We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food only”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rowardennan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rowardennan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Rowardennan B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Food only”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Didn't stay at hotel in log cabin, only ate there. Staff were really nice and friendly considering bar was really busy, staff went looking for menu, waited over an hour for the food which was not very good I left most of mine. Lunch menu looked more appetising.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    208
    130
    57
    62
See reviews for
87
268
46
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Fantastic views of Loch Lomand and the mountains from our large and spotlessly clean room. The breakfast was very nice, served in pleasant surroundings. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Whilst there we enjoyed the evening entertainment ( 2 nights ) and were made to feel very welcome.

Room Tip: We had room 1 the view of the loch and hills was stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauline m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Beautiful location. The room was gorgeous and spotlessly clean. Warm and cosy with all that you need. The bathroom was fab. Ate on the first night, food mediocre. Shame that the bar was empty but the bar man was chatty and very welcoming.
Breakfast was fine although small selection on the menu and the waitress was clearing up around us as we ate on our first morning which made us feel as though we should chow down and get out!
This did improve the next day.
The hotel is geared towards walkers and just what you need after a long day yomping in the wind and rain.
Thanks for the stay

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a loch side view, it's lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cariad_bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

For a hotel at the end of a dead end road, over 10 miles from it's closest competitor, you could expect the standards to be low. Not the case at the Rowardennan hotel. The rooms have been made over and are a nice balance between modern decoration and functionality for the hill walkers that make use of this hotel. My wife liked the deep bath with the soft lighting under the glass tiles. The food in the bar area was to putit bluntly....fantastic. Again, you would expect normal pub food, not the case here. Well presented, modern and tasty food was what we received. Also, we where on a groupon style deal with dinner, bed and breakfast for 2 nights. Other deals at other hotels provide limited menus when you use a deal like this, not so the Rowardennan. The only restriction we had was the price included a two course meal, so if you wanted a starter main and pudding you had to pay for the pudding. There was no surcharge for any option on the menu and we could mix the normal and valentines menu at no additional charge as well. The entertainment in the bar was a bit cheesy, but more the fun for it. Well done Rowardennan, we will be back.

Room Tip: We had room 17, which is on the ground floor and has a view of Loch Lomond. It is near the reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian_Roper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dumbarton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Once again had a fab weekend at the hotel.ben.stephen.frazer the big yin kenny.danny .alex and avie all made this possible.rooms to high standard.food was good.kenny your smoked haddock with cheese sauce and mustard mash was to die for exellento big chap . entertainment was fab to .keep up the excellent job you do will see you soon karen & warren xx

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank karendumbarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Stayed for 2 nights over the weekend on the Ben Lomond Deal - this deal is normally only available during the week, but as it was their down season they allowed us to have it over the weekend - which was really good of them. The room was obviously recently refurbished (past year or so) and it was very nice, everything was spotlessly clean, rooms were warm and comfortable. The staff were really friendly and helpful, this gave the place a really nice, welcoming, and relaxed atmosphere. They also allow dogs into the hotel, which was great as it gave us lots of dogs to talk to. There are also ducks who live outside at the hotel. The location is perfect for going on walks around the loch or for climbing Ben Loomed itself. Would definitely come again if in that part of the world, and would certainly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a loch view - the views are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samf6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heywood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Just back from a two night weekend break at the Rowardennan hotel and had a really nice time.
The room was lovely with a large comfy bed and good ensuite. The staff where very friendly and the entertainment on Saturday night was very enjoyable. We had a meal in the bar on Saturday which was very nice, Its in a great spot for a relaxing break or for walking (just a pity the weather was'nt great). Would go back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowardennan
3.1 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
9.3 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
1,012 reviews
5.5 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
11.1 mi away
Ardlui Hotel
Ardlui Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardlui
365 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rowardennan Lodge SYHA
Rowardennan Lodge SYHA
#1 of 2 in Rowardennan
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowardennan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowardennan Hotel

Property: Rowardennan Hotel
Address: West Highland Way, Rowardennan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0AR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Rowardennan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rowardennan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rowardennan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Rowardennan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowardennan Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing