We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”
Review of Rowardennan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rowardennan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Rowardennan B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Me and my family are just back from a fireworks display at rowardennan hotel in aid of macmillan cancer and it was just amazing. When we got there we were greeted by friendly staff in the bar and had a cold beverage. Service was quick and staff were lovely. We then made our way to a magnificent chalet which was just so luxurious and blissful. The views were spectacular. We later went out for dinner which was brilliant and atmosphere was fantastic for the fireworks. Would definitely recommend as I was gutted to leave. It was a weekend I'll always remember.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glasgowburd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    227
    138
    61
    65
See reviews for
96
285
49
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
grangemouth
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Have just returned from a fantastic relaxing weekend. The hotel is set right on the loch side. Beautiful surroundings perfect for walking as very remote unless wanting to drive to other areas. Rooms large and have all needed with en-suite and kettle etc. rooms maintained daily. Food excellent and plentiful from bar menu. Staff very welcoming and friendly

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traceyGrangemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Hotel is OK, not bad at all but nothing special. Our room was well equipped, but the bed was too short for a normal sized man. The Clansman Bar is very cosy, food is OK. WiFi would be great for doing some research on hiking routes.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparco_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, England
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed for one night whilst walking West Highland Way. Had twin L-shaped room (14) with single bed and large TV in each part of room. Very good bathroom. Had noisy neighbours and Kenny moved me to superb large double for the night. Evening meal very good and impressed by the chef's presentational skills. Very satisfied with our short visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T0urDirect0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the end of quite a tough stage of the West Highland Way and were given newly refurbished rooms on the ground floor. These were very good, but I've no idea what the rest of the rooms are like. We talked to other guests who were staying in a log cabin on the site and thought it was great.

The restaurant was pretty basic but the food was OK. Breakfast was plentiful and good.

I'd stay here again, but probably only if walking the WHW, as it fits in well on the route.

I would stay again

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

spent a great 2 days at the Rowardennan, the room was excellent and the service was great, the staff all left you with a feeling that they gave that little bit extra, yet not to attentive to be invasive. food great and scenery breath taking.

Room Tip: room 16 has windows on 3 sides and great veiws.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikefraserboris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

Having spent a great day climbing Ben Lomond (even the thick cloud at the top couldn't spoil it) we decided to eat in the bar at the Rowardenan Hotel. Big mistake! Food was at best OK and at worst raw in the middle (baked fish, only half of it was edible). The service was shockingly slow at the bar (which had an uninspiring range of drinks, this is a bar at the foot of one of the most-climbed Munros, on the banks of the legendary loch and on the West Highland Way - the lack of delicious Scottish beer is astonishing!!) The empty (or half empty) plates sat in front of us for so long that we gave up all thoughts of pudding. Walkers love pudding so that was a first : ( Every table was piled with dirty glasses adding to the general couldn't care less atmosphere. What a shame, great location, surely not that difficult to do it properly?

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Takoronga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rowardennan hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowardennan
3.1 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
5.5 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
455 reviews
3.4 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
1,053 reviews
6.8 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
5.3 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowardennan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowardennan Hotel

Property: Rowardennan Hotel
Address: West Highland Way, Rowardennan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0AR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Rowardennan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rowardennan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rowardennan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rowardennan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowardennan Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing