my wife and I thru booking.com . Good experience .

Room Tip: Room 5 good size and nicely finished , large TV , nice bathroom . However no view of loch if this i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian55_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed here for one night in September whilst walking the West Highland Room. The room was superb, clean, very spacious with powerful shower and lovely view. The chap on reception was very friendly. Only downside was the bar/restaurant where the staff were polite but not over friendly. The food was good but after a long day's walking there was just not enough of it and compared to other places stayed at on the Way it was overpriced. Breakfast though was very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 259JohnF259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowardennan
3.1 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
9.3 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
11.1 mi away
Ardlui Hotel
Ardlui Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardlui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
0.7 mi away
Rowardennan Lodge SYHA
Rowardennan Lodge SYHA
#1 of 2 in Rowardennan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
6.0 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#1 of 3 in Balmaha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowardennan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowardennan Hotel

Property: Rowardennan Hotel
Address: West Highland Way, Rowardennan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0AR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Rowardennan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rowardennan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rowardennan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Rowardennan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowardennan Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing